We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dryanovo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We have just returned from an 11 night stay and despite all the negative reviews we read beforehand, these proved totally unfounded. Certainly, the hotel is not 5 star but we would rate it 4 stars. The staff were helpful, friendly and always had a smile on their face.Having paid less than £300 for our half-board stay we were more than happy with our deal and have no hesitation in recomending the Grand to other holidaymakers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    618
    248
    121
    61
See reviews for
627
1,026
54
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2010

ok, the food is good and you have many choices, and also the location is very good...but the rest..the staff is bad, very arogance, many troubles with the room, with our bags, with the key cards

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

If you wish to relax in a nice 5* hotel, have decent food, be treated with courtesy, and be generally comfortable - this is NOT the place for you! This is a poorly managed hotel, with unfriendly staff (tending sometimes to bark, rather than speak); terrible beds (blue spots literally appeared on my back each morning); every little thing is charged extra (internet access, use of safe in the room, even a glass of water at dinner); swimming pools - including the one indoors - were so cold, literally no one used them; in short - do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in september 2008 and the hotel is very nice. The food was good and had alot of choice, there was plenty to choose from at breakfast , the chef cooks fresh pancakes while you wait. And at dnner there was a carvery with a different meat each night. lots of very nice desserts also, but there was no childrens section.The hotel also had a chinease and itailian to visit while there, we went to the chinease and it was very nice, apart from the fried ice cream which was strange.There wasnt nuch in the way of entertainment at thois hotel but its close enough to rhodes town to walk along and have a wander around.The only fault was the pools, they were freezing, even the indoor one was freezing, other than that, the rooms are nice spacious and the food very good, you wont go hungry, also just at the side of the hotel there is a road that leads you down to a maze of shops, all very handy.Go along to rhodes down its lovely , take a look at the cruise ships in the harbour and take a wander round the shops, and dont forget the temple of nights of st john very nice to see.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

The reception area to this hotel is very grand, but the rooms could do with being updated and modernised - especially the beds!

I found the staff to be very professional. However, don't expect them to remember you or even acknowledge you as a guest when you return from a day out etc. This excludes our maid who always had a smile and said hello and goodbye.

The rooms could do with being updated. The beds are hard and the rest of the furnishings are looking very tired. One bonus was free air con when we stayed there (1st week of Sept). I would ask to be high up to make sure you get a better view.

The restaurant was ok. I agree with the other comments about being seated etc. However, I think this is done to make sure that a member of staff is aware you are there to serve you with drinks. The food was always varied, but nothing special. The hotel was full when we went so we had to queue for some of the popular dishes and on more than once occasion had to wait for clean plates to be brought out.The Chinese and Italian restaurants were 1st class, make sure you book to eat in them, you will not be disappointed.

The pools were lovely and were cleaned every day. You will always see towels reserving the sunbeds from early in the morning and nothing is done to stop this. There were ample sunbeds.

There is usally 3 people on reception and only one serving behind the small hotel bar. If you say you are going to sit outside you are told your drink will be brought out to you. However, everyone else that goes to the bar after you gets served first so you could be waiting a while! It is very expensive for drinks in the hotel!

The location of this hotel is ideal. There are numerous shops are bars close by and all offer a happy hour on the drinks. Be careful of bars that do not have prices displayed! The Cocktail 2004 ar behind the hotel was a favourite of ours and was always busy in the evening - a good sign.

If you get the chance have a ride on the land train. We went in the evening when it was cooler and the driver of the train was great, he stops to let you take pictures and knows the area very well.

It's about a 20 min walk to Rhodes old town (watch out for scratchard sellers!). Wear flat shoes as some of the roads are steep. Lots of shops, bars, restaurants etc You will find traditional greek restaurants here hidden amongst the fake gucci shops etc The old town really is beautiful at night so try and visit in the evening as well as during the day.

Because of the euro being so bad when we went we did notice how everything had crept up in price. For beer lovers it usually works out cheaper to get a big bottle! Cigarettes are the same price everywhere so if you are a smoker you don't need to shop around.

A trip to Lindos is a great day out, you can walk up to the town from the harbour or take a donkey, it's very hot and although the owners are constantly cleaning it up you have to side step a lot of donkey poo on the way up!

Overall I thought this hotel was ok. It definitely isn't a 4*. Rhodes was lively if you wanted it to be and had a lot to offer. I wouldn't go back to this hotel unless they refurbished the rooms. We paid quite a bit to stay here and I don't think we got value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Just got back from there(3nights-4days). Big disappointment with the hotel. It was advertised as having an inside pool-which it does-more like a large puddle which is NOT HEATED so you can’t use it through out the year-only maybe in the summer. It was also advertized as having a sauna and Jacuzzi--it has neither!
The first room we got(238)-AC didn’t work. The second room we got(239) was right across the chimney(had to keep the window closed)so we moved to a third room(240). Got back at the end of the day-the whole floor was flooded-including the bag with clothing. It was promptly dried by the hotel and we were moved to OUR 4TH ROOM(241)! On the last night we took a shower and went to sleep-the shower wasn’t working too well but since it was our last night and 4th room we decided to ignore it. Next day-in the afternoon-right before the flight we decided to take a shower and…yes, you guessed it: shower didn’t work!
The food is ok-we are Israeli so we are used to much bigger variety but it was tasty and fresh so no complaints there.
The ppl on the island all speak English, very very friendly and more then happy to help and explain. The hotel is located very close to old and new town and overlooks the sea so the location is very good. We do not suggest you rent a car-waste of money since there is nothing to see(not in the villages and not as far as nature goes). I m sure in season the island is packed and everything is open and it is much more fun-as a getaway during winter there is nothing to do(unless you r into gambling-there is 1casino there)and shops r more expensive then in Isr-so not much fun as far as shopping goes. The prices are very high and honestly, no point in ever going back to this island, and if we will go back-only during tourist season and NOT to this hotel.
When hotel claims to be 5*-i expect a pool and jackuzi-i can skip the sauna:)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

This was our second visit to Rhodes and the Grand Hotel and we were dissapointed as the hotel was not as good as our last visit in 2007. However, the island makes up for it as it is a special place to visit.
On arrival (early morning) our sea view room was not available so we were put in a sub standard room and were told our sea view room would be ready after breakfast so we decided not to unpack and missed breakfast for a welcoming nap. We returned at 11(after breakfast) and after handing the room key over were told the sea view room would not be available until 1pm. We went for a stroll (still in our travel clothes) and returned at lunch time to discover 3 or 4 other parties with the Thomas Cook rep having the same issues. The rep was very helpful and got our room sorted immediately with freebies including, free safe box, free drink with 2 evening meals and bowl of fruit. We are not ones to complain and had the rep not been available we probably would have just got on with it.
We then booked a hire car with the rep and discovered the next morning, when the car did not arrive, that it had not been booked. Thomas Cook could only promised a car the next day and we cancelled when we found the car hire at the hotel was cheaper and had one immediately.
The hotel in general was in good condition, however the rooms were in need of refurbishment.
We were HB and the breakfast and evening meals were decent with a good selection, with the option of booking the Italian or Chinese restaurants, which were also nice.
Rhodes is a beautiful place to visit and the problems we had on our first day were quickly forgotten. We would recommend getting a hire car and seeing the sights on the island.
We will 100% visit the island again, however are split on returning to the Grand again, unless it is refurbished.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,662 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,061 reviews
2.9 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing