We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, don't listen to the negative comments!”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #39 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed July 16, 2011

What a fantastic hotel this is! Not a 5* but defiantly a 4* If you are looking to stay in Rhodes and want to stay In a lovely hotel with sea views, The Mitis Grand is the hotel or you! The hotel is very traditional and inkeeping with the tradition of Rhodes itself, we went all inclusive and couldnot in anyway fault this hotel, the room we stayed in had a Seaview and was amazing to watch the sunset at night time! The staff in this hotel are extremely polite and bend over backwards to help you! we had a problem with the TV in our room the first night we arrived and they moved us into a new room just along the corridor! There is 3 large pools, numourous bars ( 2 of which you do have to pay for if your all inclusive) but the other one is free! The restaurant is buffet style throughout the day, and different choices of food most days for breakfast, lunch and Dinner! make sure you try the Chinese and Italian restaurants with the truly spectacular sunset view! The photographers aren't there every night like some people have claimed we were there 14 nights and we only seen them 3 times, and once they've asked you the first time you go down to dinner they won't ask you again for the rest of your stay! Would certainly stay at this hotel again, FANTASTIC hotel with a FANTASTIC Location!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nottinghamgirlamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Valued guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review for Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes.
We are happy to know you've spent nice holidays at our hotel and that we've contributed in that.

We certainly look forward to welcome you next summer and in the meantime have an enjoyable rest of summer!

From all the Mitsis Grand Hotel Team we send you our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

There must be some people out there who just want to find fault in any hotel they stay in. This one had mixed reviews so we arrived with some trepidation. We decided to ask for sea view and all inclusive upgrade when we got there. However upon arrival we were pulled to one side and told we would have to stay the first ninght in the PRESIDENTIAL SUITE (if we wanted - as if). The receptionist would talk to the manager about us staying there for the complete week (no extra charge). Then they said for mucking us around they would upgrade us from half board to All inclusive. This started our holiday with a bang. The suite wonderful, over 200 sq m. two floors, lounge, dining room, study area, kitchen, two massive bedrooms, three balconies, two jacuzzies (although one did not work in spite of numerous visits from maintenance staff - cannot fault them for trying).
The food was buffet style very well laid out and wonderful choice - especially the crepes - i did overdose myself on these over teh week, the staff freindly and courteous, did not have to wait too long for drinks (despite what some people have said), especially if you try a little of their language. The Maitre D, was great and well organised. The all inclusive bar whilst there were some minor queing, nothing to shout home about. The staff in there worked incredibly hard, but always had a smile on their faces.
The hotel is about 15mins from the harbour area and 20mins from the old town (do not buy drinks in the main square as silly prices), try some of the one on the side streets, they seemed to be more welcoming of the business and were a lot more freindly.
Had boat trip to Lindos (20 euros each), very hot there, use the donkeys if you are brave enough, or be really stupid and walk up the hill to the castle (knackering).
All in all an absolutely wonderful relaxing week, just as we had planned. Thanks again to all the staff, you are great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nostrodamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Valued guest,
thank you for posting your review at Tripa Advisor for our hotel Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes.
We are glad to know that we've contributed in having a relaxing and pleasant stay in Rhodes.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and in the mean time we wish you a happy and relaxing rest of summer!!
From alle the Mitsis Grand Hotel Team our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was out first break away without our (now grown up) kids. The stay overall ticked most of the right boxes.

We arrived at 'stupid o clock' but despite it bing the wee small hours, reception staff were friendly and swift in processing our arrival. Given that it had been a long day travelling it would have been nice to have a bottle of water in the room. The room was spotless and spacious, with plenty of wardrobe space. The sea view was well worth the extra cost.

We tried the all inclusive option. You can only use one bar and there was often a queue but you did not have to wait long. However, there is nowhere near enough room if you want to sit here in the evenings.

We always got a sunbed and the pool area was clean.

Mealtimes were an experience. The 'Long Trouser' rule needs to be reviewed. This was not mentioned when booking the holiday.

Plenty of bars/retaurants near by - in fact some gorgeous tavernas. The Old Town is lovely if you go of the beaten track and explore.

Thomas Cook Rep - Naomi - was fab - 10/10.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goketta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Valued guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your review at Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments both positive and less positive. Be sure that we take all comments very seriously making sure that they are reported to relevant departments and managers.

Regarding the long trousers issue: It is clearly stated at our website and most probably it was not mentioned at the Tour Operator's site via which you've booked your holidays.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at our hotel.
In the meantime we wish you a happy rest of the summer!!

Kind regards,
From all the Mitsis Grand Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel should be called mitsis because it's definitely not grand. I have just made my third visit to Rhodes because the historical and natural beauty of this island makes it one of the best resorts in europe. Sadly the hotel did not live up to the quality of this island. I got married in Rhodes and took 20 guests. Out of all 22 of us I think we all left with the same opinion that this hotel should be a 2 star plus and is nowhere near the 4/5 star it makes out. The location sells the hotel, on the sea front right next to the bar and restaurants and within walking distance to the spectacular old town. Unfortunately, that is where the qualities end.

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and the decline in quality over the past 2 years is unbelievable. I knew the hotel was not up to 5 star and knew some of its faults but overlooked them because of its location and convenience. Since then however, the faults have quadrupled. The welcome you get at reception has to be one of the rudest I have ever come across as some reception staff don't want to help or break a smile. Other staff in the hotel were lovely. The bar staff around the pool and the hotel maids were very polite and friendly. The maintenance of the hotel also had alot to be desired. For our 2 week stay, 1 of the lifts were constantly out of order, powercuts happened frequently and for the last 3 days there was no hot water. The hotel rooms are in vast need of updating. They are a comfortable size but 25 years out of date. Costs need to be looked at, 50 Euro for the gym and 40 Euros for a safe (non refundable).

Then that brings me to the restaurant. Due to the Euro situation, we thought half board would be a big saving. The italian and chinese restaurants were very nice but the buffet restaurant was like a disorganised zoo, from the entry to the restaurant to the queue for food. On my friend's first night he was refused entrance to the restaurant because he was wearing shorts. After telling the waiter he was unaware of the ruling, the waiter allowed him in as long as he sat up a corner whilst his wife fetched his food. However, it appeared a different ruling for women. At the end of our stay, a guest had his dog in the dining room eating from a table. I question any hotel policy that will not let you wear shorts but allow a dog in the eating area.

Over the years british holidaymakers overlooked shabby hotels in Greece because it was cheap to book and when you were there you could eat and drink out every night without breaking the bank. Now the prices have increased, so have our standards. If they insist charging 4 star prices, I expect 4 star service. I suggest they look around the world at other hotels and see how it's done. This country is in turmoil and needs investment, the Mitsis Grand hotel is a prime example. Everywhere I go I look for value for money and you will not get this in this hotel. 3 Euro for a coke, London is cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christopher011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at The Grand, Rhodes f(2 weeks) for the second time and once again, the hotel was excellent. The hotel was spotless, the food out of this world. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The pools were kept immaculate and there were plenty of sun beds available. They were having some trouble with two of their lifts but these were being repaired whilst we were there. We would most definately stay there again as we love Rhodes. We were on half board and next time we will do all inclusive, as the cost of eating out, etc. was quite expensive. Weather was brilliant as ever and all in all, we had a superb holiday. Many thanks to Thomas Cook for their wonderful service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welltravelled021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Dear valued guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay at Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes.
We are very glad to know that you have once again appreciated our service and facilities and that you have enjoyed your 2 weeks stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again next year.

A very big thank you from all The Mitsis Grand Hotel team.
Regards,
Stella Tsantila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

hotel was not what it seemed . was more like 3* not 5* . clean hotel friendly staff not enough of them to cope with the amount of guests . food was very repetetive and always luke warm to cold . no entertainment around pool not even any music . the night time entertainment was abysmal . either nothing on or a man on a piano every night singing the same 10 songs over and over again . this gets very annoying when you are there for 14 nights .the allinclusive bar is not big enough to cope so after queing for you dinner your tea and your breakfast a lot of guests crammed into a small bar when 2 other large bars are empty because they are for paying guests is not a good policy .wont be back

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimb015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Dear valued guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your own personal experience regarding your vacation at Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes. First of all we would like to apologize for any inconveniencecaused during your stay. Please allow us to comment on your review.

Our hotel is a city based hotel renowned for its service and location: close proximity to almost everything.

It's not a Resort Hotel with animation and entertaining programme during the 7 or 14 days stay. People who are booking this hotel are looking for quiet holidays at thecity and close to the beach so they can use our hotel as a base to visit the island. T

Regarding your comment on All Inclusive we do apologize for the queues. It's a new concept at the hotel and we are taking all effort to imrove this service.

Regarding your comment for the repetitive buffet, of course you understand that it's not possible to change entire buffet every single day. We change and replace several courses and appetizers, offering different and altered options of buffet in the evening keeping the base the same.
The buffet changes concept and theme every 14 days.
Regarding the temperature of the food: it's a totally subjective matter which we respect and we cannot judge if you wished the food to be hotter or colder than what it actually was.

As for the staff: the number of employees working at Mitsis Grand Hotel is equivalent to the number of guests staying currently in order to fullfill the needs and expectations of our valued guests and contribute to a nice holiday.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again next year and reconsider visiting our hotel at the beautiful island of Rhodes.
Until then keep well and we wish you all the best.
Stella Tsantila from all the Mitsis Grand Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

After we booked this hotel we looked at some of the reviews on it and expected disappointment. We travel frequently and are used to staying in good hotels.However much to our delight our stay at the hotel was most enjoyable thanks to the high standards the hotel aims to provide. The rooms are cleaned thoroughly each day and fresh towels provided.We did encounter two faults with the room with the shower and the air coditioning but these were rectified immediately after reporting it to reception. The main restaurant is buffet style and serves an excellent choice of food, the tables are quite close to each other but this allowed us to mix with other guests. The only disappointment we had was when we booked a meal in the Italian restaurant one night and the meal was very overcooked and we left most it.However we continued to eat in the main restaurant.. We were tempted to try the Chinese restaurant but the experience in the Italian restaurant put us off. The all inclusive area for drinks was well equiped to serve most types of drink and the beer was really nice. there were only two occaisions where we experienced long queques but this was due to the beer barrel being exchanged.In the afternoons snacks were also available There was adequate seating provided outside the all inclusive lounge in the lovely gardens. We walked into Rhodes Old Town most evenings It only took us 10 minutes from the hotel and really loved the old town with a vast choice of bars restaurants and shops. There are plenty of sun beds available around the pools and towels are available for a deposit of 15 euros, however we brought our own. We looked at other hotels whilst we were on holiday as our daughter is getting married in Rhodes next year but nothing compared to the high standards of the Mitsis Grand unfortunatelys they dont really cater for children and there will be small children in the wedding party. To conclude we wouldnt hesitate in staying at this hotel again and are seriously considering it for another break in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmaiden99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear Valued guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review at Trip Advisor for our hotel Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes. It's very important for us to know what exactly you've experienced during your stay with us and we appreciate that you have written such good comments on our facilities.
Some times reviews and personal opinions can be misleading to ones decision and it's a relief to know that you didn't take these comments so seriously.

We apologize for any queues and delays but you have completely justified the reason and thank you for your understanding. As for the Italian Restaurant we are sorry that you were not so satisfied with your choice. We shall note your comment down about the overcooked food.

Regarding your intention to visit Rhodes and our hotel next year, of course we will be happy to welcome you and your family any time!!

Have a lovely summer onwards and hope to see you soon.
Best regards from all the Mitsis Grand Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
788 reviews
2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,243 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $122 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND HOTEL, the only 5-star all-inclusive beach-front city hotel in Rhodes, is synonymous to first class hospitality. Located in the city of Rhodes, at a short distance from the medieval town, the hotel is fully renovated and offers its guests all modern facilities. It has 405 luxurious guestrooms, most of which have a sea view and of which 5 are suites that stand out for their exceptional grace and comfort. The hotel has a fully equipped gym with an indoor swimming pool, two outdoor swimming pools and a variety of sports activities for both adults and children. Two conference rooms of a capacity of 600 and 200 people respectively and an impressive ballroom, equipped with technology fit the most demanding communication requirements. GRAND HOTEL offers at its 6 different restaurants a variety of gourmet experiences for the most discerning palates and offers snacks throughout the day at the Creperie - Gelateria and its wooden stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing