We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
296
231
60
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
231
60
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view old town elli beach mandraki harbour small pool bar prices excellent location opposite the beach half board restaurant manager bed linen breakfast and dinner the dining room staff fifth floor choose this hotel week holiday air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 616 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Location: directly in front of the beach. very convenient immediate access. The sand has some rocks in it, but it's still a nice beach. It's a 10 min walk to Old Town or a 3 euro cab ride, however, Old Town was so overcrowed with tourists that we were glad to not be sleeping there. (PS some cab drivers try to rob you a few euros: make sure you ask how much the fare is to your destination before getting in. We took maybe 5-6 cabs it only happened once where he charged us 5 euro instead of 2).

Accomodation: The room was comfortable (tv, ac, good lighting, clean sheets and bedspread). The bathroom has everything you need (good shower pressure, big sink, new ceramic tiles, clean) but it's small.

Food: AMAZING. We booked our hotel online with breakfast AND supper included. Breakfast had the most variety from all the hotels we've stayed in in greece (Belvedere Santorini, San Giorgio Mykonos, Central Hotel Athens), it was very good, there was even a cook available to make you a customized omelette on the spot. However, the main highlight for us was the buffet dinner, including: hot food, salad bar, soup, cheese station, chef's grill, ice cream and dessert table. The selection changed every night, the choices were delicious, and the staff was exceptionnally well trained (especially considering the greek standards for customer service).

Service: Exceptional. People were polite, kind and helpfull.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmarti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

This hotel is perfect for the beach, has wonderful sea views, and is in walking distance of the lovely Old Town. While the corridors and bathrooms could benefit from cosmetic refurbishing, the bedroos are large, have excellent storage facilites, and are cleaned immaculately every day, with clean sheets and towels. The staff are friendly, helpful, and like everyone in Rhodes Town, speak perfect English and German. Nothing is too much trouble, and queries and problems are dealt with efficiently and quickly.

The maitre d' in the restaurant is charming and extremely efficient, and the food is varied, good and well presented.

All in all, a perfect place for a good holiday

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank helleborus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

This is my 3rd stay at the Ibiscus Hotel in the last 6 years. And by far the worst. I went on a bed and breakfast basis paying £1,204 with Thomson. At this price you expect a good clean hotel with first class service. This hotel falls at every level bar one.
The room, 222, faced another hotel with side sea views to both sides of the headland. There was no direct sun on the balcony. The room has clearly not been decorated or upgraded in years and what I have now come to expect for Thomson guests who pay less than the published rate. The so-called bathroom was merely a small shower room with a 3 foot bath (!). The suspended ceiling was falling down at one corner and a large gap at another. The shower curtain rail was held up by a piece of wire wrapped round a screw in the ceiling. The bathroom door stuck in the frame. The toilet cistern was held in place by a piece of wood using sealant to hold it to the wall. Tile grout/filler was missing round the door frame. The worst aspect though, was the large crack in the wash hand basin now black with bacteria/mould. The woodwork, presumably originally white, was a dirty faded cream colour.
The room itself is quite large but again, faded decorating complete with marks and stains from spilt liquid down the walls was not expected in a 4 star hotel. The balcony was a good size with cheap uncomfortable plastic furniture.
This hotel sits across the main road from the shingle beach and near to the old and new town. It does not have a swimming pool, simply a plunge pool which is far too small for a hotel of this size. The hotel does not have a portion of the beach allocated to it, so 8 euros a day for 2 sunbeds and umbrella.
The bar area is enormous with a terrace overlooking the beach. On the second day, with just 20 guests using it and a staff of 3, I had a wait of 20 minutes for an order to be taken for a coffee and a tea. The waiter brought the drinks with a large part spilt into the saucers saying they were free as the waiter who previously took the order had forgotten(?). Unfortunately, he did not listen to what I had ordered and brought 2 coffees. I am unable to drink coffee so left and never used the bar again. I asked the receptionist to have a word and that resulted in unfriendly stares from bar staff and receptionists alike.
The dining room is run by the same smiling, helpful professional manager as always and this is the hotel's one redeeming feature. If all the staff were like him it would be 5 star. The breakfast was good with a large choice for everyone.
Rhodes has become very expensive this year which is surprising in view of the economic climate. At the British Bar in the old town, 2 breakfasts consisting each of 1 egg, 1 sausage, 1 small bacon, beans (lots to fill the plate), tinned tomatoes, 2 slices of toast, cup of tea or coffee and glass of fresh orange juice came to 23 euros. Ouch! Only went the once after that. Even tried a McDonalds (haven't had one for around 5 years) and 1 Big Mac Meal and 1 Quarter pounder came to 12 euros! If you try Pizza Hut and you are British, be prepared for a long wait. They serve anyone before you and a 30 minute wait should be expected, more if you do not complain.
Another price comparison is at Marks and Spencers where I found a pair of jeans I bought just 2 weeks previously for £20 on sale at £39.90 euros.
If you go to Butterfly Valley, please do NOT waste your money on overpriced refreshments at the 3 cafe/restaurant areas within the reserve. Instead, when you get to the top keep going until you reach the road, then go up the 100m to the little church. Fantastic views, peace and quiet and outstanding hospitality and food from the Greek ladies who will serve you the best rice pudding, doughnut balls drizzled with honey and sesame seeds, fresh orange juice and their 'special' Greek salad at very reasonable prices too. Faultless.
This has been my 3rd stay at the Ibiscus and it will, sadly, be my last. It is my 6th visit to Rhodes and will in all probability also be my last. It has lost its way. The magic and charm has vanished, replaced by shopkeepers and restaurant owners eager to make as much as possible from you. It has become too commercialised fuelled by greed.
Having paid £1,204 for B&B, I feel I have been ripped off. This hotel in my view has dropped to 1 star based on this stay.
Why did I not complain about the room? Thomson has seen fit that the rep does not automatically visit the hotel at set times. Instead you have to make an appointment. So much for customer service!
I would love to know what the Hotel Inspector from the TV series would make of it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Have been coming here for over 10 years now and we can't fault it for overall hospitality. The location on the beach makes it very handy for either relaxing or exploring the nearby Old Town which is roughly 15 minutes walk away. Rooms are comfortable and cleaned daily and staff on Reception and in the Restaurant are very helpful and friendly. Whilst food might not suit the egg and chips brigade there is a good choice with a mixture of Greek and international dishes.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Plus points: The dining room and bar staff were excellent. All individulas offered good service with a smile. The outside terrace had a very relaxed atmosphere and the price of drinks was extremely favourable. The beach is very close, being just over the road. Mandraki harbour is a 5 minute walk away with the Old Town another 10 minutes further along.

Minus points: The room/bathroom we had was VERY TIRED and did spoil our overall enjoyment. We had booked and paid for a sea view, but the sea was seen through trees, spaces between buildings, and across three roads. The reception staff were helpful, but not very friendly.

All in all we did enjoy our stay, but not at all sure if we would book the Ibiscus again purely because of the sad state of the room/bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baby21Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews