We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Heritage Hotel”
Review of Hotel Andreas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Andreas
Ranked #68 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Charming Heritage Hotel”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My housemate and I shared a wonderful room at the Hotel Andreas within the walls of the old city of Rhodes. The hotel has been remodeled from a single family mansion and is situated at the top of a small hillside neighborhood. The ancient cobblestone streets and arches seem right out of a movie set...but it's the real deal. Felt like we were staying in a private home in ancient Greece with all the amenities of the 21st century. The small staff was friendly and helpful, but not in your face. We never wanted for anything. It's a perfect place for a large family vacation, or retreat, with 7 or so rooms and a dining area with view of the City and the ocean. Wonderful winding walks through ancient streets right from the hotel to the center of the old city...restaurants, atmosphere, shopping and fabulous people watching. LOVED this place, and LOVED Rhodes. Great help from staff on "non-touristy" restaurant choices.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANDREAS_12, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you can return to see the improvements we have made. We have two courtyards now, each 100 sq meters making our common space the biggest in the old town !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    43
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
20
66
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our impressions of Hotel Andreas varied from highly impressed to slightly appalled . The staff are, to a man, delightful - very friendly and always helpful. Our pickup from and return to the airport was extremely efficient. Breakfast buffet was good with lots of local and homemade food and the position within the walls was within an easy and interesting walk of all the sights. The views from our roof terrace and the breakfast terrace must be among the best in Rhodes.
The big letdown was the room (23) which while a reasonable size was dingy, somewhat tatty and furnished with some of the cheapest furniture I have ever seen. The tiny bath/shower was very old and stained and the green , gloopily varnished crazy paved floor was vaguely repellent. With a very hard and creaky bed too you got the impression that this room had been furnished and decorated with only one thing in mind - to spend as little as possible. Almost forgot - one of the sun loungers on the roof was broken and unusable. By Greek standards this is quite an expensive hotel and our room could easily been made much more pleasant with little outlay.
The owners, who have been lucky enough to assemble a great team are not reinvesting in the place, with the excuse of being historic and chic. I think the term is " laughing all the way to the bank" and we were glad to be leaving after two nights. There must be better places in Rhodes Old Town.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teepees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msisis, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are sorry that our guests disliked the room. We would have been more than happy to change it. We would like to welcome them to return and stay in our honeymoon suite free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in May. We opted for the room with a terrace overlooking the town. What a magnificent view! Our private bathroom was down the corridor but this was not a problem as bathrobes were provided. Every room is different which adds to the charm of the place. The hosts are most welcoming and the bread and marmalade in a morning superb. Patrick's coffee? Delicious. If you like somewhere different and quirky this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoukaAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
We hope you had a good summer.
May seems so far now!
Thank you for choosing our place during your stay in the old town.
May be you will have the opportunity to taste our marmelade again!... with the best coffee of Rhodes.
Sincerely
Hotel Andreas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We chanced upon Hotel Andreas whilst searching for somewhere to stay on our way to the island of Symi to show our teenage children the old town of Rhodes. It turned out to be absolutely the perfect choice. It exudes classic greek taste and old world charm - no minimalist modern chic here and thank heavens for that! It is quirky and fun. We were met at the airport by Anna and two drivers, Ken and Tony, and whisked along the cobbled streets right up to the door with a few history lessons along the way. Our hosts could not have been more helpful - Patrick's morning hot chocolate was one of the children's highlights of the holidays! Thank you, thank you! We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much Sophie,
We feel really gratefull that you enjoyed your stay with us!
The old town of Rhodes is expecting you whenever you want to come back!
With our kindest wishes
Hotel andreas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I cannot say enough about the Hotel Andreas. It honestly felt like home during my and my colleagues' stay there. It's small enough to emit the intimacy and comforts of home, but also large enough that no one imposed on anyone's space. The staff treats you like family, the service is wonderful, and the accommodations are highly enjoyable. The terrace also provided us with a great work space for our project, as well as a spectacular view of the Old City and the sea to work by. I highly recommend it, and I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: The lofts are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
We feel so much grateful to feel how much you appreciated your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to receive once again!
With our kindest regards
Sincerely
H.Andreas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Constance, Patrick and Camille are delightful hosts and the hotel is an absolute jewel! They spared no effort to make our stay as comfortable and convenient as possible, and the hotel itself is charming! Fresh breads, homemade marmalade and excellent coffee for breakfast, accompanied by informed and insightful conversations started each of our days, on a terrace washed by cooling breezes and offering a splendid view! Rooms are unique and individual, quiet and with good ventilation. Excellent location inside the walls, close to town center and nightlife.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us!
We feel really happy to feel how much you appreciated your stay in our place!
Thank you for choosing us!
We hope to have the pleasure to receive you once again in the future
With our kindest wishes
Anne Camille and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Patrick and Camille are amazing hosts. Very helpfull, friendly and always joyfull (important to start the day!). The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic, with a beautiful view on the medieval city of Rhodes. We've stayed in the superb honeymoon suite, recommended for all couples. The breakfast is buffet-style but with all fresh and local products. Patrick and Camille's highest aim is to please their guests and that's what makes this place a unique destination to every traveller around the world! Big thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RienDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for this lovely review.
We feel glad that you enjoyed your stay in our place!
It was a pleasure to meet you and make you feel happy in Rhodes!
We hope to have the pleasure to receive you once again in the future... for a new honeymoon!
With our warmest regards
Sincerely
Anne Camille and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Niki's Hotel
Niki's Hotel
#78 of 126 in Rhodes Town
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
0.2 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#31 of 126 in Rhodes Town
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medieval Inn
Medieval Inn
#5 of 54 in Rhodes Town
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Attiki
Hotel Attiki
#2 of 54 in Rhodes Town
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andreas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andreas

Property: Hotel Andreas
Address: Odos Omirou 28D, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Andreas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andreas is small hotel converted from an Ottoman mansion overlooking the old town of Rhodes and the sea. We are located in a disco free, residential neighborhood. We serve breakfast on our panoramic terrace each morning. Every evening from 6-9:30 pm we light the candles in our private bar for guests only. Meet fellow travelers and a friendly international staff at the Hotel Andreas. Nous parlons Francais, Hellinika, Espanol, Italiano, Deutsch et Neerlandis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Andreas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andreas Hotel Rhodes Town
Hotel Andreas Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing