We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but not 5 star”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but not 5 star”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Having read the mixed reviews we had our doubts on staying at the hotel (23 - 30 April 2011) but overall the hotel was nice as was our room. The food was very very good and we had lunch on our last day having missed the evening meal due to our late arrival times. Again the food was very good. We had a lovely time using the pool at the front of the hotel whilst serious sun worshipers used the main pool area.
The hotel was very impressive at the reception area as well as the restaraunts but this does not qualify for a 5 star rating. A few guests on our Thomas Cook holiday package did have problems booking in so maybe we were just lucky. I did find it annoying having to pay 35 Euros for 1 weeks use of the room safe, surely a 5 star rated hotel should supply this as a matter of security to their guests needs. Also the hire of towels for bathing is 15 Euros each for your stay but this is refundable when you return the towels.
If you are booked on a package holiday and you know that you will miss meals on arrival or departure, be sure to get a card request from the reception for missed meals and use it for a lunch on a date that suits you.
Mineral water in the hotel is 2.50 euros for a litre bottle and you can purchase 6 litre bottles around the corner for the same price. A fridge is in your room so drink and food can be stored in it for no cost.
A 10 minute stroll along the seafront will take you into the old town and harbour area and most locals can speak English.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishDragoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    632
    251
    123
    64
See reviews for
657
1,041
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel for Easter 2011. We found it to be clean, the food very good and the staff pleasant and helpful. The television in my room was not working properly, but after a call to Reception it was removed and replaced, all in about 10 minutes. Our rooms were pleasant, overlooking the gardens. We didn't travel on a "Package" deal,but travelled independantly. This may have made a difference. People on "All inclusive" did have to use a different bar, but that was to make things easier for the hotel for drinks etc. Idon't think it would be a good choise for "All inclusive" as it is not really geared for this. It is really somewhere for adults to use as a base for exploring the town and the island.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zenda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

we had the misfortune to stay at this alleged 5 star hotel and would only rate it 3 star at the most.
the food in the buffet restaurant was almost always cold. even when they had just refilled trays. on one ocassion the chicken i took was not cooked through. we ended up eating salads all the time which is not very exciting.
our room although big was very tatty half the lights did not work. one of the balcony chairs was broken with a very rusty air con unit stuck right in the way. the maids did not replace empty toilet roll which was left to us to do.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janandmartinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We were offered this hotel as our 5 star A/I hotel was delayed in open. Within an hour of being in this hotel, I phoned back to the UK to demand to be moved or flown back to the UK! The hotel claims to be a 5 star hotel, but I would say it scrapes by with 3 stars.
The staff were generally unhelpful, confusioned over what drinks we could have & staff tended to resent giving free drinks & we were made to feel like we were lower class guests. The hotel has two bars. We were turned away from one bar and told it was for half board guests only!! The only bar we could use was tiny & had limited drinks available. Lunch consisted of a tray of cheese or ham rolls and slices of pizza or hot dogs served in the bar, although the food did run out quickly.
The gym was tiny & we had to pay 6 euros to use it, The hotel has two salt water pools & 1 indoor pool which is not heated. There are very few sun loungers & the entertainment was awful. A old piano player reading from a lap top & couldn't sing!!
Evening meal was in the main restaurant, but if you got in late there was very little food left. We saw the saff plating up food for themselves each night even when the guest were still coming in and trying to get a meal. As a result of this terrible stay letters of complaint are on the way to travel agent & the Mistis group.
The hotel is however in a good location for exploring but thats about as good as it gets.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank dee238_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

You are made to feel unwelcome and treated like second class citizens on the all inclusive package at this hotel. There is a lovely piano bar at the front of the hotel which looks out onto the pool and the sea. However this is only a cash bar, the all inclusive bar is a 10 foot by 10 foot white cube room which would feel more at home as a mortuary, at the back of the hotel which is a
cafe by day and where the spirits
are hugely watered down. The food is strictly average, the corridors stank of paint as they were being repainted daily. It is supposed to be 5 star, it is more like 3 star.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mani176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Just booked for a week in May 2011, following a delightful week last September. Excellent location, not flawless by any means but certainly comfortable and very clean. Excellent choice in main dining buffet, very busy but never a problem. Some extremely rude and typically ignorant guests, treated staff in a shocking manner. I found all members of staff extremely hard working and absolutely lovely if you take the time to observe basic manners and take an interest in them and their conversation. Looking forward to returning to this fabulously eccentric hotel and hope to see familiar faces from last year. A joy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaliniWellness, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear valued repeating guest,
thank you for submitting your review-comment at Trip Advisor for our hotel Mitsis Grand Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in beautiful Rhodes and offer you the best holiday experience!

Have a lovely weekend.
On behalf of the Management.

Stella Tsantia- Internet Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

04/03/2011
after my visit i sent this massege to the owners and till now they did not care to replay me !!!!!!!!!
so i decieded to put it here so every one can see it .

25-02-2011



Dear sir the owner of the grand hotel in rhodse – mitsis hotels

My name Is rafiq I'm from Nazareth – Israel

I think that my duty to tell you how I feel at my visit to your hotel this week.

I was at your hotel this week for five days I would like to tell you about my imprison since the first night I can tell you that you have nice stuff and clean hotel .

I was so disappointed of manny things like the rooms because I change the room twice because of the beds it is very bad and hard you had to change it since a long time , after I returned home I had to go to the doctor because I had a pain in my back , also the mini bar it's broken and there is nothing in it , the bathroom if you use the wc it's not accepted to be without ventilator to take out the bad smell , also the hair dryer is broken there is no head cover from water for the lady , at the room usually there is letter papers and pen and a sheet of paper to write your opinion and to give it at the reception , there is many things is missing as you can see and Furniture is so old , one chair is broken the armchair is too old and there is just one in the room , the elevator is noisy and too slowly , the breakfast and the dinner is too basic for five star hotel disappointing .

At the hotel there is nothing to do I know it's winter but if you open you must do something to the gests because we did not came just to eat and sleep you should have at least one show or piano music corner a tv at the lobby any thing to kill the time because you know that the town is closed at this time of the year but you are open , the covered pool you have it's closed too !!!!!!!!! really there is nothing to do so why you are opened !!!!!!!.

Unfortunately I'm so disappointed of this trip at your mittsis hotels I'm feel like someone robbed me , I thought to come and spend a good time with my wife after a long time at work but you just let me down . I do not think that I will come again to one of your hotels again . I must tell you that I visited a lot of hotels five stars it's not my first time .

I can give you hardly 3 stars for your hotel .





Your sincerely .



Abo hanna rafiq



rafiqabu9@hotmail.com

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rafiqabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,727 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing