We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Right Spot”
Review of Spot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spot Hotel
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Right Spot”
Reviewed April 17, 2010

The Spot hotel is a real little gem. We booked the Spot on the internet going on the pictures and great recommendations from other tripadvisor reviews. Lee the owner was extremely informative in answering the many emails inquiries i sent. When we arrived it was everything we had hoped for, the rooms were spacious and clean with opening windows looking down a cobble stone ally to the square. The ideal location puts all there is to do and see at your feet, but not in the noisy busy square areas, very quiet at night. The room also has airconditioning, clean private bathroom, a refrigerator and free WiFi.
Our stay has been outstanding and very comfortable. Lee was extremely friendly and helpful, pointing out the best sights and eating places. He would often wander down to the square with me in the early morning for a chat and discussing life in general. The spot is great palace and i highly recommend it to travellers wishing to stay in the old town in rhodes. It really is "the spot"

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    46
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
87
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My partner and I arrived in Rhodes for a 3 night stay, to be honest I found the 3 hour ferry trip from Kos to Rhodes more enjoyable than staying in the Spot Hotel. We booked a a few days in Rhodes as part of our whole 2 week Greece trip.

The owner was pleasant enough I suppose, not as friendly as any of the other Greeks we have met in our trips to Greece, but you can't have everything I suppose. The room was a reasonable size, the decor was a bit tacky, even by my standards. The breakfast was not that good, very limited food, the breakfast eating area was very hot, and very quiet, there were a couple of other couples there and we all felt awkward speaking, so talking was down to a minimum.

There was no bar in the hotel, so after an evening out, we ended our evening outside the room with a glass of wine and a beer on a balcony area and spoke to each other quietly as it felt awkward even attempting to speak in case we disturbed anyone else staying there.

On a particular evening out on the balcony the owners cat appeared and kept us company for a while. We returned to our room and the next morning the owner commented that we had let the cat in, which he prefers to be kept outside at night. As I was the one that closed the door and made sure the cat was outside, I was surprised to be 'told off', but not wanting to create a situation kept quite and just apologised. From that point on it felt very awkward staying in the hotel, and most certainly would never, never, never return to the Spot Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

My girlfriend and I just returned from Rhodes last week. We stayed at the Spot and had a great experience. The place itself is quite nice - comfortable atmosphere, clean, tastefully decorated with beautiful craftsman furnishings, great location, and a decent breakfast in the morning, Lee, the owner, was very pleasant and accomodating, providing us with great recommendations for restaurants, music, and places to see. He also faciltated an affordable car rental with a car that was delivered pretty much to the doorstep. I strongly recommend the Spot for travellers that seek an authentic taste of the Old City..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed at the Spot during our recent trip to Greece. The location is in Old Town, and within walking distance to pretty much all of the major tourist attractions. It was very neat to stay within the city walls. The rooms are nicely decorated (the furniture is amazing), and comfortable. The bathrooms are functional (although I wish there was a towel rack). Lee, the proprietor, is very helpful and friendly. He gave us good suggestions for restaurants, a wine store, and travel arrangements. I think that this hotel is priced very well for what you get, and would definitely recommend it to anyone heading to Rhodes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Even if it’s more than 8000 km from your house, you will still feel at home at the SPOT Hotel. That's the feeling we had when we walk through the door of this very, very nice Hotel. The host, Lee, and his wife, are very warm and friendly people. Lee’s sense of humour will probably push you to take a drink with him in his living room. What about the hotel? We stayed more than 8 days and we are ready to go back! The very comfortable beds invite you for a nap after lunch. What is more surprising is that the SPOT Hotel is located at exactly 1 minute's walk from the action but, once you are in the hotel, you find yourself on an "island of tranquility". I highly recommend that hotel. If you go there and you are from Montreal, Lee would be happy to have a piece of Schwartz’s smoked meat!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

As many other reviewers have stated, the Spot Hotel is centrally located within the Old Town walls. Even though we got up early every morning to take photos and missed breakfast, Lee was great to talk to each day when we returned. He gave us some great recommendations for restaurants. We paid 90 euro per night for the last days of Sept and 70 euro for the first days in October. A great value for the service and location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We chose Spot Hotel through Trip Advisor reviews. Spot Hotel's central location within the Old Town walls made it an excellent choice. Lee was the perfect host making us most welcome the moment we arrived. We had two rooms at the front of the hotel which were both a good size (one larger than the other), comfortable, quiet, clean and well priced. The room decore added to the character of the building. The shower was good but a little tight probably due to the limitations of the older building design. Good internet access. The breakfast was simple but good, being in the basic Greek style that would satisfy anyone with normal dietary requirements.

The historic old town is an amazing place to explore, and we concentrated much of our time within the town walls. Lee's restaurant recommendations were spot on. We particularly enjoyed Myrovolies due its variation in Greek cuisine, and the great table on the balcony .

The Island of Rhodes can easily be circumnavigated in a single day by car, being cheaper and more flexible than various tour options. We spent over two hours at Lindos, and wandered around several other towns / ruins in that day. A Fiat Panda cost 35.00 Euro for the day's hire and about 10.00 Euro for fuel.

Would definitely return to the Spot Hotel on a trip back to Rhodes. Our stay was an absolute pleasure

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cava d'Oro Hotel
Cava d'Oro Hotel
#79 of 126 in Rhodes Town
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#49 of 126 in Rhodes Town
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#29 of 126 in Rhodes Town
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
0.1 mi away
Niki's Hotel
Niki's Hotel
#78 of 126 in Rhodes Town
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Spot Hotel

Property: Spot Hotel
Address: 21 Perikleous, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Rhodes, just 100 metres from the scenic Old Town, Spot Hotel features a furnished roof garden with views over the town. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free WiFi. The rooms of Spot are fitted with antique-style furnishings and patchwork-style bedspreads. Each is equipped with a fridge and a safe. The private bathroom is stocked with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Several restaurants, bars and shops are within a short walk from the property. A sandy beach is accessible within proximity. Rhodes Port and a bus station are a 10-minute walk away, while Rhodes International Airport is 16 km away. Ammoudes Village and its beach are at a distance of 11 km. Car rental services can be provided and free parking can be found nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spot Hotel Rhodes Town
Spot Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing