We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,906)
Filter reviews
2,906 results
Traveler rating
1,674
733
296
130
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,674
733
296
130
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburger barmain restaurantinclusive barcrepesthe mexican restaurantsea viewpittaold townsalt waterindoor poolthomas cookreception staffguest relationsfood on offera la carte restaurantsgreat holidayfantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,658 - 1,663 of 2,906 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2011

awesome hotel is lovely all the comments we read before we went is so wrong i love my food and i tried to think off food that was not there and there was everything yes the bar is a little small but the atmosphere is great chilled out relaxing we asked to change our room on our first night as we wanted a better view asked anastatia on reception done no problems pool really clean hotel spottless panos is a great guy in the bar location perfect this was our first hol together and it was just what we were looking for take no notice of bad reviews go chill out relax eat eat eat and enjoy thanks for a wonderfull time

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaliniWellness, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Dear valued guest,
it's always a pleasure for us to read such nice reviews on our hotel Mitsis Grand Hotel.
We are trully happy that you've enjoyed your stay and thank you for complimenting our staff at the bar and reception.

We do hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Have a lovely summer.
Stella Tsantila on behalf of the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

late arrival but still met by porter & luggage taken to room overlooking front pool & sea,maid service good, linen changed regularly. hotel very smart & excellent choice of buffet food. two extra restaurants italian (ate there twice) really good,& chinese (did not use). no extra charge for these. the all inclusive bar & patio area outside could become overcrowded but as there is plenty of other available space maybe the management could do something to improve this. however the service from the bar staff was always quick. one complaint that could be given attention. apparently in the evening guests from a sister hotel come there for dinner & this causes problems round the buffet at times, maybe a staggering of the times of these visits would improve this?
otherwise a good hotel, within easy walking distance of old & new town & we had avery pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marine56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaliniWellness, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review!
It's a great pleasure for us to know that our guests, who've stayed at Mitsis Grand Hotel have enjoyed the hotel 100%.

It gives great meaning to all the efforts put in order to offer the best service possible. We also appreciate the fact that you've taken the time to write your review. Your good words towards the recent not so flattering comments give us strength to continue now that we know that our try is appreciated.

Regarding the fact that guests from a sister hotel may use some areas of Grand Hotel: this is true and we'll try to find a way for this to function better. A different time range to visit the buffet perhaps. Thank you for your input on this..

We wish you all the best and we will be happy to welcome you again in Rhodes and Mitsis Grand Hotel.
Best regards,
Stella Tsantila on behalf of Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

as with other recent reports we had a very enjoyable holiday and are sure previous are from people who like to complain.We agree rating is nearer 4 than 5 star .we had few minor problems which were rectified no problem.We had booked a sea view but when taken to room by friendly porter dimitris found it was not a sea view .He quickly got on to reception who organised a nice room which overlooked the sea as originaly booked and paid for.After my wife had a bath we found the drain backing up and flowing bac.k into bathroom.within minutes mainteance had rectified the problem.Some of the furnishings were a bit tired,but noneof these issues detracted from our enjoyment of hotel and holiday.It is in an ideal situation for exploring the old town and close to lots of bars and tavernas

Room Tip: book and pay in advance
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikey036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaliniWellness, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear valued reviewer,

thank you for taking the time to write your review for our hotel Mitsis Grand Hotel. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience caused with the room allocation on arrival and the bathtub.
As explained in previous review all these issued are to be resolved during off season reburbishment.
We hope to see you again soon in Rhodes and have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Mitsis Grand Hotel.

Kind regards,
Stella Tsantila on behalf of the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

After reading a couple of really awful reviews, we once again found ourselves not looking forward to this holiday. All I can say is that the bad reviews have to be written about a different hotel. The hotel was superb, rooms comfortable and well furnished. The meals were faultless. You could select meat which was freshly cooked in the restaurant . The staff were extremely polite and very willing to help you. We went all inclusive and our only criticism of this is the fact that the all inclusive bar was separate from the main bar which was for 'paying' customers. It seemed that we were being a little segregated. Maybe the hotel could look at this slight criticism. All and all, we had a truly wonderful holiday and would strongly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Some rooms are noisier than others - so ask to bed
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joans1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaliniWellness, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Dear valued guest,
first of all thank you for taking the time to write your personal accomodation review on Mitsis Grand Hotel. We always appreciate comments made on our services & facilities from our guests.

We always try for the best and we feel rewarded everytime we read a good review like yours which makes us feel better and able to cope with the bad comments writtern occassionally in Trip Advisor.
We totally respect all reviews and opinions and always try to improve ourselves no matter what.
Your review gives us strength to continue offering better service, better facilities and minimize the not so good reviews.
We thank you one more time and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.
Very best regards from all our team in Grand Hotel.

Stella Tsantila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a most enjoyable week at the Mitsis Grand and fail to understand where the adverse comments come from. While we agree it is not of 5-star standard, I think it could well be considered in the 4-star category.

BEDROOM: Our room was on the 3rd floor, with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool garden at the rear of the hotel. While not sumptuous, it was adequately furnished, albeit with ‘flat-pack’ style units, which had seen better days. But they did provide a substantial amount of drawer/shelf/hanging space. There was also a low table for suitcase storage (with room for another suitcase under it). This is a very useful feature.

The mattresses on the twin 3’ beds were firm (which we like) and we had no difficulty whatsoever in getting a good night’s sleep on them.

The fridge was elderly but worked OK. What we would have liked is some sort of tea/coffee making facility in the room (although, obviously, room service is available). We always go prepared with our own travel kettle, but this was a noticeable omission. There are numerous supermarkets nearby, so obtaining supplies is easy. (The nearest one is left out of the hotel and first left and it’s immediately on the left, run by a very friendly couple, Sinikha and Angelos).

Although the room generally had a slightly ‘tired’ look, the cleaning staff did an outstanding job. The first place my wife looks in any hotel room is the bathroom. She will not tolerate any hint of uncleanliness in that department. Needless to say, she found the standard of cleanliness to be excellent.

We did experience two problems though. Firstly, the air-conditioning unit would not operate for more than 15 seconds. The next morning the whole air-conditioning unit was replaced with a brand new unit.

The second problem was a water leak under the hand basin in the bathroom. This took longer to fix, with several visits being made by maintenance staff. Finally, the waste pipe, both water pipes and the mixer tap were replaced, which cured the leak, but only on the day before we left.

As we had suffered some inconvenience (although only minor, in our view) a complimentary plate of fresh fruit and a bottle of spring water were delivered to our room. It must be accepted that things don’t always go right, all of the time, but the test is how these difficulties are dealt with. The leak could/should have been fixed quicker, but we have no complaint about the efforts that were made.

DINING ROOM: This operates on a Table Captain system. As you enter, you hand the Captain a card on which is your name, room number and board status. You are then shown to a table, on which the card is left, to indicate the table is occupied. As each meal is a self-service buffet, this avoids the situation of returning to your table with a plateful of food to find someone else occupying it. This is not, as someone has described it, being treated like school children, but a very effective system.

We were half-board and found the food at breakfast and dinner to be ample, varied and of good quality. Sometimes it seemed there was just too much choice. Anyone who cannot find something to enjoy is a very, very fussy eater.

All the staff, from the Maitre D’ down, worked very hard to ensure each dining session ran smoothly and we never had to wait more than a few seconds before being allocated a table.

The chairs have fitted covers (easy to remove and wash). The table linen is changed after each table has been vacated. The buffet area was continually cleaned to remove any spilled/dropped food and the various dishes were replenished before they became empty. First class.

We did try the Chinese restaurant but were not impressed, either by the service or the food. There is a very limited menu. With so much to choose from in the main restaurant, we didn’t bother again.

STAFF: During our all too brief stay, I spoke to members of staff at all levels, from the General Manager to the cleaners. Without exception, they were polite, responsive and, when appropriate, very helpful. I saw and heard no hint of the rudeness that has been reported in other reviews (even when I was complaining about the air con and the water leak).

LOCATION: While we would not recommend the beach, the hotel is literally ‘round the corner’ from shops, bars and restaurants. It’s an easy 15 minutes walk along the sea front to Mandraki Harbour, the New Market (try the IPIROS tavern) and the Old Town. Be aware that the shop rents in the Old Town are higher than outside and the prices are consequently hiked up.

This is the first Mitsis hotel in which we have stayed and, if this is the standard that is set within the chain, we would have no hesitation in visiting another. We would certainly recommend the Mitsis Grand.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bish0p2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaliniWellness, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Dear valued guest,
we wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at our hotel Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes. We find your comments really valuable and effective in order to constantly try for the best.
We extremely appreciate the fact that you have showed such an understanding for the leak problem which we tried to fix as soon as it was reported.
We are in the process to refurbish the rooms and general areas by the time summer season comes to an end so we won't have to disturb our guests during vacation time.

We are very sure that next time you'll visit our hotel you will see this for yourself.
We think of you as a frienf of the Mitsis Hotels family and we trully hope that you will be able to experience the quality and service of the hotels of Mitsis Hotels around Greece and of course have the pleasure to welcome you again in Rhodes and Grand Hotel.

Best regards,
Stella Tsantila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews