We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fortuitous choice”
Review of Hotel Andreas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Andreas
Ranked #71 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Andreas in May, 2011, after reading that it is one of the Lonely Planet's top picks. What attracted us initially was the fact that it is located in the heart of Rhodes' Old Town and thus had some "character" as we tend to shun hotels built to have an American feel. We were not disappointed. We chose Room #18, a lovely little room with a large, comfortable private bath just down the hall. What we liked about this particular room was that it had access to a nice balcony with stunning views of Old Town, which more than compensated for the fact that the bathroom was not ensuite. Everything was to our satisfaction: the room, the cleanliness, the service, the breakfast, free WiFi, and of course, the location. And the staff is both multi-cultural and multi-lingual, which provided a very interesting but practical dimension. But what sealed the deal for us was that when my husband was diagnosed with a medical emergency that necessitated bed rest and the quickest flight home, the staff's response was exemplary. We were allowed to stay on although we did not have reservations, a staff member accompanied us to her personal physician where she acted as both interpreter and translator, transportation was quickly arranged, I was able to use the hotel phone and computer as often as I needed it at no additional cost, and different staff members helped with the rather complicated arrangements for travel home. Their genuine concern was evident and without question their help was a major contributor to a positive medical outcome for my husband.

In short, if you are looking for a Holiday Inn type hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you are seeking location, local history and culture, ambience, service, and hospitality, you can beat Hotel Andreas.

Room Tip: Check the website for photos and descriptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllenG710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

Arrived in Rhodes with no accommodation booked, completely lucked out finding this pension/boutique hotel in the Old Town, charming location off the beaten track and yet near the action. The hosts are warm, friendly and hospitable. Room #21 in my opinion the way to Go! The view is to die for - wonderful view over rooftops and terraces of old town looking out to port. Wonderful blue sky and blue ocean with a sea of read tiles in between and a gentle breeze to cool your face. Bed comfy, room unique and comfortable - all in all delightful, only stayed one night but made sure to book the same room for my return trip thru Rhodes! also arrived a day early and stayed in Room #13, charming if small room and equally restful.
Breakfast first rate, wonderful homemade marmalade and delicous yoghurt. Wi-fi available too!
Patrick and he's wife are delightfully welcoming striking a perfect balance of helpfulness yet knowing not to intrude. They are like personal guides if necessary and clearly love their life choice of living in Rhodes. As I say, couldn't recommend this hotel enough as a great base to see Rhodes Old Town. Enjoy!

Room Tip: See above Room #21 - way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HML2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Within the ancient city of Rhodes, with a spectacular view
over the minarets towards the Turkish mainland, is this historic hotel.
Staying there was a unique and enriching experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tov2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The Hotel Andreas in Rhodes town is a lovely old Turkish mansion located in a quiet part of the old town. There are great views of the old town and the harbour from the breakfast area and some of the rooms have rooftop decks overlooking the old town. The rooms are all decorated differently and are kind of quirky but charming. The washrooms and showers are private but are located down the hallway in many cases. However it doesn't detract from the charm of the hotel. The best aspect of the hotel has to be the very friendly and warm service by the hotel owners and the staff working there. They really make you feel welcome and I enjoyed talking with them very much.

Room Tip: the rooms with the deck overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I have just read a review of the Hotel Andreas, where I have just been staying. Opinions are one thing, but plain errors of fact are another, and I am concerned that someone reading the review that the couple from Cambridge, Massachusetts have written may take it seriously. First the review suggests that the hotel’s website makes it look much better than it is. It does not. The building is old – it is in the Old Town of Rhodes, so of course it is old. That is part of its charm. Another comment is that some rooms have numbers on the doors when they are really cleaning or storage rooms. What does that matter, and why would any guest need to go peering into cleaning and storage rooms? It is also said that several rooms are tiny and dark: but I was showed several rooms when I arrived, and none were like this. I myself have stayed in Room, 13 ,the smallest room, and even that is very sunny- so sunny there are black out drapes . That room, #13 also has a lovely view of the old town.

It should be obvious from a brief stroll around the hotel that of its ten or eleven rooms only three are without inside bathrooms - not most of them, as the review alleges. Nor are the rooms without closets or any other kind of storage. Every room I was shown was equipped like any other pension I have been in. And the Andreas is not noisy – it is located in a residential area of the Old Town, off the beaten path, and it offers you a most peaceful night’s sleep. The only true remark in this review is a compliment to the kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princesszaynab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I was very disappointed in this hotel - what the website shows and what the hotel actually is are quite different. The hotel has done a great public relations job but the facility is old and run down. Several doors which have room numbers are really the cleaning closet and a storage room and most rooms do not have baths inside. Many rooms are dark and some are very, very small - ie. you keep bumping into things everywhere, no closets or bureaus.. Staff is very nice, accomodating. Terrace is nice but must close at 9 or 9:30 PM which is dinner time in Greece. It is in a quiet area of Rhodes Old Town but there is NO insulation between rooms and floors so you will hear everything your neighbor does not to mention conversation from the terrace or the office.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kal0Taxidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msisis, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Re: this may not be your best bet.
We read this review with great interest and we want to thank these kind people( who stayed with us for five nights without complaining) for pointing out some flaws in our small hotel, located in a 400-600 year old building in the Medieval City of Rhodes.
Our prices are moderate and our hotel is only a simple Ottoman mansion.
All the pictures on our website are of the actual property and the rooms as they currently are so we were puzzled to read that these kind, anonymous people felt that the photos were not representative! In hopes of reassuring them and others we will post new photos with the camera date and time on the new photos . Thanks, kind guest, for your comments!!
Our rooms are, in fact flooded with light and although some rooms( three) have private bathrooms located outside the rooms ( accessible with keys) all other 8 rooms have ensuite bathrooms. So we were surprised to read that these lovely and kind guests were mistaken!
Yes, we do have two linen closets and they have numbers on the doors! Thank you, lovely people, for reminding us!
We wish you well on your journey through life and we thank you for letting us know your first impressions!
Constance Rivevmale, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We were lucky to find this hotel as we went in low season and tried to find somewhere during siesta time. We were shown a couple of rooms and went for the cheaper one. Other reviewers have complained about the bathroom facilities not being ensuite, but this was made clear before we booked and in any case each bathroom is lockable and private to your own room.

We had room 13, which is very small indeed but the bed is up high so you can stow a suitcase underneath it and still find what you need very easily. There was a wardrobe for our use just outside the room, but no lock on that so we didn't use it. Sitting in the bed, you could look out across the medieval city - perfect vantage point for the lightning storms and sunsets!

The room is decorated beautifully and kept clean, and the shower room is just around the corner - also tiny, a wetroom really, but there was plenty of solar-heated hot water and the floor dried off quickly.

The terrace is as lovely as they say it is, but the bar didn't open while we were there (it was raining pretty heavily, so fair enough). Breakfast on the terrace looked sociable, but we went to a cafe instead in search of something cheaper.

If you stay, I would also recommend Indigo, a restaurant in the New Market just outside the Old Town walls, and the Walk Inn restaurant in the Old Town, just around the corner from Hotel Andreas, where we spent hours and hours nursing a carafe of sweet red wine in the sunshine and ate enormous baked pitta sandwiches.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Cava d'Oro Hotel
Cava d'Oro Hotel
#74 of 126 in Rhodes Town
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#32 of 126 in Rhodes Town
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Niki's Hotel
Niki's Hotel
#83 of 126 in Rhodes Town
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#42 of 126 in Rhodes Town
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#40 of 126 in Rhodes Town
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andreas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andreas

Address: Odos Omirou 28D, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $97 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Andreas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andreas is small hotel converted from an Ottoman mansion overlooking the old town of Rhodes and the sea. We are located in a disco free, residential neighborhood. We serve breakfast on our panoramic terrace each morning. Every evening from 6-9:30 pm we light the candles in our private bar for guests only. Meet fellow travelers and a friendly international staff at the Hotel Andreas. Nous parlons Francais, Hellinika, Espanol, Italiano, Deutsch et Neerlandis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Andreas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andreas Hotel Rhodes Town
Hotel Andreas Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing