We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,963)
Filter reviews
2,963 results
Traveler rating
1,707
749
301
132
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,707
749
301
132
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger bar main restaurant inclusive bar crepes the mexican restaurant sea view pitta old town salt water indoor pool thomas cook reception staff guest relations food on offer a la carte restaurants great holiday fantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,846 - 1,851 of 2,963 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We'd just come from part-way through a spectacularly ordinary time in Turkey. Had escaped to Rhodes for a break into sanity. The Turks couldn't understand why we'd go to Greece (after scamming us big-time for a 'port tax') !!

I tell you this to put my comments about the Grand Hotel in perspective. Many Turkish people are depressing - they are in ingenuine scammers who are only friendly if they think you're going to open your wallet. So we came to Rhodes for some smiling Greek faces and better food.

This we achieved at the Grand Hotel. We didn't have a booking - just rolled up and although we had to wait a few hours for the room to be cleaned, it was worth it. The folk on reception were glorious - to see genuine smiles for the first time in weeks was relief plus.

Yep, the reception area is lovely. Yep, the rooms are substandard, the bedcover and shower curtain desperately need replacing. But after some very substandard accommodation in Turkey, this place was absolute heaven.

And the breakfasts! My goodness, after Turkish food boredom (you can only take so much bread, tomatoes, feta cheese and olives), this was complete heaven. We went mad at breakfast. Found the waiting staff wonderful - thoughtful, well trained, friendly and gosh, some of them even made jokes. I don't think a Turk knows what a joke is.

GOOD STUFF
* spacious room & bathroom (we had a lovely view over the front pool)
* three clean pools, good temperature
* excellent breakfasts, great staff
* friendly helpful staff, particularly the beautiful lady who cleaned our room each day - how wonderful to see women in the workforce (a rare event in Turkey) and they SMILE
* the fridge worked (although the shelves were broken)
* scrumptious shampoo (got a tad addicted to the shampoo because it smelled so good)
* lovely balcony with a brilliant view across the pool and ocean
* excellent hotel shop with a good range of English books (praise be, I needed one of those)
* great location, not noisy

NOT SO GOOD STUFF
* rooms needs updating
* perennial problem of nowhere to hang towels or washing (when you travel for 7 weeks straight, this is very important)
* needs new shower curtain - water goes everywhere
* basin not so clean but rest of the room was great

I'd stay here again easily - it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Ducktalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Our party of four arrived at the Grand Hotel Saturday 6th October and the hotel had overbooked. What a nightmare and atleast 3 other parties got turned away at the same time! The hotel arranged a taxi to an alternate hotel and said we could go back on Monday 8th October. Went back to the hotel on the 8th and the rooms were not ready we had to wait for our rooms to be cleaned - lots of hassle when your meant to be on holiday relaxing.
Hotel is not a 5*, entrance lobby is fantastic, however rooms were tatty and needed decorating, the fridge was old and was placed in the room uncovered. At mealtimes there were queues into the dining area and the restaurant was warm and stuffy. Gym facilities you had to pay for and was not included. Overall we was not happy with this hotel due to them overbooking and therefore would not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CC1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We arrived at the Grand and were somewhat relieved at what we saw, having seen some of the hotels on the way from the airport. The reception staff were polite but there was no one to take our luggage to our room.
The room was clean but the fridge door had been left open with a sodden towel laying out from it, to soak up the water. We had an in room safe but were suprised we had to pay an extra 25 euros a week for a key to use it.
Once the fridge was fixed the room was okay and cleaned regularly. We had a sea view which was superb but a little noisy at night.
The food queues for dinner and breakfast were a little annoying but with timing could be avoided. The food itself was of a good standard and we enjoyed eating at the Italian.
When the restaurant was full it did become very warm inside. We found the waiters and waitresses vefry friendly and helpful.
The outdoor swimming pools were suprisingly cold but were cleaned regularly. We had no problem getting a sunbed but as with all hotels there were the regulars who booked their beds before breakfast but didnt appear to the afternoon!!
The hotel was well located, only being a short walk from the harbour and old town. The beach opposite the hotel left a lot to be desired and would not have been worthy of a blue flag in Britain. The sand, if thats what you can call it was littered with cigarette butts and rubbish and the pebbles and shingle had drips of oil or tar over them, so the one time we did venture to the beach we ended up with black oily marks on our feet.

All in all we had a good time but considering this hotel is marketed as Elite I dont think it really lived up to that status.

Stayed: September 2007
7  Thank peeweeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor before booking this hotel we were hopeful that it would be what we expected - a well located, nice hotel... we weren't disappointed.

The hotel is certainly grand. On entering the lobby area I would certainly say it was of a 4* standard. The public areas were clean and very well presented. The hotel staff were keen to please and very pleasant to deal with.

We booked a garden view room through Travel Republic. What we were given was not a garden view room, rather a room overlooking a busy street with loud music at night. The room itself was okay but not what we had expected based on the lobby area... not 4* at all. The room looked as though it could do with a bit of TLC and the carpet did not look like it had been shampooed for years, though the rest of the room was clean and tidy. Rather disappointing... however don't let this put you off. Just be mindful that if you book a garden view room, make sure that's what you get!

My husband took this issue up with the reception staff and to be fair to them they were very pleasant but said that they could not move us until the weekend (we had arrived on the Wednesday) as there were no spare nice rooms. We therefore had three rather noisy nights in the first room BUT on the Saturday as promised, we were moved to a far superior room which overlooked the pool and gardens - exactly what we had booked. We were very pleased and the remainder of our stay in the hotel went without a hitch.

The hotel has three pools, two outdoor sea water pools and one indoor fresh water pool. The two outdoor pools are of a good size and situated in lovely grounds. There is one at the front and one at the back of the hotel. As someone else pointed out on the site, unfortunately you will have to rise early and pop a towel or two out in order to get the best sun bathing places around the pool. It's a bit of a pain but worth it if you're a real sun bather. The poolside restaurant serves reasonably priced nice meals up until dinner time and a range of drinks and plenty of bottled water. We were very impressed with the pool area in general.

The hotel also boasts an Italian and Chinese restaurant. As we only stayed B&B we can't comment on this but dinner times always seemed busy so I guess that's a good sign but get there early, later on there did seem to be a growing queue building to get seated.

I cannot fault the breakfast. We came down at various times and there was always plenty of food to choose from. There was a big variety of foods to choose from, such as a cooked breakfast, cheeses and meats, fruit, breads and pastries, pancakes, cakes, fruit juices, milk, chocolate milk, cereal and accompanying dried fruits and toppings and yogurt plus tea and coffee at the table. The staff were very friendly and prompt to serve. It was a very pleasant start to the day.

The hotel also has a very reasonably priced internet service but the connection did seem to be up then down and then up again but it's handy to have when it's working!

The hotel is directly opposite the beach with beautiful blue waters. I would mention that the beach is mostly pebbly with a steep shelve into the water so perhaps not very suitable for young children or those that are not confident in the water. We didn't use the beach but there were plenty of sun beds which I believed were charged locally.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is only about a 20 minute walk into the centre of Rhodes Town. You can either walk along the sea front which at times can be rather windy but not unpleasant or take the side streets for a quicker route to the centre. There is plenty to do in the town. You can explore the new town with all it's shops (lots of clothes shops) or take a wonder to the old town within the old city walls to see the more traditional Greek shops set amongst rambling cobbled streets. Be mindful of your footwear here as the cobbles can be uncomfortable if you have thin soled shoes. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from. The waiters will try and get you to come in and eat but if you don't want to then tell them so politely and they will leave you alone.

There is a good bus service from the centre of town. If you book through an agency that does not provide a rep, as we did, then you will have to find and book your own trips. There are a number of operators based in town but we found it was more fun to buy an AA guide to Rhodes before hand and, using the information in the book, make our own way to Lindos for a day trip. It was less costly and more fun than an organised trip. There are two main bus points in the town, one will take you one way round the island and the other the other way round. It's pretty straightforward. Have a go,it's fun!

The room issue at the start of our holiday certainly didn't cause us not to enjoy our holiday, the hotel is very nice. We found that the trick is to learn a little of the language before you go and try it out over there. The locals really appreciate it. And always be polite, it goes a long way to making a good impression.

I would recommend staying in Rhodes town and staying in this hotel, we had a wonderful break. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank LB1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

I travelled here with my partner , we had read that this hotel was a 5 star and we had never tayed in one before. Really we were unsure of what to expect. Upon arrival the hotel lobby was beautiful and the porter ran out for our bags before we had even got of the coach. We were told our room number and we went up expecting a good view and a nice room. The room was basic and the bath had cigarette burns in the bottom. (the shower urtains dont fit the shaower so the floor ends up soaking!!!) Dont get me wrong it was a nice room and a nice bathroom but not what we expected of a 5 star. The view from the room was poor we were tucked away in a corner above the shops so our view was there roof. The room nextdoor had a leaking pipe so there was a large puddleof water outside our balcony. (room 196)
The hotel itself was very nice and always clean, the food at breakfast and evening meal was basic but ok but you had to queue outside the resteraunt for 15 mins or so because it was too busy which again wasnt expected from a 5 star. However if you buy food from the pool bars It was lovley and Im missing it already!!!!!! lemon chicken mmm!!
It was more expensive to eat and drink in the hotel but better quality than the bars and restaraunts in the town.
The waiters and waitresses expect a tip from you so make sure you have change with you! Overall we enjoyed our stay but would not go there again. I have had better holidays in 3 stars :)

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank oggy1Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews