We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart hotel but the resort's not great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Rhodes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Ranked #11 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Smart hotel but the resort's not great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a week before moving onto Pefkos for a second week. We took a taxi from the airport at a cost of 14 Eu and was in the hotel and by the pool within an hour of landing. We were on the 3rd floor in a double sea-view room. There are good thick carpets in the hallways so there was no noise from the other guests. The room was first class and the bed enormous. The bathroom was functional but not as attractive as the main room. Take some coat hangers - we found we didn't have enough. The free tea and coffee in the rooms is useful and the free digital safe saves a few Euros.

The hotel is built up the hillside so the floors do not follow the usual pattern. The pool areas are all wonderful and guests are on the whole considerate in not reserving the sunbeds. We stayed half board and the buffet was good with a lot of choice. Pork featured very regularly. The Oriental evening was our favourite. The breakfasts offered good choice but waiting for eggs to be fried to order seems a bit unnecessary. We chose to sit on the outside terrace for both breakfast and dinner but service was inconsistent. I'd prefer to get my own coffee and juice rather than keep trying to catch a waiter's eye to be served. Time seemed to be wasted in setting additional places for guests (if there are 4 people then why not sit at a table set for 4 rather than chose one set for 2 and then demand additional settings?), and pouring coffee and juice for guests rather than allowing them to pour their own. Some guests demanded high standards of service not recognising that this impacts on the others who are kept waiting. The clearing of plates between courses was equally inconsistent.

Outside the hotel there's a main road and the hotel's proximity to Rhodes Town meant that it was very busy. To get to the private beach, there's an underpass which is helpful. Sunbeds on the beach were well ordered with towels and mattresses. Because of the lovely gardens and pools between the road and the hotel, the traffic noise doesn't carry and doesn't cause any problems.

Either side of the hotel there are a few 'supermarkets', bars and restaurants. Despite being there in August, it all felt very quiet and business is clearly suffering this year. Our favourite bar/cafe is the IDEAL - about 100m right from the main gate. It was well priced and the proprieters were very friendly and prepared to cook anything they had the ingredients for.

Because of its position, Ixia gets a good breeze from the sea and the heat doesn't seem overpowering.

If staying here you simply must go to Rhodes Town. Its 7 Eu in a taxi and is very tourist friendly. The old town is a warren or trinket shops, cafes and bars and the harbours are lovely.

Lastly, despite earlier comments about service in the restaurant, I should say that staff at this hotel were extremely friendly, took pride in their work and did all they could to make sure guests had a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choosewisely_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2009
The team of our hotel would like to thank you for choosing us as part of your holidays. We appreciate your opinion and find it useful in our constant process of improvement.

We regret not sharing on the spot your need of extra coat hangers. As you have already mentioned, “the hotel is built up the hillside so the floors do not follow the usual patters”, which means that not all our rooms/bathrooms have the same appearance or shape. We would have been pleased to change the room for you in order to have an Imperial stay.
We assure you at your next stay in Imperial Rhodes we will do our best to provide you with a more consistent service than you had this time.

Our team is looking forward welcoming you in Rhodes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    505
    157
    53
    32
See reviews for
486
691
31
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed here for a week in August, bed and breakfast (as I hate hotel buffets). The sea view room (room 1279) was great - nice bathroom, wonderful balcony with a great view of the pools and sea. The three swimming pools were lovely, clean and great amenities. Breakfast was good - massive choice of good quality food. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurants were good (although slightly expensive). There is a selection of bars and restaurants (of varying quality) a 5 minute walk down the road. On the whole it is definitely a 5 star hotel - very luxurious and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank np2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialRhodes, Rooms Division Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
We would like to thank you for taking the time to put in your review.
We would really appreciate your feedback as to which items you thought were slightly inexpensive and compared to what.
It would help us improve even better our services as we consider our absolute sucess to have the highest level of satisfaction from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Great for families who wish to swim and eat buffet each night: I do not believe this is the hotel if you are after a romantic or peaceful get away! The web site says 5 star but just scraping through to meet the requirement. We upgraded to deluxe sea view when booking through a luxury holiday booking site (Sovereign) and the added extras we had to ask for or they were not delivered.
The web page said we would have wi fi in our room, and it was provided for by an outside source and did not work, they simply came up with excuses! They also said they provide pay per view prime selection entertainment system, basically there was just BBC and CNN news, again we did not miss the TV just another item they said they had when in fact they did not. The restaurant service was not 5 star, staff could not tell what food was what when serving and they actually seemed stressed: After 2 disastrous meals (service only not the food) we ate outside the hotel even though we paid to go half board! Our mini bar was checked early in the morning, so if we had a sleep in (as you do on holiday) they would not come back and refill (annoying when we had paid for a complimentary refill). The room had a comfortable bed and pillow selection. It also had kettle which turned out to leak, it blew our safety switch twice. After the second time I was advised the kettle would be replaced, only to be told that maintenance examined it and said it was not faulty. I could not believe a 5 star hotel could not replace a small kettle over the possible safety of the client. The pool area was nice and the bar had a good selection of drinks.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell-bell1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2009
Thank you for choosing our hotel as part of your holidays in Rhodes. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experience and impressions on Trip Advisor. Your honest and constructive comments regarding the palette of services we provide in our hotel will be seriously considered and used as tools in our constant process of improvement.

We regret that you preferred dining outside the premises instead of relishing our culinary specialties. We believe that if you would have asked our restaurant's representatives or any of the cooks they would definitely be pleased to advice you.

The team of our hotel would be honored to welcome you again in Rhodes and we hope to assist you better at your next stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We travelled with our 3 chilren and had a super time. The hotel is beautiful. The staff very Accommodating . .The pool & beach are perfect. The hotel area is spotless and most of the island too.Our holiday flew by

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coreen611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialRhodes, Rooms Division Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
We kindly thank you for your review and hope we will see you again sometime in the furure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Imperial rhodes is an excellent hotel at the municipality of ixia at rhodes,greece.It is a huge hotel with 3 outdoor pools and 1 indoor pool.It has a gym, a sauna,a shopping arena with lots of shops,a "salon de coiffure",a game room,squash, a court of tennis and basketball.It has also 2 nice restaurants and a big bar with a pianist.Finally it has great kitchen,conference rooms and an internet corner.The beach is very organised but unfortunately the sea isn't very good because the hotel is located on the west part of the island(the best beaches are on the south part of it).It distances 5 minutes by car from the city of rhodes.Conclusing,i would reccomend you this hotel for a nice stay with your family or with your friends and in my opinion,it's the best hotel in the island.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank costas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialRhodes, Rooms Division Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
We really appreciate you taking the time to put it your review.

Your kind words really encourage us to continue our work.

We hope to see you again sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

In july I spent one week in this beautiful hotel. Travelling a lot throughout the world I can honestly say that I never experienced this kind of hospitality before. The staff is very friendly and they are very committed to the wellbeing of the guests.
The hotel also has a beautiful outside area with a well maintained garden en several swimming pools, beautiful outside furniture like trendy beach chairs and trendy lounge seats. You will find nice areas/corners everywhere in the garden to relax and enjoy your privacy. You can also enjoy the sun at the beach, where you find a private beach with comfortable beach chairs. The rooms are large and comfortable and the ones with seaview have beautiful views. The beds are excellent. What more can I say?
The breakfast is very good and has lots of variety.
But again: the greatest asset of this hotel is the staff. They made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DfromAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialRhodes, Rooms Division Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
We thank you for taking the time to put in your review and hope to see you sometime in the future.

Many greetings from sunny Rhodes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Hilton on Rhodes was not really living up to the Hilton standard but was anyway a great place to stay. The staff made sure our stay did not lack anything. The beach was quiet (if you prefer sandy beaches... don't go here, it's all stones!). The rooms were spacious, clean - though could do with some refurbishment. The location is not really central but the bus stop is right in front of the hotel + it's nice to rent a quad and drive around yourself. Breakfast was so so (except for the fresh juices). But keeping in mind that you can get some great discount rates, it's good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TylerW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#3 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
3.9 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Rhodes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Rhodes Resort

Property: Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Address: Ialyssos Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Rhodes Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the island of Rhodes, only a few kilometres from the historic town of Rhodes, Sheraton Rhodes Resort offering global travelers, families and honeymooners alike the best of resort amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Rhodes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rhodes Hotel Ixia
Hotel Imperial Rhodes
Sheraton Rhodes Resort Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing