We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel, seems lucky we did not meet the male owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reading,
Level Contributor
173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel, seems lucky we did not meet the male owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Looked at earlier reviews before starting to write this one and was shocked by some of the damning reviews. We did not encounter the male owner who seems to be the main culprit in adverse comments, did not get charged the exorbitant prices quoted in some reviews, nor had any problems with the bill. We can only write as we found so here goes.
The hotel is in an ideal location in the middle of the old town. It is very close to the main street, Sokratus, and 2 minutes walk to Suleiman’s mosque so 5 – 10 minutes’ walk in any direction will get you to most sites in the old Town. The location, however, is surprisingly quiet and we did not experience any undue noise. The hotel itself is beautiful. It is a medieval building which has been tastefully renovated. We came in on spec yet were warmly greeted by Marie Anne despite not having made any advance booking etc. As we only needed a place to crash overnight, we took the small room which met our needs very well. The bed was soft and comfortable, antique furnishings, full sized fridge, air conditioning included in the price, flat screen TV. Yes, the bathroom was small but it was fully functional. We looked at one of the suites and it was fabulous. We would not have left the room if we had booked one of those, very sumptuous bedroom, separate shower and bathroom, lovely balcony overlooking delightful courtyard. Did not get up in time for breakfast and, having seen the pictures, regret this. The small room is obviously small but we have stayed in similar sized rooms in places like New York or London. Would recommend the small room only for an overnight stay but, from what we saw of the suite, would recommend these for a romantic break, honeymoon or if you need lots of brownie points.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucestalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guests.
Thank you for your nice review of the S.Nikolis' Hotel/
We certainly are pleased. We hope to see you again and will
make sure you meet the male owner, who has created our
hotel, from the beginning in 1980, to what we are today.

And if I may.
I will follow your advice and answer all the reviews back.
To everyone who wrote a review. Thank you so much.
Sincerely
S.Nikolis' Hotel
Sotiris and Marianne Nikolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    31
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
128
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our Host Marianne could not have been more helpful, nor the location more delightful. From roof top breakfast overlooking old town Rhodes to the convenience of exploring the town so easily, this is a great location. Our rooms were very quiet, yet so close to everything. Marianne was able to arrange so kind extras, including laundry service and a ride to our car parked outside the gates so we did not have to carry luggage over the cobblestones.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartments down the street which were not in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quansoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

A great quiet place to stay in Rhodes Old Town at the southwest part just by the moat. Nice personal rooms with very comfy beds! You live in a history book and one just wish The walls could tell their tales. Rent a vespa and go to small beaches around Rhodes town. The wonderful owner Marianne most willingly Will help you out if u want. In The old town there are great historic locations to see and shopping+restaurants everywhere just by The corner from this small hotell. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristinaJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our 12-day stay at the S. Nikolis (April 7 -19, 2012) was a highly-rewarding experience. The physical set-up of the hotel is unique: a partly medieval structure within the old city, next to the imposing wall; a court; and more. The hotel's facilities and amenities were very comfortable, but the main asset of the hotel is Marianne, its owner and manager. Her support and help in any detail; her attention to every need or wish which we had; her friendship and generosity - made the stay at a the hotel one of the best vacations we've ever had. We highly recommend the S. Nikolis.
Ora and Michal Michaely
Jerusalem, Israel.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at S. Nikolis for 3 nights and would have loved to have stayed longer if only we had had the time!

We were given a very warm welcome by Marianne, the owner, who showed us the room we had booked as well as a spacious suite which she offered us at no extra expense as an alternative. The choice was ours to make and we accepted the upgrade. We were given a tour of the premises and were invited to use the terrace and gardens anytime we liked.

Situated within the walls of the Old Town, this small hotel has been restored over a period of many years, allowing visitors a fascinating glimpse not only of historical finds but also of a bygone era. Modern touches cleverly blended with antiques, afford guests a really special, comfortable, and welcoming environment. We loved the jacuzzi bath, the abundance of clean, fluffy towels, bathroom goodies and pretty bedding. A telephone in the room with direct dial access was very useful as was the fridge with complimentary bottles of water and beer. Every single corner of the hotel is spotlessly clean and the smell of cleanliness combined with the scent of blossoms pervaded the air day and night.

The location of the hotel was ideally suited to our personal needs as we prefer the incomparable ambiance of the Old Town with its hundreds of little shops and eateries to the very contemporary New Town.

Breakfast was spectacular! Served on the terrace with amazing views, our table was filled with choices that would satisfy the pickiest of palates: Fresh fruit, pastries, two types of bread, butter, honey, marmalade, cheeses and cold cuts, olives, eggs, fresh juice, choice of hot drinks ......

Nothing was too much trouble for Marianne, her daughter Maria or members of staff. When we asked for some hot water to make a cup of tea, a kettle, milk, etc appeared in our room within seconds. They also gave us great recommendations of where to eat, where to buy ferry tickets from and which sights to visit at that time of year.

A fully equipped bar with music opens at lunchtime and again in the evening. Drinks can be enjoyed either at the bar or at one of the tables in the garden outside.

Marianne had arranged for a taxi to collect us at the airport when we arrived and she very kindly dropped us off at the port herself when we left. Of course we had to pay the going rate to the taxi driver, however, the drop off journey was afforded to us for free.

We felt that we left friends behind when we left Rhodes but hopefully we shall return in the foreseeable future. We have already recommended the S. Nikolis to family and friends for its quality, service and friendly assistance. We couldn't have asked for a better deal in Rhodes!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetter511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the apartment which is 1minute walked from Main hotel building. The hotel located at side of Old town center, around 10minutes walk to Plateia Hippocrates.
I have booked the apartment throught the email, and have the owner replied very quick and happy to answer all my questions!

We have booked studio apartment for 3 of us, but happened to offer us 2 apartments which connected together at the same price when we arrived. It was supurise & an extra bonus for us!! Of course, we are happy with the apartment even if just gave us the studio apartment!

The Apartment is big & clean. Service is good! If there is WiFi in the apartment (not only the main hotel building), it will be excellent!!

If we have chance to visit Rhodes again, we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayhehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

My husband and I travelled to Rhodes (Rodos) for a mini break so unfortunately only stayed at the S. Nikolis Hotel for one night. The owner Marianne was there to greet us and to my husbands delight is Danish - as is he, so they were able to catch up a bit on the 'motherland' :)
S. Nikolis Hotel is a family owned and run hotel and as per most off my experiences with boutique hotels, it shows in the detail. Complimentary wine, thick fluffy towels and homey knick-knacks that you simply don't find in 'mass produced' hotels.
As we were there in the 'off season' the restaurant wasn't open but a short stroll into the heart of the old town and there are plenty of options to choose from.
Marianne was also kind enough to take us to the Acropolis for a quick peek before we headed back.
With so much to see and do in the old town of Rodos you probably won't spend too much time in your room but it's nice to know it is waiting for you at the end of a long day of sight-seeing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thai_Rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#31 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#33 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#24 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#13 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#47 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments

Property: S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Address: 61 Ippodamou | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the 2000-years-old remains of the Ancient Agora S. Nikolis is an intimate, charming sandstone hotel located on a guiet, cobblestone street in the beautiful Crusader part of the Medieval Old Town. The Old Town of Rhodes bursts with activity day and night. The maze of narrow streets, stone arches, huge ramparts and original moats create a truly unique experience. The hotel offers restaurant facilities for lunch and dinner, breakfast on the roof garden with superb view of the old town and harbour. As well as a unique bar with a variety of drinks and cocktails. This bar area also has a room with an original 800 year-old built in fireplace which offers a very cozy and warm atmosphere for winter guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing