We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the great reviews--this place is wonderful!”
Review of Spot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spot Hotel
Severna Park
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Believe the great reviews--this place is wonderful!”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

There's not a lot to add to all the detailed reviews below, except that our family found them to be true. My husband and I were traveling with our young adult daughter and had a double room attached to a single, each with its own door and bathroom, and each beautifully decorated and perfectly comfortable and "spot"lessly clean. We wanted to stay somewhere with personality in the Old Town and couldn't have been happier with the convenient location, charm of the rooms and common spaces, and warmth of the hosts. We enjoyed getting to know Lee, the proprietor, and some of the other guests, although the place allows plenty of privacy for those who prefer to travel anonymously. Lee also turned out to be a guitarist/composer and did some impromptu jamming (and recording!) with my fiddler daughter--an unexpected treat, as was the occasional low-key strumming guests were treated to at breakfast. Yet another surprise was my daughter's discovery that the roof garden was a great place for yoga early in the morning. Lee also helped us find local services and restaurants a bit off the beaten tourist path. All in all, unless you're a fan of the sterile but five-star hotel scene or have physical limitations that make that kind of thing necessary, I can't imagine a more memorable and delightful place to stay in Rhodes City.

Room Tip: Ask about the adjoining single if you're a couple travelling with a child
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthTraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    46
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
87
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Recently spent two weeks at Lindos Mare (see other review) and while there decided to have an overnight stay in Rhodes Old Town. Having read previous reviews about the Spot Hotel we had booked our night in advance from England with no problems. Lee and his wife keep a lovely characterful little hotel in a great location just up a street off one of the squares.
The room, although quite small, was furnished perfectly in keeping with the medieval history of Rhodes Old Town and was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There is a lovely courtyard at the back and a roof terrace. Lee was very friendly and helpful in advising us the best places to eat and drink. He told us when we asked him that the name SPOT came from his Mother - Sylvia's Place Old Town!! which we thought was a real tribute to her.
Breakfast was good with breads, cereals etc. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This hotel makes you feel like you're at home...Everything was super good, amazing location in the old town in the middle of everything, clean neat room, very good breakfast and Lee the owner was so friendly and helpful and recommended for us good restaurants where we can enjoy great food without hassle. The marina is so close if you're coming from or going to another city by ship. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELZOHEIRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRY, KASOS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband, daughter and I spent a few days in RHODES in April this year. We wanted to stay in the old town and booked a room at the ' SPOT HOTEL'. We had heard it was very clean and that the owners were very friendly from friends of ours who had stayed there before.
Not only was the hotel SPOTless clean, but the furnishings were beautiful and the whole place was warm and welcoming and beautifully decorated with a medieval theme. As far as the owner goes he went out of his way to be helpfull , was very friendly and spoke English perfectly .
The SPOT hotel is well situated in the old town with easy access to everything we wanted to see.
We will visit them again and we recommend it to anyone who wishes to visit Rhodes and stay in the old town.
POLY SPANOGIANNI

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polyspano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2011

As mentioned by others, the owners are amazing. Lovely, warm, full of knowledge about Rhodes and eager to share it. I cannot say enough good things about them.

The hotel itself is filled with artwork and furniture from Greece that really makes the hotel feel like home. I would suggest asking Lee about the decor - there is a story behind most of the pieces. The artwork alone is worth the stay.

The rooms are lovely. The air conditioner a blessing on hot summer days. But even without the AC our room got a nice breeze.The bathrooms are the same size as most of the bathrooms in the old town - perfectly adequate for a cool shower.

The hotel is located near one of the main squares but is far enough removed that we were not kept awake by the noise of the old town.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aikaterine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The Spot is in the heart of the old city, a couple of minutes walk from the ferry harbour, the wall, and the main tourist areas, but extremely quiet for that. The décor is fabulous, full to the rafters with 19th century Greek art and great carved solid wood furniture.
Lee and his wife are great hosts. One or two of the reviews on here state they didn't find the staff warm...I think that's more a case of the owners being respectful of people. They will talk to you quite happily if you talk to them, otherwise, they'll leave you alone to enjoy your stay.
For a small hotel at these prices in the heart of the old city, the standards are very high and decorated wonderfully. The hosts are responsive and extremely helpful. The room (we had a double) was similarly well decorated and clean, with a fridge supplied.
I would recommend the Spot to anyone who prefers something a bit more interesting than a bland beige box to stay in.

Room Tip: The single rooms have two beds in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattarmitage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2011

clean,cozy,family managed hotel & the owner is always happy to help,
we defently will come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rola_adnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#36 of 126 in Rhodes Town
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#25 of 126 in Rhodes Town
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#53 of 126 in Rhodes Town
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
#34 of 126 in Rhodes Town
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spot Hotel

Property: Spot Hotel
Address: 21 Perikleous, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Rhodes, just 100 metres from the scenic Old Town, Spot Hotel features a furnished roof garden with views over the town. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free WiFi. The rooms of Spot are fitted with antique-style furnishings and patchwork-style bedspreads. Each is equipped with a fridge and a safe. The private bathroom is stocked with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Several restaurants, bars and shops are within a short walk from the property. A sandy beach is accessible within proximity. Rhodes Port and a bus station are a 10-minute walk away, while Rhodes International Airport is 16 km away. Ammoudes Village and its beach are at a distance of 11 km. Car rental services can be provided and free parking can be found nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Spot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spot Hotel Rhodes Town
Spot Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing