We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveler rating
296
231
61
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
231
61
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view old town elli beach mandraki harbour small pool bar prices excellent location opposite the beach half board restaurant manager bed linen breakfast and dinner the dining room staff fifth floor choose this hotel week holiday air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 617 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2009

This is a a fantastic hotel. All staff are welcoming, friendly and eager to please. The place is spotless and well maintained. The food is excellent with good all round choices, we even upgraded to halfboard as the food found elsewhere could not compete with standard and price. The linen was changed everyday and if you don't want them to bother you they will leave clean towels and toilet roll outside your room. The rooms themselves are very generous and to a high standard.
The hotel itself is situated only minutes walk from new town and about 5-10 minutes from the Old Town depending on how fast you walk.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petite1Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We booked the Ibiscus on a half-board basis as part of a Thomson package, encouraged by the many good reviews on Trip Advisor. It turned out to be the ideal choice. We'd paid a little extra for a Sea View room which afforded fascinating people-watching from dawn (with its procession of early-bathers) to dusk, when bat and ball games would be played with great seriousness, skill and gusto, mostly by men of mature years.
The beach opposite afforded perfect bathing on sunbeds costing 4 Euro per day. During the course of our week-long stay, we witnessed the completion of a changeover from conventional sun umbrellas to woven wicker parasols. The small pool at the hotel looked perfectly fine, but we didn't feel the need to use it, just as, in the whole of our stay, we didn't even think to turn the television on.
Our room was spacious and cool thanks to air conditioning. It was useful to have a small fridge which, as was explained to us, was not a mini-bar, but a place for us to keep our own drinks cold. It more than proved its worth in that capacity.
As other commentators have noted, cocktails and drinks on the hotel terrace were modestly priced and the hotel facilities provided relaxing ambiance.
For us, though, the high point of the stay was the restaurant. We'd opted for half-board and had fingers crossed that we'd done the right thing. No question about it, the food was fabulous. I'm no great lover of buffet-style eating, but I found myself positively relishing the opportunity to get on my feet to find out what was on offer. There was always plenty of choice and the dishes were thoughtfully prepared and well presented. The same was true at breakfast, where a wide selection would cater for pretty well any taste. But the most impressive aspect, for me, was the way in which the restaurant was managed. Nikos and his excellent team, made the process of dealing with eighty or so tables look like childsplay. There was always a cheery welcome, never a queue and the devastating efficiency came over as genuine friendliness. I can't recall ever having been in a better run restaurant.
The proximity of the hotel to Mandraki harbour and the Old Town made a postprandial walk the perfect way to conclude a day.
While in Rhodes Town, we took an enjoyable day cruise on the "Alkmini" to Lindos (costing 35 Euro for the two of us, purchased in advance from the quayside) and a return trip to the beautiful island of Symi on one of the bigger boats, the re-run of an excursion we made in 2002. Back then there were two deer at the harbour entrance; now there's only one, the female having been removed for maintenance. I confess to having some concern for her well-being... recalling an earlier incident involving a Colossus.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vernon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Hi there,
just back from the Ibiscus Hotel, don't usually bother to take the time to come back and give my thoughts and comments, however it was from reading previous people's positive feedback that had helped us book and i have to say, we were not disappointed in what we got. The hotel was in brilliant location walking distance from everywhere, our room was cleaned towels and bed linen changed everyday, had air condition which was greatly needed as it was very hot, had sky tv, and best it had a fridge which made all the difference, we were BB which had a wide variety of choices from fry up, to omelettes to if you wanted healthy options so something for everyone, overall had a wonderful holiday and would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Just returned from a week at the Ibiscus on a break with the girls. Great sized room for three adults, lots of space for everything (luggage/clothes/getting ready). Would advise paying extra for a seaview, this was lovely and overlooked the beach. Fantastic air conditioning meant room nice and cool after a day on the beach - even needed extra blankets at night!

Location just perfect - cross the road and you are on the beach, 15-20 mins walk by the harbour and you are in the beautiful old town. Knew the area as stayed at the Aquarium next door last year - this hotel was far superior (rooms, staff, bar, breakfast). The decked bar outside is great - comfy sofas to relax on and very reasonable cocktails. Hotel has a plunge pool (rather than full swimming pool) - perfect for a quick cool down, but beach is so near that you would rather swim in the sea anyway.

Really like Rhodes, and would definitely return to the Ibiscus.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesHerHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Fabulous hotel centrally located for the beach which is a few steps across a one way quiet road and for Rhodes Old town which is about a 10 minute stroll past the harbour along the sea front and also for the New town which is 5 minutes away. First class service from the team in the dining room led by the Maitred'hotel. We booked 7 days B&B and the choices for breakfast were very varied and all presented well. We ate in on one evening and the selection then was first class. The hotel is very well managed our room was very clean and comfortable with a bath and a shower and air con at no extra charge. Outside to the front of the hotel is a bar where you can sit and have a drink or something to eat in the day or evening and enjoy the view of the sea. This hotel offers everything to make a commfortable holiday. We would definitely go back.
Jacqui Lelant

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacquilelant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews