We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What went wrong with this hotel?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibiscus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibiscus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What went wrong with this hotel?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ibiscus the first two weeks in October having booked some time ago because of the good reviews. Well, something has changed drastically.
People spoke before about the need to refurbish and we thought, Theres no pleasing some people. Thompson dont do that kind of hotel. WELL THEY DO. The beds were like rock. The carpet on the 5th floor landing is in a dreadful state as is the stair carpet up from reception. The picture taken of the pool on the hotel site shows a rear view of the hotel with glass bricks in the wall high up on the left. Several of these are now broken. The food was the worst I have eaten in any hotel for 30 years. It was cold, steamed, bland and unimaginative. The plates were cold though they were kept in warmer stacks and the cooks idea of potatoes was a joke. Imagine partially cooked baked potatoes swimming in olive oil every night for two weeks with no alternative. When we raised these points with the maitre d, Nikos, he immediately got us some French fries from the kitchen which were available normally as bar snacks. The second night when we asked the waiter for some with our cool food already going cooler, we were told we must wait for at least 5 minutes. Maybe we suffered from the We ll all be out of work when the hotel closes in two weeks syndrome but that is not what we paid for.
I could detail the good points such as the brilliant location, the immaculate state of the reception and bar area, the bit the public see, the excellent service of the reception staff, the provision of a quiet room as requested and the ability to get bar food at 1.30 am when we got in very late due to Greek air traffic control but since I have no intention of recommending this hotel, I dont feel like elaborating.
ps. I have tried to post this review at the Thompson website on several occasions but it wont let me! Say no more!

Room Tip: West side, Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiomanDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    163
    49
    16
    8
See reviews for
70
249
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent 2 weeks at the Ibiscus Hotel returning last Sat 13th October and my experiences were:-

GOOD POINTS Wonderful location, friendly staff, room allocation was exactly as requested, prices for bar food and drinks was very reasonable and our Sea View room (we were not upgraded, this was what we had booked) was wonderful. Yes! The carpet could have been cleaner, the cleaning by the room maids could have been more thorough, but given their work load they did very well, were really obliging and re-filled toiletries upon request immediately.

BAD POINTS The carpet on the largish landing outside our room on the 5th floor had obvious water damage, was dirty, but most importantly there were HUGE rucks in it so that someone, especially a child, could have easily had an accident! The carpet on the spiral landing leading from Reception to the Half Landing servicing the swimming pool and where the meetings were held was absolutely filthy! I have had cleaner carpets on the floors of my various garages. It was supposed to be green but was so dirty it looked as though engine oll had been spilt on it. As for the food, much vaunted in reviews until recently, and after we had booked, was the worst I have ever eaten on holiday. The breakfasts were ok as I had freshly cooked omelette, but the cereal choice was very poor and the cooked food was tasteless and seemed to have been kept warm for hours (breakfast was from 7am-10.30am). As for the dinners!! They were tasteless, poor choice of foods barely warm, sometimes when it had just been brought out on a fresh tray from the kitchens and even the plates were nearly cold, despite being kept in plate warmer holders. The food quality was pretty awful too, seemingly, how cheaply can we feed you and I spent 2 weeks filling up on Half Board with their wonderfully fresh bread. Need I say more!

We enjoyed being so close to Rhodes Old Town and Mandraki Harbour a great deal and that was the reason for booking this hotel with Thomson, despite it being only 3* as it was their only one so centrally based. However, I would not stay in this hotel again, would not recommend it to any friends, nor family and can only presume that its much vaunted Repeat bookings willl suffer as the standard has clearly plummeted of late. A great shame as, with not a great deal of money and some attention to other details, as well as those mentioned, this could be exactly what it purports to be - a 3* hotel. I must admit that rating it as 2* IS pushing the envelope somewhat. A terrific holiday, but not thanks to our accommodation. Oh and finally, the beds were so hard that, despite putting 2 blankets underneath my sheet I came home with a bad back and absolutely shattered due to lack of good sleep quality.

All in all an experience not to be repeated!!

Room Tip: We asked for a 5th floor quiet room and that is exactly what we were allocated. We did this via Tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillipadewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Ibiscus Hotel is a really lovely, peaceful hotel; it is in a wonderful position just across the road from the beach - so the small pool isn't a problem. The staff are friendly, attentive, but not intrusive and do everything they can to make your holiday complete. The rooms - which are large; are clean,air-conditioned, have TV (we managed to find some English films with Greek subtitles!! and the chambermaids change the sheets and towels every day - shower,shampoo and conditioner are always refreshed. The restaurant is first class - the waiters are helpful but unobtrusive... the food (and there is plenty of it) is well cooked and what a great choice - amazing. Would recommend paying the extra for halfboard but 12 euros each for a 3 course meal if you have only booked bed and breakfast isn't bad! - better than the tavernas which we felt were out to make as much money as possible - who can blame them really??? The rest of the hotel is clean and spacious. The location is to die for - right oposite the beach - with views of the liners and ferries as they pass on their way to and from the harbour which as a short walk away as is the Old Town - well worth a visit so much history!
Our holiday was booked through Thomson, but it is not a Thomson hotel so you get lots of different nationalities there too. Our boat trip to Lindos was amazing - but note it's a bit of a climb from the beach up to the village,

We had such a great holiday - we plan to return

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the east side if you want shelter from the wind and vioews of the liners - or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Myself and my wife spent a 7 night holiday at the hotel Ibiscus in October 2012. We booked the hotel through Thomsons on a hotel only basis. Booking the hotel through Thomsons represented a considerable saving over the price charged on Expedia. It all depends on what you want - if you are looking for a smart hotel with lots of ameneties, a large pool and entertainment then this is not the hotel for you, but if you are looking for a good hotel within walking distance of the old town then I can thoroughly recommend the Ibiscus. The hotel has a lot going for it not least its location being directly opposite a lovely beach and within walking distance of the old town. The staff in the hotel are all very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful, There is a noticeably happy atmosphere in the hotel which helps to make the stay enjoyable. The hotel and rooms are showing their age and could do with being updated but having said that they are perfectly acceptable. Breakfasts are good with plently of choice including an omlette and crepe station. We only ate once in the hotel in the evening as we were B&B. The dining room is buffet style with plenty of choice but can be best described as conference standard mass catering - however at 12 euro for 3 courses it is good value and at that price what more can you really expect! The main draw back with the hotel is the swimming pool which is very small and mostly in the shade but with the beach opposite the hotel this was not a problem for us. Tip - we paid about £30 extra for a sea view room which was welll worth it as you get a great view of cruise ships and ferries coming and going. Rhodes old town and Lindos are both truly magnificent particularly at night and hiring a car to visit Lindos is to be recommended. There are plenty of good restaurants near the hotel - the food at the casino bistro was excellent and not expensive and on the last night we found an excellent Greek restaurant called Tamam on the corner of Lentos Street and Oktovriou Street about 10 mins walk from the hotel. There are also lots of restaurants in the old town of varying standards.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Upon first arrival, the room seemed a little basic, but it more than sufficed the need for a base. The location was excellent- just across the road from the quieter, less sheltered beach to a busier Elli beach outside the hotel entrance. The mosquitoes were a problem- especially on the balcony after 4pm-ish.
The shower can only be used by a very tall, thin person, but the towels were changed daily along with the bed linen.
The main problem we experienced was the noise in the room from the road outside; the maids when they were working, and the toilets flushing from neighbouring rooms. If you are a heavy sleeper, that may not be an issue for you. We were situated on the first floor by the lift and main staircase (room 118).
That said the staff were professional and friendly. The choice at breakfast was very good.
All in all, we didn’t pay too much for our stay, but if we had, we might have felt hard done by.

Room Tip: Room 118, on the first floor was quite noisy- try to get a room on the fifth and highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 353lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We return time and time again. Nothing really changes, food is well above standard. Nikos (Maitre d' and crew} Reception including Reservations Manager, chamber maids are so happy and do a really good job - clean linen every day, Going back to food, so much choice (buffet), nobody should go hungry, We'd never gone to Rodini Park but thought we ought after visiting website. Don't think web site has been updated for a very long time as Rodini Park is very very run down, such a shame, however, having got a taxi and then wandered for an hour or so, we came across: a turtle, 3 geese, 5 peacocks (hiding) a few ducks and a dead rat. No taxi rank to get back so either walk (a bit far for the over 50's) or try hail a cab en route. Worth a visit if into archeology is KAMIROS. We last did this 20 years ago and find it better than Lindos.

You wont get better than Hotel Ibiscus if you want best of Rhodes Town.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view, either side view or overlooking Elli Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lassofrichmondhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We chose this hotel because we got a good deal from our travel agency. We were quite disappointed though. The hotel definitely needs refurbishment, the rooms look like from 80's, the carpets in the hallway are dirty and there is a weird smell in the hallway. I wouldn't guess it's a four star, as I have been in a **** hotel in Rhodes Town which was totally different experience.
The room was quite small, with a closet (no shelves! but you could put your tshirts and stuff in a desk drawer), bathroom and balcony. The double room didn't have a king size bed but two beds pushed together, which was a bit annoying. The bathroom had a bath tub and a hair drier. The balcony was ok., although our faced a street that was pretty windy.
The staff at the reception were ok, not every time very pleasant but they did what they had to. The rooms were cleaned every day.
The hotel has a small pool which we didn't use as the sea is just accross the street. The beach is nice (stones) with sunbeds and umbrellas (4 EUR piece), changing room, toilets and refreshment booths.
We wer really surprised by the food in the hotel, we went for breakfast every day, there was a bufet with a wide choice, they even made omelets and crepes. We also went twice for the dinner and each time the selection was different and there was a lot to choose from. We didn't expect this.
The last day we checked out at 12 but we had a night flight so the hotel allowed us to use a shower on the first floor, it was very tiny with no hooks for a clean towel (which we got at the reception, we were also offered shower gel, shampoo, etc.) and clean things but at least something. We appreciated it!
The location of the hotel was good, it was on the beach and you could reach the town in cca 15 minutes, it was a nice walk through a harbor.
In the town I highly recommend to visit a restaurant Oddysey, with a very friendly staff and nice atmosphere, very good food!!! Don't let the people from the opposite restaurant Romeo to drag you in, that's a huge restaurant where the waiters totally don't care about their customers.
All in all, we wouldn't choose the hotel again but it's ok if you spend only nights there...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tap_tapPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#17 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#21 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
Mitsis La Vita Beach Hotel
#52 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#24 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#42 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibiscus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibiscus Hotel

Property: Ibiscus Hotel
Address: Nisirou 17, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibiscus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibiscus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibiscus Hotel Rhodes Town
Ibiscus Rhodes Town
Ibiscus Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing