We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home at the beach”
Review of Ibiscus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibiscus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel was booked through an agent and what a nice surprise
The greeting was friendly and sincere to the "Golden Girls From Australia"
A small problem with our room was fixed within an acceptable timeframe
The room was clean and adequate but most important quiet
The bar staff were enthusiastic and cheerful and the happy hours ! snacks very welcome
The cocktails were reasonably priced so you can have 2!

The hotel is located close to some delightful eateries and shopping is within an easy walk
The beach right across the road is ideal for an early morning swim after a walk along the boardwalk
Would not hesitate to recommend
and look forward to returning

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 541 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location of the hotel was good, the beach was just across the street and it was possible to walk to the city. We had seaview from our room, the room was old but clean and we had everything we needed. Breakfast was included in the price but it was not so good so we ended up eating other places. The staff at the hotel was amazing! They were very friendly and helpful. There was not a thing they could not help us with. I am very pleased with our stay at this hotel and would recomend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just come back from a week stay at the Ibiscus. We were in the room 322, it was very nice, clear, comfortable, air conditioned with fridge. Foods, location, staff were excellent, Mandraki and Old Town are few minutes walk. We loved Ibiscus!

Room Tip: sea view room are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lili K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

hotel rooms are very dated,but clean,radio did'nt work. television not worth watching at any time only news channels ,we thought we were getting double bed, but two singles pushed together,we went with Thompsons the booking and transfers were no problem at all very efficient in that way, but when you get to hotel you are on your own then,not a Thompson rep to be seen throughout the duration of holiday if you need any advice or help there is no one to help,the concierge staff are very reluctant to give advice about anything at all,for instance we thought while in Greece we,re go to a traditional Greek night,restaurant,we asked where, staff not interested.not at all helpful the only good thing about the hotel was food was fantastic,considering if you eat out its expensive,Thompsons have got information board on first floor but most of it is in foreign language and what is in english is only pick up time back to airport when gong home,if you need to ask anything at all about your holiday,etc you have to telephone an english phone number,from the hotel ,at your cost, one more thing nothing at all for kids except beach across from hotel

Room Tip: sea veiw rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 621george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just come back from a two weeks stay at the ibiscus the hotel was clean the breakfast could not fault rooms were cleaned every day staff were all really nice perfectly situated can not understand some of the comments only downside would have been the pool if the beach had not been so near

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

On arrival we were given rooms facing west overlooking the windy beach and we were satisfied with these though reception had offered us the chance to move the next day to Eli beach facing rooms at no extra charge, but as we were happy with rooms we were given saw no reason to do so.

We had a late arrival, so though we had missed dinner, there is a selection of snacks such as fruit, crisps, nuts available free at the bar, which was useful for getting bottles of mineral water, 1.5l for 1.90 euro, for our first night.
They also have a good range of beers, soft drinks, Wines, spirits and cocktails all at reasonable prices.a selection of which I've listed here to give an idea.
Small bottle Mythos beer 2.50 euro,
Mataxa 5* 3.10,
Pina Colada 4.90,
Cola 2.10,
Tea/coffee 2.10,
Glass of House wine 2.40.
During day also snacks available such as Club Sandwich 7.90.

Wifi was free with just a code needed to access which you got from the bar.

Hotel is just across the road from popular beach, with Aquarium being just a couple of minutes walk from front door as were two Modern Art Gallery's, one being located on road with palm trees behind hotel other being in side road to the right of the main hotel entrance.

Mandraki harbour, a few minutes walk. Where aside from the lovely harbour views, there are boats offering trips to Lindos, Beach Cruise's, Symi, Turkey, Scuba diving just to name a few. We did the Lindos trip, which was 25 Euro's each.

Old town was around a twenty minute walk from hotel, with lots of interesting streets to explore and places to visit Such as the Bell tower with fantastic views over the old city. Entrance 5 euros with a drink included. Archaeological museum and Grandmasters Palace shouldn't be missed with free entrance to students on production of student card otherwise 6 Euros.
No entrance fee to ruins of Temple of Apollo and the ancient stadium which are a little distance away though so we took a Taxi there as we didn't feel like walking it in the heat as it's uphill on the way, but an easy walk downhill on the way back.

I would say there was a very good choice of food available at the hotel for breakfast, with fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, continental or eggs and bacon etc. There was also a chef on duty for made to order omelettes.

Evening Buffett meals there was a variety of different dishes offered each evening, both meat and fish as well as Salad and something for vegetarians. There is a fair selection of desserts, fruit, Cake, Ice cream.

All the staff were helpful and friendly at the hotel from Reception, cleaners and Nikos and his team in the restaurant.

As we had a late flight we were able to arrange with the hotel to have a late check out from the hotel giving us to 6pm keeping one room so as to be able to shower and rest after being on the beach for 20 euros. There is a shower available on the mezzanine floor along with toilets as well.

The only minus on the rooms was that the bathrooms were a little smaller than we would of liked, but then it has to be bear in mind that it's not a 5* hotel, though we have stayed in so called 5* ones that haven't been so comfortable. Certainly there were no issues as mentioned in previous posters stays. Rooms were kept clean with sheets being changed daily, beds while firm were very comfortable with extra pillows and blankets available in the wardrobe.

All in all we would be happy to return to the Ibiscus hotel if we find ourselves looking to stay in Rhodes town.

We booked via Thomsons, flights out and back were fine and leg room wasn't an issue for us for the length of flight though very tall people might still have a problem. On arrival at Rhodes we saw a rep who pointed us outside to another rep who put us into a Taxi. Never saw another Thomson rep until arriving back at the airport at the end of the holiday. There is a notice board in the hotel for the various tour firms using the Ibiscus that gave a pick up time for the return. But no rep of Thomson's visited the hotel, there was only a telephone number if you needed help.

Water for the flight home is much cheaper to buy from the fast food stand at Rhodes airport then on the Thomson flight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Holidays-R-Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great spot if you like to be handy for beach and don't mind a walk for town. Service good as is the food except the vegetables which are so overcooked they can spoil your experience of the dining room. Not a good choice if you want a pool or a party time - there are lots of return guests who enjoy the quiet. Also not particularly geared up for children, but great for couples who like the genuine staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,051 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#24 of 126 in Rhodes Town
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
786 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibiscus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibiscus Hotel

Address: Nisirou 17, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $69 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibiscus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibiscus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibiscus Hotel Rhodes Town
Ibiscus Rhodes Town
Ibiscus Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing