We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit to the Cava d'Oro Hotel”
Review of Cava d'Oro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cava d'Oro Hotel
Ranked #78 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another visit to the Cava d'Oro Hotel”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been to Rhodes six times and stayed at Cava d'Oro five times (they were renovating during one of my visits.) I always enjoy staying here because it is an historic building and it's on the quiet side of the old medieval town. They serve an ample breakfast which you can eat on the outside terrace. The location near the port is handy if you are going to do day trips to the islands or Turkey. The rooms are very clean and I had a small balcony which is always nice. I love the bells from St. Catherine's right down the street that ring before services. Don't miss going in to take a look at the frescoes and light a candle. Beautiful. As mentioned in other reviews, the owners are terrific and they have done a wonderful job in renovating the buildings to make them comfortable but still invoking the historic past.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner and there is no fitness center and this rating chart shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cherie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    6
    8
    7
See reviews for
13
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We returned to Cava D'Oro again this September and were delighted. We were welcomed warmly and with a half-bottle of sparkling wine. As before Brigit and her stafff were very pleasant and helpful. We had rented a car to facilitate transfer and daily access to the east-coast beaches which we find more accessible than the windy, shingly ones in Rhodes Town itself. Faliraki is ok for this but Brigit told us about Tasambika a few miles further south. We found this very pleasant with all the facilities and easy parking and it became our daily haunt.
Our evenings were spent wandering round the ever fascinating old town which is very tranquil, once you get away from the frenetic commercialism, fascinating in it's own right, immediately round the port entrance.
Last year we enjoyed our stay but the upstairs room was a bit cramped. This year we specifically requested one of the larger rooms and were very pleased. The room, still compact, was full of character and charm but had enough space to be comfortable and a fridge too! The room was downstairs and faced the quiet street but there was no noise to disturb us.
Brigit's generosity continued as she gave us a lovely bottle of olive oil and a bottle of Ouzo as we left. This year we felt the holiday to be perfect for us and had no hesitation in booking "Our Oasis" again for next September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Agnescyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Fantastic. Medieval style hotel set within the walls of Rhodes Old Town. Lovely rooms; ours had a little loft with another double bed, and an o-so-tiny balcony, which we didn't expect. Lovely breakfast setting, outside against the original walls. Lovely breakfast also. I climbed the little ladder here and had a good look over the walls towards the sea. The people were lovely also. We really recommend this hotel, so pleased we stayed here and not in a normal hotel in town. (Town was only a short walk, great for shopping here and hiring a car.) However, from our hotel in the Old Town we were able to wander through the old streets everyday, lots of touristy shops, but with lots of character also. Close to the waterfront, in fact, close to everything. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amyntas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

O.k. We stayed there some years ago. Yet the feeling of mediaval age of the eooms were astonishing. But more, more important than that was the attitude of the German lady, the owner. We were there without any reservations; yet she found a solution everytime we said we want to stay one more day. The island is an excellent experience, and Cava d'oro is the only address we would be back. To have your late afternoon spirit on the city walls was a dream. although she didn't appear very friendly at first sight, she made our holiday a dream come true. Thank You.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just returned from the very crowded island of Rhodes, but our hotel made our trip marvellous! It is located in the beautiful old city, but it is away from the crowds and the noisy bars. And yet, it is minutes away from all the medieval sightseeings. The building dates back to 1290, but it is renovated and as comfortable as it can be. It is very clean and the stuff is very helpfull and polite. I will definately choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StellaRapti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

For the third year in a row, I stayed at this hotel (most years more than once during my stay in Greece) and I have always been happy with the value for money, the location, and the accommodating staff. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

we are going back to Cava d'Oro in September having had a lovely week there last September. This is a small hotel with small rooms but full of atmosphere set against the walls of the old town. Although small the rooms are well equipped and the buffet breakfast in the charming courtyard is very good.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are a bit bigger and we have booked one of these this year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnescyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Spot Hotel
Spot Hotel
#56 of 127 in Rhodes Town
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
0.3 mi away
Niki's Hotel
Niki's Hotel
#77 of 127 in Rhodes Town
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#32 of 127 in Rhodes Town
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De La Sera
Casa De La Sera
#14 of 45 in Rhodes Town
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Of Old Town
Knights Of Old Town
#75 of 127 in Rhodes Town
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cava d'Oro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cava d'Oro Hotel

Property: Cava d'Oro Hotel
Address: 15 Kisthiniou, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cava d'Oro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cava d'Oro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cava D'Oro Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing