We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable stay at this hotel.”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable stay at this hotel.”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Found this hotel excellent value, Food plentiful and varied.One of the key points was the options we had to either dine in the Italian or chinese restaurants, as a change from the main restaurant.Which in itself was more than adequate for our needs. Food freshly prepared, restaurant nicely designed, chairs covered in white linen. Quite spacious and atmospheric.Only sore point was that couples had to share a table with 2 others.ok at breakfast, but it would have been nice to have a table to ourselves at dinner. It was good to be able to secure sun beds so easily each morning. main lounge and bar area very comfortable.Rooms cleaned evry day. Night safe at 25 euros per week bt pricey, but so are most hotels. Lovely views overlooking the beach and beautiful sunsets.
Hotel well located for cafes and bars, for either snacks in the day or bars at night,just around the corner. Weather was perfect.All in all a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawntheprawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    632
    251
    123
    64
See reviews for
657
1,041
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We have just come back from The Grand, Rhodes Town and can honestly say we had a superb holiday all round. Fantastic location, very clean hotel (sheets changed every day). Very varied food with plenty to eat Our only criticism would be the way they seat you in the dining room - far too formal with the covers on the chairs. People go on holiday to relax and therefore the men should be allowed to wear smart walking shorts. Let people choose where they want to sit.

As regards the rooms they were huge and very clean. The staff were very friendly apart from just one or two at breakfast mainly.

It was a fabulous walk into the new and old town. The harbour just blew us away. All within walking distance and boy did you need to walk after their meals.

The entertainment in the hotel was very relaxing with a pianist playing/signing in the evenings apart from one - when they had a Greek evening with dancers and musicians - very good.

The beach opposite the hotel is nothing to rave about - too pebbly. We had to take a bus ride from the centre of town no. 31 or 32 to Faleraki beach which was just perfect for swimming in.

Our weather was perfect and very hot. Beautiful blue skies from sunrise to sunset.

So much to see and do. The walled city of Old Rhodes Town is just perfect. Also you must go to Lindos where the oldest accropolis in the whole of Greece stands high on a hill. Beautiful!!

The Johnsons - Ashby de la Zouch

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johno57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastmidlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

restaurant very good ,.liked the option of dining in the italian or chinese restaurant it made a pleasant change and the service was first class .Service at breakfast very slow on the drinks we had to approach them rather than the other way round .drinks around .the pool and in the bar very expensive they lost a lot of customers through this and also loungers very uncomfortable no cushions and towels cost 15 euros to hire .this was a lovely hotel just a few silly niggles that could easily be rectified.would certainly return

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastmidlandsHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

after reading the mostly condemming reviews befors travelling we can only say how much we enjoyed our stay at the grand,the reasteraunt was good-try the italian and chinese to break up the monotany-the pools were spotless with plenty of sunbedsavailable, the rooms were more than adequate and cleaned every day.
don't forget we are talking about greece and we would rate this as a good european 4 star so maybe 5 by greek standards.
couldn't fault the staff, certainly more freindly than most british hotel staff we have encountered.
only downside was the lack of entertainment in the hotel but this didn't detract from the overall level of satisfaction

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovers95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We found the hotel far better than some of the previous reviews stated, obviously star ratings for Greek Hotels are not the same as the UK. Safe charge of 25 Euros, non refundable deposit, for 1 week, absolute rip off, although unlimited hot water & electricity available. Our room was fine, could nitpick faults but not worth it, cleaned every day, clean towels every day. Good variety of food on offer, plenty of fruit & vegetables, several choices of meat dishes. Pool areas thoroughly cleaned every day, on the whole, not a bad hotel. Downside for us was Rhodes its self - not enough to do - Old town great although too commercialised.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

just got back from staying at the grand and we will certainly be going back, we have been to rhodes four times before and this hotel is the best so far. reception was very clean and all staff very happy and helpful, our room was one of the best we have had, clean sheets and towels every day . food always hot and plenty of it, you must try the chinese and italian restaurants both are very good . pool very clean and we never had to fight for a sunbed. the only downside was drinks expensive in the hotel but plenty of bars just round the corner so we always went out after dinner. location is very good, old town quite close also the new town. make sure you take a trip on the little train that goes round the town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Hotel, Staff, Food all excellent. Hotel restaurant was spotless with food beautifully prepared and presented. Pool kept scrupulously clean. A wonderful hotel in a really good position. Can't recommend it high enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,724 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing