We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #30 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

S. Nikolis hotel is a beautiful restored boutique hotel in the old city of Rhodes. It's simply breathtaking. Our family stayed here for too short of a time (2 nights, 3 days). We were welcomed and taken good care of by the owners Marianna and Nick. Our rooms were elegant and charming. Breakfast on the roof top each morning was delicious. We are still dreaming of the fresh greek yogurt as well as the view! Each day we would ask for suggestions as to restaurants, beaches, etc. We couldn't have been happier with her recommendations. We felt at home and well taken care of. This is a magical place of such beauty and grace. You can see all the love and hard work that was put in to it. You will not be disappointed..... we will return soon and are so appreciative of our time at S. Nikolis boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    31
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
128
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

this hotel is in a great location, just inside the old city walls. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

We ended up paying more than planned as we were told a room with a balcony had become available, and it being June, we thought this was a good idea!

The room were nice and furnished to suit the age of the building, but the bathroom was absolutely tiny - literally enough room to stand in front the sink and use the WC (which would then get very wet due to the shower area which was also tiny). The balcony was pretty and overlooked the courtyard with various citrus trees etc. but generally the amenities weren't great for the price. Also, the shutter didn't work and the only window covering was gauzey, so a case of it getting very hot and bright, as soon as the sun came up.

A case of paying for the pleasure of staying in a lovely old building, in the oldest part of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Marianne is an exceptional host.

The medieval part of Rhodes is the best place to be based, and this hotel is on a nice quiet street, near shopping and restuarants but not so near as to be noisy. Close to a back exit of the walled old city outside of which you can park your car if you have one.

The rooms are wonderfully furnished, the breakfast on the roof is very nice.

Rhodes was one of our favorite Greek islands (we visited three). It has several nice beaches, interesting ancient and medieval sites, a good port and airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkschund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Sotiris and Marianne have an absolutely beautiful establishment in the charming and historic old walled city of Rhodes. The facility boasts ancient (next door) and medieval features built into the authentic architecture. The rooms are outfitted with genuine Rhodian antiques and decor.

The personal service is unique and unsurpassed. Sotiris and Marianne treat you like family and Sotiris is a native Rhodian, while Marianne has been a resident for many years. Marianne gave us rides to and from the port for a trip to Patmos, met us at the gate of the walled city when we first arrived and took us to the airport when we departed. We couldn't have asked for more! Sotiris, in addition, is quite a musician and entertained us with his guitar during an enchanting Rhodian evening.

The breakfasts as prepared by Georgia on the charming rooftop were absolutely delicious, with a bird's eye view of the port area and medieval city walls. The many attractions of the old city of Rhodes are within an easy and lovely walk from the hotel.

We enthusiastically recommend this wonderful property.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhodianSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

S. Nikolis' Hotel in the Old City of Rhodes was a great introduction to the island - our very first visit there. Our Room #12 had a large bedm vestibule sitting area with sofa (can be another bed), table and chairs and - a bonus - an outside garden patio where you can sip a drink. Our host Marianne added great personal touches like wine, fruit and wise advice as to dining and touring in the area. Rooftop breakfast area features table service and great views. Hotel built on an old foundation and has been lovingly restored and renovated by the owners. Small bathroom but with all the amenities. This is a place for a first or return visit, and at a very fair price. Free wireless access. Jan and Sheldon Steinhauser, Denver, Colorado

Room Tip: Try #12 for easy access with privacy. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellyandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I haven´t had such a pleasant vacation in a long time! This wonderful hotel within the midevil town is just charming. The owner Marianne is just wonderful to her guests! It´s worth a long stay.
The hotel overlooks the whole town, but isn´t on an overcrowded street. It´s very peaceful here. The inner courtyard is great just to relax and get away from it all. And now that the little tavern on the other side is now open, you should enjoy one of the best coffees on the island. The courtyard also has a very interesting history- just ask Marianne about it! It´s incredible. While you´re enjoying this all, look for one of the 6 large turtles living here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My return to S. Nikolis was a highlight of my recent trip to Greece. The Nikolis family strives hard to make your stay as welcoming and comfortable as possible . When possible you are given a choice of rooms. The decor and whole historic atmosphere which has been created and maintained in perfect balance, is a privilage to enjoy and a credit to the vision and hard work of Sotoris and Marianna. My room - a bigger one this time, was also amazing. The rooftop garden and courtyard are relaxing retreats, the breakfast on the rooftop which offers amazing views of both the castle walls and the port and ocean views, I still vote as No. 1 in Greece. Georgia is there catering to everyone's requests and always with a beautiful smile. The rooms are spotless and quiet. Marianna is happy to offer suggestions for sightseeing, shopping, resturantes, etc. and Sotoris who is always busy, is always happy to stop and share his knowledge of the history and buildings. The hotel stands beside an active archaeological dig.To experience S. Nikolis is to truly appreciate the history of Rhodes. It is a favourite place for me and I feel like I am treated like family when ever I visit... the other guests feel the same. It takes a sincere host/hostess to make you feel like that when they have so much to keep them busy during the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceSpringsSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#33 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#32 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#1 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#24 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#12 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#49 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments

Property: S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Address: 61 Ippodamou | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the 2000-years-old remains of the Ancient Agora S. Nikolis is an intimate, charming sandstone hotel located on a guiet, cobblestone street in the beautiful Crusader part of the Medieval Old Town. The Old Town of Rhodes bursts with activity day and night. The maze of narrow streets, stone arches, huge ramparts and original moats create a truly unique experience. The hotel offers restaurant facilities for lunch and dinner, breakfast on the roof garden with superb view of the old town and harbour. As well as a unique bar with a variety of drinks and cocktails. This bar area also has a room with an original 800 year-old built in fireplace which offers a very cozy and warm atmosphere for winter guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing