We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time going back again”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“great time going back again”
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Got back from Rhodes on Wednesday we had a brilliant time.The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Very impressed by the cleaniness especially round the pool areas . Will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    585
    237
    118
    61
See reviews for
559
952
43
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

The Grand hotel Mitisis was thoroughly enjoyable. Despite reading reviews that staff were unfriendly, I found this to be untrue - they were in fact pleasant, warm, welcoming, enthusiastic and entertaining!

The hotel reception is very grand and impressive and there are lots of facilities and restaurants. I stayed half-board which was very convenient but as always, you need to wake up in time for breakfast (or dinner)! My only complaint was the salt content of the food. Even the vegetables were salty and oily which was disappointing. However, there is a lot of variety at the buffet, so don't let this put you off too much. Plus, you might like salt.

It is set on the beach front which is great for sunbathers, however the beach is not sandy and the water is clean but rough at times. There are two outdoor swimming pools (these are not fresh water) and an indoor pool.

The hotel is well situated. It is less than a couple of minutes walk from tourist shops, restaurants etc. For the party people, the hotel also benefits from being close to a main bar/restaurant/club strip. There are many places to dance, have cocktails (often on 2 for 1 offers) and socialise. Fortunately you can't hear all the noise from the hotel.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with a little wear (expected, since it is an older hotel). Perhaps it doesn't quite meet the expectations of a 5* hotel however it definitely comes close.

If I were to visit Rhodes again, I would definitely consider the Grand Mitsis again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 30Female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Grand in Rhodes from 28th June/5th July 2006. The rooms were very big, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff on reception were always very pleasant. The dining room could do with some reorganisation, but there was plenty of selection. The Chinese and Italian restaurants were excellent - especially as you don't pay a supplement to eat in there. Drinks were a little on the pricy side. The pool areas beautiful laid out and the gardens kept immaculate.
After reading some of the reviews for this hotel, I don't know what some travellers expect! We had a great time and could have stayed longer. Excellent location for the old and new towns. We can recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank YVONNEIlford_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2006

Hotel clean, food was very poor in the buffet restaurant ok if you are Scandinavian.
Chinese restaurant was exellent, beware of the windy beach. Rhodes town was alright for the day but is not somewhere to spend a week at. BEWARE OF THE MOSSIES !!! WAS EATEN ALIVE.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connaght
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

Just back from Rhodes. In general hotel was very nice and friendly but as in other reviews the dining room can be a nightmare. The food was good but could be lukewarm when you would get back to your table (P.S Always wear long trousers to dinner or you will be turned away). The room was cleaned every day which was good. The hotel is ideally located beside all amenities. we found all the staff friendly and had no complaints in that regard. Overall i would recommend this hotel as it overs good value for money

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WestIrelandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We are just back from our holiday in Rhodes. The Mitsis Grand Hotel was excellent ! The room was spacious and very clean. Food (buffet + chinese + italian) was very good : plenty of choice and of very good quality. The staff was extremely friendly en helpfull. We would recommend this hotel to you all !!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2006

My husband and I are just back from a two week vacation in Rhodes. I had originally booked the Petite Palais Hotel but having spent nights on the computer reviewing this hotel from feedback such as this I decided due to our age we needed a bit more comfort so I booked The Grand Hotel from the Something Special Brochure and I thought it would be just that. Now maybe the fact that no travel rep showed head for the duration of the two week got us off to a rather disappointed an shakey start, but on arrival at the Grand we were met by a young very frosty and impersonal receptionist,again I made excuses sure give it time maybe she was having difficulty with the language!! mine a quite educated Irish accent. On arrival to our room 5th floor with one lift out of order. The room had a strong odour of smoke again I am an asthmatic. The Bathroom had definitely not been cleaned since the previous occupier as there were a few unmentionable objects in the bath. Again I overlooked this washed the bath and had a soak.On the positive side the hotel is lovely and spacious reception rooms very clean .We prefered to eat lunch at the lovely poolside dining area well shaded by lovely trees and a perfect waitress. The main dining area was a nightmare too many tables too closely packed together and a famine rush to the food round and round the area . Food was just ok sometimes lukewarm but by the time we were due to leave it had improved Had Somebody complained I wonder. I found a lot of the waiters very rude and did not want to know you except you were ordering lots of wine .we tipped well but soon stopped The female waiting staff were a lot more friendly. The dining room was a disappointment and let the Hotel Down.Rhodes itself is beautiful and we spent a lot of time out and about We are just sorry we went half board. Look, to sum it up The view from our seaview room was indeed beautiful The sunsets over turkey spectacular. The hotel could be perfect except for it coldness by way of unfriendly and uncaring staff Reception and Dining . Would I return Yes My husband a definite No .We are not complainers and have travelled to many countries but The Grand Hotel with its lovely seafront setting could be truly Grand if they made a few changes ,bedrooms and dining not 5* standard. Maybe just too big to provide that little personal touch, and put manners on the waiters and reception staff. We were just glad to go home to a few friendly faces . Kalincha and Yassas.

Helpful?
11 Thank Eibhlin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing