We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$248
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Athineon Hotel(Rhodes Town)
$148
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$229
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dionysos Hotel(Rhodes Town)(Great Value!)
$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$190
$183
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$252
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$511
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,671)
Filter reviews
2,672 results
Traveler rating
1,496
702
276
128
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,496
702
276
128
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburger barmain restaurantinclusive barthe mexican restaurantsea viewcrepespittaold townsalt waterindoor poolreception staffthomas cookguest relationsfood on offersister hotela la carte restaurantsgreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
1,681 - 1,686 of 2,672 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Antwerp - Belgium
110
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We are just back from our holiday in Rhodes. The Mitsis Grand Hotel was excellent ! The room was spacious and very clean. Food (buffet + chinese + italian) was very good : plenty of choice and of very good quality. The staff was extremely friendly en helpfull. We would recommend this hotel to you all !!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

My husband and I are just back from a two week vacation in Rhodes. I had originally booked the Petite Palais Hotel but having spent nights on the computer reviewing this hotel from feedback such as this I decided due to our age we needed a bit more comfort so I booked The Grand Hotel from the Something Special Brochure and I thought it would be just that. Now maybe the fact that no travel rep showed head for the duration of the two week got us off to a rather disappointed an shakey start, but on arrival at the Grand we were met by a young very frosty and impersonal receptionist,again I made excuses sure give it time maybe she was having difficulty with the language!! mine a quite educated Irish accent. On arrival to our room 5th floor with one lift out of order. The room had a strong odour of smoke again I am an asthmatic. The Bathroom had definitely not been cleaned since the previous occupier as there were a few unmentionable objects in the bath. Again I overlooked this washed the bath and had a soak.On the positive side the hotel is lovely and spacious reception rooms very clean .We prefered to eat lunch at the lovely poolside dining area well shaded by lovely trees and a perfect waitress. The main dining area was a nightmare too many tables too closely packed together and a famine rush to the food round and round the area . Food was just ok sometimes lukewarm but by the time we were due to leave it had improved Had Somebody complained I wonder. I found a lot of the waiters very rude and did not want to know you except you were ordering lots of wine .we tipped well but soon stopped The female waiting staff were a lot more friendly. The dining room was a disappointment and let the Hotel Down.Rhodes itself is beautiful and we spent a lot of time out and about We are just sorry we went half board. Look, to sum it up The view from our seaview room was indeed beautiful The sunsets over turkey spectacular. The hotel could be perfect except for it coldness by way of unfriendly and uncaring staff Reception and Dining . Would I return Yes My husband a definite No .We are not complainers and have travelled to many countries but The Grand Hotel with its lovely seafront setting could be truly Grand if they made a few changes ,bedrooms and dining not 5* standard. Maybe just too big to provide that little personal touch, and put manners on the waiters and reception staff. We were just glad to go home to a few friendly faces . Kalincha and Yassas.

11  Thank Eibhlin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Galashiels Scotland
14
Reviewed May 31, 2006

The Name of the hotel and five star rating conjures up as expected five star luxury. This may have been a five star but some time ago. The decoration in certain internal areas is poor with wallpaper adrift from the wall and emulsion paint just splattered on. Certain exterior walls are appaling with little paint actually left. Service in the restaurants poor. The food in the main restaurant is very poor and basic. For example no carvery at any dinner and one choice only of meats and no fish at all on starters. Dont expect a five star selection of wines either a choice of two white two rose and two red. Very busy dining room mor like an upmarket canteen than restaurant.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2006

Came here with a group for a 'winter sunshine' holiday, Feb 2006. Sunshine there was, but an icy North wind meant the temperatures were colder than England. The Hotel is all marble, glass and open plan. The downstairs is like one huge foyer: conference rooms and bar separated only by half - height partitions. Everywhere was freezing, including the bedrooms. There was an electric heating/air conditioning system in the rooms operated by hand-held controllers that no-one could fathom how to use, but gales blew through the french doors of the room, sometimes blowing them open with a crash.

Although labelled five star, this hotel most definitely is not - there is an underlying area of seediness. Rooms are small with peeling paint and patches of raw plaster. There is no ventilation of any kind in the bathrooms, the plugs don't fit the sinks, the toilets don't always flush. Sometimes the maids leave soap and shampoo, sometimes they don't. One blanket on the bed is standard - you need 4 in the winter! Trays ordered from room-service were left lying in the hall for days-complete with decaying food.

The food was ok. Buffet breakfast and evening meal. The cold foods were great - Greek Salads, olives, cheeses, plenty fresh fruit and lots of pastry. The hot food was kept lukewarm in stainless steel dishes bobbing about in warm water heated by inadequate Calor Gas rings. We gave up trying it and stuck to the cold. They charged 20 euros for a bottle of wine that cost 5 in the shops.

There was a limit to how long you could walk about in Rhodes, a limit to how long you could bear to stay in the bedroom, so we were glad to have booked in a hotel with a heated indoor pool and fitness room - except that the pool was not for us! The hotel staff kept saying, 'tomorrow you will use it'. After hearing 4 days of 'tomorrow' and seeing the poolside filling up with huge steel catering machines, we got the under-manager to confess that the hotel had let it out for a Catering Machine Manufacturers Trade Show!... we could use it only from 10pm to 9am. We did try to swim one morning before breakfast, but the pool area is virtually in the foyer-freezing cold from the howling gale that blew through and completely public with no changing facilities at all and no towels. The water was unheated and the men coming to work at the Conference began to cluster among the stainless steel ovens that we were trying to hide behind. We gave up. The fitness room cost an arm and a leg to use so we didn't bother.

The hotel had been without a manager for some weeks and it showed. The staff were reasonably friendly but there were not enough of them. The problem with a hotel that is part of a chain is that no-one in it really cares. Fed-up with the lack of pool and the number of lies we were told about it and fed up with having nowhere to go in the hotel for a change of scene from the bedroom, we went home early. Maybe it's ok in the Summer, airy in the heat, and maybe in the heat you care less about the facilities, but for winter... don't bother.

11  Thank PamelaLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2005

We ended up staying at the Grand Hotel in Rhodes, Greece after Pension Minos in the Old Town botched up our reservation (see my review of Pension Minos). Grand Hotel is open all year round and in winter, its rates are a steal at 50e and 35e (double/single) inclusive of a buffet breakfast, just barely 5e more than what Pension Minos had quoted us (without breakfast)! Their rooms, although not exactly new, come with bathtub (with a shower attachment), fridge (although the in-room safe had a hole where the lock was supposed to be so it could not be used at all). We had balconies overlooking the front of the hotel, facing the beach. Most things in the New Town are about 10 minutes on foot (and you will pass many other hotels along the way). We could walk to the Old Town in about 12-15 minutes. The weather was sunny and mild while we were there (26 - 30 Nov 2005) but Rhodes Old Town is practically deserted and most shops there are shut between Nov and March. The New Town has a bit more life however most hotels in the New Town are either shut or running at very low occupancy levels. A good Italian restaurant that we ate at which was down the road from Grand Hotel was Red Restaurant (you will pass it on the way to the casino). We wanted to take a day trip to Lindos and found out that while the Acropolis was open, the town of Lindos was more or less closed and there were no donkey rides in Winter. The daily boat service to Lindos was also not operating when we were there, although we managed to tour the Palace of the Grand Masters and do the palace wall walk.

18  Thank Dogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews