We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad time at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a bad time at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Have just returned from Rhodes, Mitsis Grand Hotel only second time in Rhodes last time 18 years ago, and has it changed, yes, I was disappointed with the area felt it had been let go a little, but it was the beginning of the season and many of the restaurants and bars were not open, everyone was working really hard to get them ready for us to go there.

The hotel, the Grand, had a lovely time nice as it was not too crowded, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. It had only been open a week when we arrived but the beds were really comfortable and the rooms were clean. Cleaners came 6 out of the 7 days we stayed and were very pleasant.

The food as with many all inclusives gets a bit repetitive, but the Italian and the Chinese were lovely. Plenty of variety, if you go hungry it is your own fault. As the week went on you can see that some of the decor looks a little tired but it didnt matter, I dont spend my time in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    559
    229
    118
    59
See reviews for
497
868
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Same story as a number of others - I had booked a different, more expensive hotel (Spa Resort with loads of facilities for my children) but was put here under duress as I had seen the hotel when I was doing my search but had discarded it despite it being cheaper due to the lack of children's facilities and I gathered the rooms would be dated. It would appear that Mitsis have a habit of doing this (some people had had the same problem last year!) - some people had booked a lower grade hotel, some had booked a higher grade - some people won, some people lost. I get the impression they take bookings for the whole group then put them all in the Grand if they don't get enough bookings for the others. One couple I met had gone to the hotel they'd booked to find a note on the door to go to the Grand instead!

In all honesty, if I had booked the hotel at the price advertised, I would not have been disappointed - i would have thought it was a bargain but I had paid the extra to get exactly what I wanted! My judgement of this hotel has perhaps been tainted as I am looking at it against what I had booked as opposed to it's own merits (not everyone wants facilities for childrend I suppose). If you can accept your room as just somewhere to sleep, you've cracked it here.

The rooms were very tired - the second one we were offered had wall paper peeling off and stuck back down with sellotape (which in iitself had been a very old repair as the sellotape had yellowed), the air con unit was all yellow as a remnant from the days when you could smoke in hotels, the fabric headboard was yellowed where peoples heads had rubbed against it, carpets torn, hole punctured in the picture hung on the wall. After 4 attempts were given a fabulous room but again, very tired (stained carpet, the silvering coming off the mirrors in the bathroom, old throws on the beds).

The pool area at the back was also in need of renovation. If you were all inclusive you could feel like a second class citizen as you weren't allowed to use the poolside snack bar without paying, there was a lovely bar near the front pool that was only for paying guests.

There is no entertainment at all apart from the piano player in the 'half board guests only' bar.

The staff here are fantastic though, from the bar man who mixes fab cocktails and the maitre de's in the restaurant to the highly polished reception staff - all very professional and most definately 5 star. The housekeeper was amazing and very sympathetic with my trauma over the rooms.

The whole area where the hotel is located all looks very tired and unloved but it is in a great position for old Rhodes Town (which is beautiful) - only about 10 mins walk away.

Book this hotel for what it is and accept the 5* rating may have been given some years ago and not been reviewed since, if you want to be able to see old Rhodes town, I didn't notice a hotel in the location that looked any better than the Grand (and there were quite a few that looked much worse!).

Room Tip: Just tell the staff if you are disappointed with your room - they will do everything they can to mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Mid 20s couple from ldn Stayed 1 week all inc in easter. Was not looking forward to it due to bad reviews but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff are lovely. Food is average but italian restaurants is nice and Chinese is reasonable, book a day in asvance. Local to bars n shops. 22 euros cab from airport about 15 mins distance. Abit quiet as much of the area is not open until may, struggled to find some where to go out although this must be very different in peak seasons. I do wonder how the hotel manages in peak times must b very hectic. Free wi fi in lobby. Dont read the bad reviews a nice place. A lack of hotel entertainment. Local greek restaurant koykos highly recommended; lovveeely food!!!!! Rained a couple of days but a few warm days. Clean pools although freezing and salt water. Good cocktails inc in ai. I would stay there again but mayb may or june would be a better time for weather and night life. Next to shops and old town. Nice lil coffee shop with parrots is recommended in old town. Rooms a lil dated but okkk n clean. I guess it depends on how much you pay for it, more like a 4 * then a 5. Alot of people staying at the time were transferred to that hotel due to others not being open in time. Did not get into some local bars in old town such as soho as private parties occurring(more like no English) again i think that this is because its sooo early in the season. Overall a lovely hotel, clean with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is the first time i have ever wrote a review but a lot of things need to be said.
Firstly we hadn't booked into this hotel we had booked into the Mitsis Faliraki. With 6 weeks to go to our holiday we were told the Mitsis Faliraki would not be open until the end of April. We would lose all the hotel money if we cancelled and were forced to change our holiday to the Mitsis Grand at a cost of £250 extra.
Plus points.
It does have a good sea view location.
it is a clean hotel and reception area is good, the pools are nice(but cold) and the Chinese and Italian restaurants are lovely.
Now the negative ones. There is one bit of entertainment in the hotel and he is a singer/piano player. He alternates between 2 bars and plays the same music every night.
The cleaners although polite are very noisy and they start pushing their trolleys up the corridor at 7 in the morning.
Only 1 all inclusive bar which was ok at this time of year but i would hate to try and get a drink if the hotel was busy. Another nice bar in the hotel but you have to pay for your drinks there.
No kids animation team at all.
Lifts are breaking down constatntly.
The gym you have to pay for.
The tennis court is shabby and very run down.

To rub salt in the wounds we hired a car on one day and went to have a look around the hotel we originally booked. It was lovely and is far superior than the MITSIS 5 STAR GRAND.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fooksy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Due to refurbishment at a sister hotel I was upgraded to The Grand Hotel (4-10 April) and what a wonderful stay I had. Every member of staff I encountered couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Bedrooms were very well appointed, bathrooms had power showers and baths. The food was freshly prepared, very tasty and there was plenty of choice. Rhodes town (old and new) centres are within walking distance. The bus station in the new town is very convenient for transport to other parts of the island, including the airport. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. My only complaint was I had to come home again!!!!

Room Tip: If possible request a seaview. Turkey is 60 miles away and very visible on a clear day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imtarfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Mitsis Grande Hotel Rhodes for a week on the 6th April 2013 on a half-board basis.
In summary the hotel sells itself a 5* hotel, which it really isn’t, we would rate the Hotel at best a 3.5* level of accommodation but unfortunately if you call yourself a 5* you have to be judged with others at that level.
On the plus side the room we have was spacious, with a good view over the sea and a nice small balcony. The staff were friendly and the room was kept clean.
After that it starts to go downhill. The air-conditioning was basis units with the noisy condenser unit located on each balcony rejecting heat and defeating the object of have the balcony. The bathroom fittings were tired and the chrome had partly worn off leaving a nice brassed off feel to everything. The breakfast was basis but adequate, the evening meal was a basic canteen style buffet with a 2 or 3 day rotation of options, but most dishes were not made fresh and generally a bit greasy and tasteless. The salads were perhaps the best option? It looked like the hotel had been recently painted but damp patches were starting to show through and the plaster was blistered in many places. Electrical cables seemed to appear from nowhere in the middle of a plastered wall and did nothing (they were wrapped with electrical tape towards the end of our stay but we have no idea what there were supposed to be for?). One lift was broken for the whole of our stay (which left only one lift working for all 5 floors from the main foyer area - including the cleaners)
There were quite a few noisy people there during our stay and we were not bothered but some other guests were kept awake until the early hours.
A low priced hotel that sells itself as a 5* accommodation which in pracice it really isn’t. I suppose you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a few days with family at the Mitsis grand Rhodes in April 2013

Lovely hotel, great location and really helpful staff

Rhodes was really nice too, loads to see and do and weather lovely this time of year

We would recommend both the Hotel and town

The Marsh family :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#11 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#23 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing