We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
89
44
8
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
89
44
8
8
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 155 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Small hotel but with lots of charm and individuality. Loved the owner - intelligent, caring and knowledgable. Tried two rooms, the second having access to a small terrace with fabulous views. Ok, the private bathroom was separate, and the shower was useless, but it didn't bother me in the slightest. I'd return!

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank BrunoR189
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Many thanks for this constructive review. We're getting that shower fixed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Andreas in the heart of Rhodes Old Town. If you like peace and quiet to return to after a hot and hectic day out then this is the place to stay. The hotel is run by Constance and David, who will also pick you up from the airport, and they certainly make it a good base for a relaxed and pleasant holiday.
We had room 19 which was small but charming with a lovely roof patio with fantastic views across the roof tops and over the sea to Turkey - perfect with a glass of wine at the end of the day. Although not en suite you soon forget about the short trip to your bathroom as it all seems in keeping with a lovely old house.
Everywhere is kept beautifully clean. There is a fridge in the lounge where you can help yourself to bottles of chilled water and tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast is taken on the terrace with its wonderful views, and is also where you can enjoy a complimentary glass of wine in the evening with jazz playing in the background.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Rhodes and wanting to stay in the old town with all it's meandering streets and beautiful squares but within a short pleasant stroll down to the bustle of the harbour.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetbubbleperm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

We much appreciate this helpful review. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed here happily a few years ago and as i was back on Rhodes I thought I would see how this unique little place was doing - a pal had said that some of the rooms had been done up.
They had indeed, but the quiet charm of this small boutique hotel in the Old Town has not been touched and there is now a secluded inner terrace for when the historic view from the upper terrace (of the walls and castle and sea beyond) at sunset becomes a little too much...and the free drinks provided by Constance and David at sundown when i was there got the evenings off to a perfect start! So all in all a great place to revisit and spend a few days getting to know Rhodes again, knowing that the owners would happily help with all the details - where to eat, where to get a car, sorting out the airport transfers, etc. Not a family hotel, but like staying with a nice family - great for thinkers and creative people...Many thanks Constance and David: great to be back.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalderimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANDREAS_12, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

To this old friend of the hotel, many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I did a lot of research before booking 12 nights at this hotel and it really was a wonderful experience – we absolutely loved The Hotel Andreas. It describes itself as ‘The Quiet Hotel’, but I would add peaceful, tranquil and calming as well. Situated at almost the highest point of the old town near the St John’s gate and with the most amazing views across a vista of streets and rooftops to The Grand Masters Palace, the hotel grows on you the longer you stay there and soon you’re feeling that you’re not staying in a hotel at all, but in a private house – which in some ways you are.
David and Constance, the English / American owners, are exceptionally welcoming and friendly, take a genuine interest in all of their guests and give generously of their time to chat, answer queries and make recommendations.
They have taken an old Ottoman mansion and lovingly and artistically created an eight-room hotel in creative project that continues to evolve. The large and numerous public spaces are one of the key features that really add to the uniqueness of this place and it’s somewhat rare to find such extensive common areas for guests use in a relatively small property and particularly one of such good value. The upstairs salon, furnished in a Turkish style, with complimentary tea, coffee and chilled water also encompasses a library area. The walled courtyard garden, with orange and lemon trees, numerous plants and shrubs in terracotta tubs and an array of seating is especially relaxing. The large terrace where breakfast is served is where you’ll find the stunning views across the old town and its here that David and Constance offer complimentary wine in the early part of the evening which allows you to chat with them and whoever else may be around, in the most relaxing of settings – a really nice, thoughtful, hospitable touch.
The whole property is very clean, with rooms simply but artistically and creatively furnished. Yes its quirky, but this is an old Ottoman building and that’s what makes it so wonderfully enchanting and appealing. This is the real old town Rhodes and it’s a world away from mainstream tourism and the bland, impersonal hotels of package holidays. People stay here for varying durations and during our time we bumped into some amazingly interesting independent travellers from places as diverse as Norway, New Zealand, Canada, America, Italy and France (but remember, there’s only 8 rooms and the hotel is large enough for it to feel like there’s only you there, which, most of the time, there is).
All of the rooms are very different and there’s comprehensive descriptions of each one complete with pictures on the hotels website. We stayed in room 18, which shares a terrace with room 19 next door, overlooking the old town – you can just sit and read, look out and feel mesmerized. Breakfast, served on the main terrace is included in the very reasonable room rates and includes nice touches like homemade marmalades and preserves, real coffee and the best Greek yogurt you’ll ever taste.
Also, if you get the change to go on the Italian cookery course offered by Constance’s friend Rosanna, then do. We did and it was a wonderful and memorable experience, culminating in eating supper served to you in her lovely apartment or on her terrace a stone’s throw from the hotel.

Finally, if you want a second opinion as to what an amazing little place this is, check The Telegraph Travel section – they awarded it 9/10, describing it, amongst other things, as “a genuinely boutique 8-room inn” and “the best-value and friendliest of the old-town inns”.

Room tip: Rooms 18 and 19 share a terrace with stunning views over the old town.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worcester-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANDREAS_12, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hoteliers dream of reviews like this... We're very grateful for these very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Let me just start by saying if you are looking for an ultra modern hotel with a pool and all the trimmings you won't find it here.
If you are looking for a nice relaxing place right in the thick of things but just enough off the beaten track that you can just do your own thing and have a break and be left alone if you need to be then this is the place for you.
The actual layout of the building means the owners have had to be quite ingenious with some of the features (the shower for example) none of this detracts from the fact that this is a fully functioning hotel and to be honest after a day or two I think it adds to the appeal.
The rooms are cleaned everyday and are more than adequate.
You'll see David and Constance mentioned it other reviews, they are genuinely delightful, you really couldn't ask for more of your hosts.
Would I go again? Well If I make it back to Rhodes I would say without question.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raven3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews