We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to return and return again”
Review of Ibiscus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibiscus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2009

This is my favourite hotel. The staff are great particular the restaurant manager who never forgets a face. This was my third visit but it certainly wont be my last.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank DavidG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 541 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

Hotel well located 15 -20 minute walk from the Old Town (taxi 4 euros to the old town and 18 euros to the airport). Hotel room a little bland with a noisy fridge that had to be switched off at night due to noise. Friendly and helpful staff. Buffet breakfast with a fair selection of food. Drinks in bar not too expensive. Pool is no more than a plunge pool. We stayed at the end of the season so little atmosphere due to apparent low number of guests. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We've been to this hotel in 2007 and again this year for our honeymoon. The location is excellent (at the beach and only 15 mins from the old town by foot).

General :
Lobby, reception, restaurant and bar are very luxurious and nice.
Hallways and elevators are OK : clean but a bit worn out. But then again : who really cares about that ? :-)

Pool :
Ibiscus is a city hotel, so the pool is very, very small. However it is clean and it's a nice place to relax with a book and a drink.

Food / restaurant :
The food is very tasty and there's enough choice, even for the picky eaters. Overall the food is rather international, but with some greek specialties every day. The restaurant is clean and nice, but indoors and very crowded; not a very good place for a cosy, relaxed dinner.

Rooms :
That's a difficult one because there really is *a lot* of difference between the rooms.
Never ever book a room without seaview; not only for the view, but especially because these rooms are a very small and in urgent need for some renovation.
Even between the seaview-rooms there's a difference. The best rooms are the ones with frontal seaview : they have been renovated recently and are more spacious and luxurious than the other ones. However, in Belgium you can only choose between with or without seaview, but you cannot specify that you want a room at the front of the hotel.
In conclusion : the rooms are clean, but all rooms could use a makeover, except those at the front of the hotel.

Staff :
All personnel is very friendly and helpful, except those at the reception desk.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim_Jorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Had a very enjoyable stay, only disappointment we asked for a sea view but got a room at back with no sun during day. Staff all excellent, went B & B and this was first class the restaurant manager is wonderful. Beach over road, need good sand shoes as very pebbley, sunbed and brolley 8 euros for 2 people and town 5 - 10 mins walk. Be careful if you go to Old town as we got 2 small beers and was charged 9 euros, best to ask how much before you order. Drinks were cheaper at hotel which is most unusual. Food prices for evening meal in town were fair between 40 - 50 euros for 2 incl drink and coffee. One of the best holidays we have had for weather and things to do and see.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen24312016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Location: directly in front of the beach. very convenient immediate access. The sand has some rocks in it, but it's still a nice beach. It's a 10 min walk to Old Town or a 3 euro cab ride, however, Old Town was so overcrowed with tourists that we were glad to not be sleeping there. (PS some cab drivers try to rob you a few euros: make sure you ask how much the fare is to your destination before getting in. We took maybe 5-6 cabs it only happened once where he charged us 5 euro instead of 2).

Accomodation: The room was comfortable (tv, ac, good lighting, clean sheets and bedspread). The bathroom has everything you need (good shower pressure, big sink, new ceramic tiles, clean) but it's small.

Food: AMAZING. We booked our hotel online with breakfast AND supper included. Breakfast had the most variety from all the hotels we've stayed in in greece (Belvedere Santorini, San Giorgio Mykonos, Central Hotel Athens), it was very good, there was even a cook available to make you a customized omelette on the spot. However, the main highlight for us was the buffet dinner, including: hot food, salad bar, soup, cheese station, chef's grill, ice cream and dessert table. The selection changed every night, the choices were delicious, and the staff was exceptionnally well trained (especially considering the greek standards for customer service).

Service: Exceptional. People were polite, kind and helpfull.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmarti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

This hotel is perfect for the beach, has wonderful sea views, and is in walking distance of the lovely Old Town. While the corridors and bathrooms could benefit from cosmetic refurbishing, the bedroos are large, have excellent storage facilites, and are cleaned immaculately every day, with clean sheets and towels. The staff are friendly, helpful, and like everyone in Rhodes Town, speak perfect English and German. Nothing is too much trouble, and queries and problems are dealt with efficiently and quickly.

The maitre d' in the restaurant is charming and extremely efficient, and the food is varied, good and well presented.

All in all, a perfect place for a good holiday

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank helleborus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

This is my 3rd stay at the Ibiscus Hotel in the last 6 years. And by far the worst. I went on a bed and breakfast basis paying £1,204 with Thomson. At this price you expect a good clean hotel with first class service. This hotel falls at every level bar one.
The room, 222, faced another hotel with side sea views to both sides of the headland. There was no direct sun on the balcony. The room has clearly not been decorated or upgraded in years and what I have now come to expect for Thomson guests who pay less than the published rate. The so-called bathroom was merely a small shower room with a 3 foot bath (!). The suspended ceiling was falling down at one corner and a large gap at another. The shower curtain rail was held up by a piece of wire wrapped round a screw in the ceiling. The bathroom door stuck in the frame. The toilet cistern was held in place by a piece of wood using sealant to hold it to the wall. Tile grout/filler was missing round the door frame. The worst aspect though, was the large crack in the wash hand basin now black with bacteria/mould. The woodwork, presumably originally white, was a dirty faded cream colour.
The room itself is quite large but again, faded decorating complete with marks and stains from spilt liquid down the walls was not expected in a 4 star hotel. The balcony was a good size with cheap uncomfortable plastic furniture.
This hotel sits across the main road from the shingle beach and near to the old and new town. It does not have a swimming pool, simply a plunge pool which is far too small for a hotel of this size. The hotel does not have a portion of the beach allocated to it, so 8 euros a day for 2 sunbeds and umbrella.
The bar area is enormous with a terrace overlooking the beach. On the second day, with just 20 guests using it and a staff of 3, I had a wait of 20 minutes for an order to be taken for a coffee and a tea. The waiter brought the drinks with a large part spilt into the saucers saying they were free as the waiter who previously took the order had forgotten(?). Unfortunately, he did not listen to what I had ordered and brought 2 coffees. I am unable to drink coffee so left and never used the bar again. I asked the receptionist to have a word and that resulted in unfriendly stares from bar staff and receptionists alike.
The dining room is run by the same smiling, helpful professional manager as always and this is the hotel's one redeeming feature. If all the staff were like him it would be 5 star. The breakfast was good with a large choice for everyone.
Rhodes has become very expensive this year which is surprising in view of the economic climate. At the British Bar in the old town, 2 breakfasts consisting each of 1 egg, 1 sausage, 1 small bacon, beans (lots to fill the plate), tinned tomatoes, 2 slices of toast, cup of tea or coffee and glass of fresh orange juice came to 23 euros. Ouch! Only went the once after that. Even tried a McDonalds (haven't had one for around 5 years) and 1 Big Mac Meal and 1 Quarter pounder came to 12 euros! If you try Pizza Hut and you are British, be prepared for a long wait. They serve anyone before you and a 30 minute wait should be expected, more if you do not complain.
Another price comparison is at Marks and Spencers where I found a pair of jeans I bought just 2 weeks previously for £20 on sale at £39.90 euros.
If you go to Butterfly Valley, please do NOT waste your money on overpriced refreshments at the 3 cafe/restaurant areas within the reserve. Instead, when you get to the top keep going until you reach the road, then go up the 100m to the little church. Fantastic views, peace and quiet and outstanding hospitality and food from the Greek ladies who will serve you the best rice pudding, doughnut balls drizzled with honey and sesame seeds, fresh orange juice and their 'special' Greek salad at very reasonable prices too. Faultless.
This has been my 3rd stay at the Ibiscus and it will, sadly, be my last. It is my 6th visit to Rhodes and will in all probability also be my last. It has lost its way. The magic and charm has vanished, replaced by shopkeepers and restaurant owners eager to make as much as possible from you. It has become too commercialised fuelled by greed.
Having paid £1,204 for B&B, I feel I have been ripped off. This hotel in my view has dropped to 1 star based on this stay.
Why did I not complain about the room? Thomson has seen fit that the rep does not automatically visit the hotel at set times. Instead you have to make an appointment. So much for customer service!
I would love to know what the Hotel Inspector from the TV series would make of it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,053 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#24 of 126 in Rhodes Town
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
786 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibiscus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibiscus Hotel

Address: Nisirou 17, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $69 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibiscus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibiscus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibiscus Hotel Rhodes Town
Ibiscus Rhodes Town
Ibiscus Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing