We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Holiday. Fab Hotel”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Fortunately we met a friend when we booked the hotel who had stayed there before. Our minds were set at ease when she heaped praise on the hotel, as we had read some of the adverse comments by some of the reviewers. We arrived at the hotel at 2 o'clock in the morning and were met with a welcoming smile and greeting by the reception staff. We were given the key to our room, which was on the first floor, but advised to contact reception the following morning after breakfast and we would be allocated a better room. When we saw our room we could not believe it. The room was superb. Unfortunately it was overlooking the exterior entrance and all we could see was a roof. However, we were allocated a room on the second floor and again the room was first class. Everything was spotlessly clean, not only in the room, but throughout the hotel. We had booked All Inclusive and it was worth it. The food was good and yes, there were queues at the buffet, but what's the hurry. You're on holiday. The tables were quite close together, but that helped to meet other people. There is also an Italian and a Chinese restaurant in the hotel where All Inclusive guests are welcome. We visited the Italian reaturant and found it to be excellent. The All Inclusive bar was great entertainment in spite of the fact that you had to queue sometimes. Don't you have to queue at a bar in the UK? We can honestly say that we could not complain about any of the staff. Everyone seemed to be smiling, and they were so helpful. Where else can you get a sunbed round the pools at lunchtime, and for free?The location is ideal for strolling into the old town, which is so lovely. This is the hotel we will choose when we return to Rhodes. For me, it's a 5 star no matter what some of the reviewers say.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,391)
There are newer reviews for Mitsis Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 2,391 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent 1 week here in June this year --very nice hotel situated on the balmy side of the town and very access to the old walled city . Even although it was early June Rhodes was very warm especially on our visit to Lindos , which was excellent but roasting hot.Our room had a sea view and was not shabby as some reviewers have said The food was unbelievably good with a fantastic variation --even for breakfast . The staff were efficient and mannerly

Room Tip: Sea view in the main building on as high a level as possible
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenceM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just arrived back from a week in the Grand and had a lovely holiday. The weather was hot for the time of the year and very warm in the evening too,
the hotel is ideally situated for the town with numerous bars and restaurants. and a 15 m in walk to the old town.
As for the Hotel itself it was very good, I read some of the reviews before we went and was getting a bit anxious as to what we where going too, However it was a nice surpirse because we had a wonderful seaview room which was probably one of the ones that had been refurbed the carpet - curtains - and the decorating was new. we where in room 554 ask for a high floor as the views are great. The reception and public areas are very nice, the pools are good and plenty of sunbeds never had a problem getting a bed even at 10.30am. The Food was good with plenty of choice howver I do agree with some people when they say tables are close together and it gets very busy at times. The chinese and Italian where very good.
The staff we found to be pleasant and helpful. We went ALL INC which we have done for the last few holidays as its now expensive to eat and drink out every day or night now. The dirnks arent the top quality brands and sometimes i didnt think there wasnt any alcohol in a few of them that they served up especially the cocktails, The only other thing I dont like anymore is having to queue at the bar to get drinks, there was no waiter service. There is a bar in reception but you had to pay for drinks there and yes there was waiter srv. I do think you are treated a bit like 2nd class citizens when you are on all inclusive basis these days.
In all I would recommend this hotel for a good location and nice pleasant surroundings.
We ate out 3 times just for a change of scenery really and I can recommend a couple of restaurants - Le Bistro which is out of the hotel turn first left to the crossroads and its on the corner. and YAMAS which was out of the hotel turn left and walkt to the roundabout turn left and its just up on the left hand side. Both where execellent food and service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llandulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from a week all inclusive. Although generally pleased, we found some aspects disappointing.
Room. Our 31x13 feet room was comfortable but rather shabby in places-chipped bath, torn carpet- with a feeble air conditioning unit. We had a sea view over and around the air conditioning ducts so a higher floor room would have been an improvement.
Meals Food choices for breakfast and lunch were good and even better for dinner but the poor layout of the buffet and the lack of space between tables made the evening meal a less than pleasant experience.However the free option to use the Italian or Chinese restaurant with table service and more generous spacing did compensate considerably. Nice food with big portions.
Bars The staff at the all inclusive bar worked very hard and fast - they were more entertaining than the official entertainer.
Pools etc. Two outdoor saltwater pools were clean and more than big enough for the small number of guests who wished to leave their sunbeds. Although the reserving of sunbeds before dawn was as usual common, there were always enough for later risers. The indoor pool was a nice uncrowded option.
Overall. We stayed at the 5 star de luxe Rhodes Hilton (now Sheraton) 6 years ago and in general found the Mitsis as good with a much better location 15 minutes walk from the old town.
But updating of the bedrooms and changes to the overcrowded dining room are really needed to justify a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Get as seaview room above floor one- sun from 2/3 pm
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is in dire need of re-furbishment, if you book all inclusive, it could be a waste of time,only one bar to use,other guests not paying all inclusive walk in and get served, if you go in to the other two bars you'll have to pay!! Limited room around the two outside pools,and one side of the inner seawater pool you'll be looking at the back of a "Shopping Mall 2",part of the hotel, thats been closed for a long time.If you're given rooms 128,130,132 or 134 you'll also be looking at the wall of the mall and the wrecked equipment. Room 134 also has a gap between the hotel wall and end wall that a small child could get through and fall 15 feet to the footpath outside. We found that the waiting staff and restaurant staff were very polite and efficient,and the food was very good,unlike some of the reception staff!! Fixtures and fittings in a lot of places were past their best by day, a long time ago.We'd read a report by someone who complaind that there wasn't much choice, but if they were looking for burger and chips or chicken nuggets, these two you will not find! They should have gone to McDs to eat. It's also the first hotel we've been in with NO air conditioning in the public areas indoors, although the room aircon was good. It was the first time we'd been back to Rhodes for 8 years, usually staying at the Ibiscus Hotel, but The Grand Hotel is not a patch on it. Oh and just one more thing, they are forever over-booking and sendind people to other hotels, we thought it was a joke when reading another review, but it happened on a daily basis.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms 128 130 132 134 Crap outlook.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOB R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just arrived back from this hotel everything about it was great staff really friendly our room was very nice spacious and clean food was lovely and so much choice .i cannot understand the people who moan about it . The location is good as well .

Room Tip: we were in room 221 which was very nice
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a horror visit last year ( My wife broke her ankle in the Airport Carpark on the day we landed) decided to revisit Rhodes Town and stay at Grand Hotel again . Hotel Perfect Location Staff and facilities first class Swimming pools excellant. Sea view room a bit disapointing on the first floor but comfortable and spacious Now the bad bit!! The Dining room is a nightmare. not big enought for the no of people a redisign of the layout I.E. Seperate Salad Bar from Main Course would eliminate long wait . Guiding residents to tables again inefficient use of staff who are very pleasent and hardworking Italian Night included in price brilliant Will go again but Bed and Breakfast

Room Tip: Sea View room ask for High Floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,808 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $89 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing