We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value - out of season”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good value - out of season”
Reviewed November 9, 2007

We were recommended by Greek friends that The Grand would be the best choice available at this time of the year. Having checked the reviews we naturally became concerned but the advice we were given was better than expected.

We stayed five nights, spanning the end of October and the beginning of November so saw the closing of the Italian and Chinese in-house restaurants (the poolside snack bar had already closed) For us this was not a problem as we had always intended eating out and most evenings drove into the atmospheric Old Town rather than experience the large communal in-house buffet.

We were given an excellent room on the fourth floor facing the sea. As many reviewers have said there can be problems.. Once the maintenance man had fixed the broken bedside lamp and explained how to re-set the air-conditioning we began to relax. Unfortunately the smell of fried food wafting up from the hotel restaurant below made it unpleasant to sit on our balcony after dark and we later discovered that the road noise was not masked by the air conditioning unit.

Staying as we did out of season, with temperatures in the high 70s, with an excellent B&B rate booked direct with the hotel, our Autumn break was good value and made an excellent base for exploring the island.

  • Liked — The varied choice at breakfast despite the synthetic fruit juices.
  • Disliked — The inability to enjoy a relaxing drink in the evening as most seats were taken by other guests awaiting late night pick ups by coach to the airport.
Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Joannaspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    585
    237
    118
    61
See reviews for
559
952
43
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We'd just come from part-way through a spectacularly ordinary time in Turkey. Had escaped to Rhodes for a break into sanity. The Turks couldn't understand why we'd go to Greece (after scamming us big-time for a 'port tax') !!

I tell you this to put my comments about the Grand Hotel in perspective. Many Turkish people are depressing - they are in ingenuine scammers who are only friendly if they think you're going to open your wallet. So we came to Rhodes for some smiling Greek faces and better food.

This we achieved at the Grand Hotel. We didn't have a booking - just rolled up and although we had to wait a few hours for the room to be cleaned, it was worth it. The folk on reception were glorious - to see genuine smiles for the first time in weeks was relief plus.

Yep, the reception area is lovely. Yep, the rooms are substandard, the bedcover and shower curtain desperately need replacing. But after some very substandard accommodation in Turkey, this place was absolute heaven.

And the breakfasts! My goodness, after Turkish food boredom (you can only take so much bread, tomatoes, feta cheese and olives), this was complete heaven. We went mad at breakfast. Found the waiting staff wonderful - thoughtful, well trained, friendly and gosh, some of them even made jokes. I don't think a Turk knows what a joke is.

GOOD STUFF
* spacious room & bathroom (we had a lovely view over the front pool)
* three clean pools, good temperature
* excellent breakfasts, great staff
* friendly helpful staff, particularly the beautiful lady who cleaned our room each day - how wonderful to see women in the workforce (a rare event in Turkey) and they SMILE
* the fridge worked (although the shelves were broken)
* scrumptious shampoo (got a tad addicted to the shampoo because it smelled so good)
* lovely balcony with a brilliant view across the pool and ocean
* excellent hotel shop with a good range of English books (praise be, I needed one of those)
* great location, not noisy

NOT SO GOOD STUFF
* rooms needs updating
* perennial problem of nowhere to hang towels or washing (when you travel for 7 weeks straight, this is very important)
* needs new shower curtain - water goes everywhere
* basin not so clean but rest of the room was great

I'd stay here again easily - it was worth every penny.

  • Liked — Breakfast, the pools, location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Rooms need an update
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ducktalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Our party of four arrived at the Grand Hotel Saturday 6th October and the hotel had overbooked. What a nightmare and atleast 3 other parties got turned away at the same time! The hotel arranged a taxi to an alternate hotel and said we could go back on Monday 8th October. Went back to the hotel on the 8th and the rooms were not ready we had to wait for our rooms to be cleaned - lots of hassle when your meant to be on holiday relaxing.
Hotel is not a 5*, entrance lobby is fantastic, however rooms were tatty and needed decorating, the fridge was old and was placed in the room uncovered. At mealtimes there were queues into the dining area and the restaurant was warm and stuffy. Gym facilities you had to pay for and was not included. Overall we was not happy with this hotel due to them overbooking and therefore would not recommend.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — hotel overbooked
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CC1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We arrived at the Grand and were somewhat relieved at what we saw, having seen some of the hotels on the way from the airport. The reception staff were polite but there was no one to take our luggage to our room.
The room was clean but the fridge door had been left open with a sodden towel laying out from it, to soak up the water. We had an in room safe but were suprised we had to pay an extra 25 euros a week for a key to use it.
Once the fridge was fixed the room was okay and cleaned regularly. We had a sea view which was superb but a little noisy at night.
The food queues for dinner and breakfast were a little annoying but with timing could be avoided. The food itself was of a good standard and we enjoyed eating at the Italian.
When the restaurant was full it did become very warm inside. We found the waiters and waitresses vefry friendly and helpful.
The outdoor swimming pools were suprisingly cold but were cleaned regularly. We had no problem getting a sunbed but as with all hotels there were the regulars who booked their beds before breakfast but didnt appear to the afternoon!!
The hotel was well located, only being a short walk from the harbour and old town. The beach opposite the hotel left a lot to be desired and would not have been worthy of a blue flag in Britain. The sand, if thats what you can call it was littered with cigarette butts and rubbish and the pebbles and shingle had drips of oil or tar over them, so the one time we did venture to the beach we ended up with black oily marks on our feet.

All in all we had a good time but considering this hotel is marketed as Elite I dont think it really lived up to that status.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank peeweeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor before booking this hotel we were hopeful that it would be what we expected - a well located, nice hotel... we weren't disappointed.

The hotel is certainly grand. On entering the lobby area I would certainly say it was of a 4* standard. The public areas were clean and very well presented. The hotel staff were keen to please and very pleasant to deal with.

We booked a garden view room through Travel Republic. What we were given was not a garden view room, rather a room overlooking a busy street with loud music at night. The room itself was okay but not what we had expected based on the lobby area... not 4* at all. The room looked as though it could do with a bit of TLC and the carpet did not look like it had been shampooed for years, though the rest of the room was clean and tidy. Rather disappointing... however don't let this put you off. Just be mindful that if you book a garden view room, make sure that's what you get!

My husband took this issue up with the reception staff and to be fair to them they were very pleasant but said that they could not move us until the weekend (we had arrived on the Wednesday) as there were no spare nice rooms. We therefore had three rather noisy nights in the first room BUT on the Saturday as promised, we were moved to a far superior room which overlooked the pool and gardens - exactly what we had booked. We were very pleased and the remainder of our stay in the hotel went without a hitch.

The hotel has three pools, two outdoor sea water pools and one indoor fresh water pool. The two outdoor pools are of a good size and situated in lovely grounds. There is one at the front and one at the back of the hotel. As someone else pointed out on the site, unfortunately you will have to rise early and pop a towel or two out in order to get the best sun bathing places around the pool. It's a bit of a pain but worth it if you're a real sun bather. The poolside restaurant serves reasonably priced nice meals up until dinner time and a range of drinks and plenty of bottled water. We were very impressed with the pool area in general.

The hotel also boasts an Italian and Chinese restaurant. As we only stayed B&B we can't comment on this but dinner times always seemed busy so I guess that's a good sign but get there early, later on there did seem to be a growing queue building to get seated.

I cannot fault the breakfast. We came down at various times and there was always plenty of food to choose from. There was a big variety of foods to choose from, such as a cooked breakfast, cheeses and meats, fruit, breads and pastries, pancakes, cakes, fruit juices, milk, chocolate milk, cereal and accompanying dried fruits and toppings and yogurt plus tea and coffee at the table. The staff were very friendly and prompt to serve. It was a very pleasant start to the day.

The hotel also has a very reasonably priced internet service but the connection did seem to be up then down and then up again but it's handy to have when it's working!

The hotel is directly opposite the beach with beautiful blue waters. I would mention that the beach is mostly pebbly with a steep shelve into the water so perhaps not very suitable for young children or those that are not confident in the water. We didn't use the beach but there were plenty of sun beds which I believed were charged locally.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is only about a 20 minute walk into the centre of Rhodes Town. You can either walk along the sea front which at times can be rather windy but not unpleasant or take the side streets for a quicker route to the centre. There is plenty to do in the town. You can explore the new town with all it's shops (lots of clothes shops) or take a wonder to the old town within the old city walls to see the more traditional Greek shops set amongst rambling cobbled streets. Be mindful of your footwear here as the cobbles can be uncomfortable if you have thin soled shoes. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from. The waiters will try and get you to come in and eat but if you don't want to then tell them so politely and they will leave you alone.

There is a good bus service from the centre of town. If you book through an agency that does not provide a rep, as we did, then you will have to find and book your own trips. There are a number of operators based in town but we found it was more fun to buy an AA guide to Rhodes before hand and, using the information in the book, make our own way to Lindos for a day trip. It was less costly and more fun than an organised trip. There are two main bus points in the town, one will take you one way round the island and the other the other way round. It's pretty straightforward. Have a go,it's fun!

The room issue at the start of our holiday certainly didn't cause us not to enjoy our holiday, the hotel is very nice. We found that the trick is to learn a little of the language before you go and try it out over there. The locals really appreciate it. And always be polite, it goes a long way to making a good impression.

I would recommend staying in Rhodes town and staying in this hotel, we had a wonderful break. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Location and bedroom (the 2nd room)
  • Disliked — The 1st bedroom we had
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank LynAndAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

I travelled here with my partner , we had read that this hotel was a 5 star and we had never tayed in one before. Really we were unsure of what to expect. Upon arrival the hotel lobby was beautiful and the porter ran out for our bags before we had even got of the coach. We were told our room number and we went up expecting a good view and a nice room. The room was basic and the bath had cigarette burns in the bottom. (the shower urtains dont fit the shaower so the floor ends up soaking!!!) Dont get me wrong it was a nice room and a nice bathroom but not what we expected of a 5 star. The view from the room was poor we were tucked away in a corner above the shops so our view was there roof. The room nextdoor had a leaking pipe so there was a large puddleof water outside our balcony. (room 196)
The hotel itself was very nice and always clean, the food at breakfast and evening meal was basic but ok but you had to queue outside the resteraunt for 15 mins or so because it was too busy which again wasnt expected from a 5 star. However if you buy food from the pool bars It was lovley and Im missing it already!!!!!! lemon chicken mmm!!
It was more expensive to eat and drink in the hotel but better quality than the bars and restaraunts in the town.
The waiters and waitresses expect a tip from you so make sure you have change with you! Overall we enjoyed our stay but would not go there again. I have had better holidays in 3 stars :)

  • Liked — Bar food
  • Disliked — our view
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oggy1Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We have just returned from 2weeks in Rhodes where we also got married.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, 2mins to bar street and about 15mins walk to old town (taxi cost 4 euro)
The Hotel itself is not a 5*, the hotel has a very grand entrance. If you have booked a sea view room (which i would 100% recommend)you will use the lifts that have graffitti all over them. The carpeted rooms are very big with good size bathrooms that have a bath and shower. The balcony is also a good size. everything was fine with our rooms air con, fridge etc.
The restaurant was a different story, on the 1st night we went down to dinner there was only a small que to enter the dining hall but inside it was heaving, we ordered water and wine before we went to get our starters, but they didnt bring this to us until we had finished our main courses!!! The staff that bring you to your seats really are unhelpful. We where also turned away because my hubby was wearing short trousers, but most of the gents are wearing jeans and trainers!!!!
The only good this about the Half board was the chinese, i cannot fault the food or the staff.
Again early rise if you want a sunbed, we found that people where putting there towels down early but not using them until late afternoon!!
Rhodes Town itself is fantastic especially the old town which we visited most nights.
We also got married in Rhodes town hall which was really good and so relaxed.
If you end up eating out most nights like we did i can recommend Antique and salinis which are on the way to the old town and also Bombay (indian) which is in the old town itself.
I would stay at the hotel again but only if i got a cheap deal as i would never use the restaurant again.

  • Liked — Sea vies
  • Disliked — Half Board
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarabellg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing