We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mediterranean
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Although the hotel may be considered dated and the rooms are rather basic, the excellent staff and service make up for any short-comings. The location of the hotel just across the road from the beach and a short walk from some great restaurants and the old town make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimiandgui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2010

I stayed in Mediterranean Hotel from 4th up to 14th of August.
I will mention first what i liked most.
1) If you have a sea view room, the view is perfect the sea is just across the street.
2) Nice from outside close to center 7 minutes walk from all places of center.
3) I could say it is a good Hotel, and free parking all around it. in case somebody might go with car
4) Beach is exactly across the street, croudy beach but i wouldn't say this has interupt me, because we always find a seat in the beach and also i never had confused from the crowd. It is a very big beach so there is enough room for everybody.
Let's see the negative issues:
1) Breakfast is not a 5 star Hotel...2 star maybe. SO long i stayed there the breakfast was exactly the same
2) For those who will stay in higher floors, like 3-4-5-6-, i am sorry to inform you that you might wait 4-6 minutes for this elevator!!!! everybody was complaining about it, it is only one elevator for the rooms in front and one for the back rooms....so, i can not excplain how we had to wait!!
3) Internet...charge 5 euro per hour in the room.!! I rarely find that.
4) The swimming pool ...can not be described as swimming pool, Too small and in wrong place.

In general i could say that it is a good Hotel..but not for sure for the money they charge . I know that daily it is around 160 euro. I wouldn't give more than 100 if i knew how it would be.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klavmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Mediterranean is located at the northern tip of the island, right next to the Casino. Seaview rooms look out on the best beach in the town of Rodos. Free parking is always available at the seaside park adjacent to the hotel, a bonus in an island that offers so much to visitors who have access to a car.

The hotel is modern on the outside but traditionally furnished. Service at the reception, as well as the complimentary buffet breakfast is gracious if a bit old-fashioned.

We were very happy with our room, the view, and the quality of our accommodation, which served as a base to explore the magnificent Old City (walking distance) and the many offerings of the island (rental car).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This hotel was the fourth of our two week trip to Greece. Our flight to Rhodes was delayed 6 hours so we arrived in the evening. The front desk was not friendly at all and when I showed him our reservations thru the travel agent, he said they did not have our reservation. And of course, since it was 8:30 in the evening, the travel agency was closed. He did say he could accomodate us and would call them in the morning. Next morning I asked if everything was alright, he said yes. No apology what so ever. Most of the staff was indifferent. When my daughter went to the pool and asked for a towel, the front desk told her to use our room bath towel and they would replace it (most hotels do NOT want you to take room towels to the pool). When she was finished swimming, she asked the front desk for a fresh towel and they told her that the hotel was full and they didn't know if they could give her a fresh one! This guy was VERY rude to her. He told her he would "try". Housekeeping did come to our room with a new towel after about twenty minutes, but they wanted the "pool" towel in exchange. The pool area was a joke, one was hardly ever in the sun and it was small. I know the beach was just across the street, but not everyone wants to be in salt water and pay for a chair. I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone and it is definitely not even a 3 star hotel. The hallways and dining areas were not air conditioned either.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with colleagues beginning of may on a business trip.Originally, I was happy to hear that I would be staying at this hotel as on previous trips I had spotted the hotel on the sea front and envied those who stayed there.

I was very disappointed when I actually got to stay there. The hotel brochure claims that it is a 5*- no way! I had a room on the 1st floor looking at the back street. The room furniture were a rude wake up call from the 80's, the TV a huge old box, the towels old and falling to pieces on the edges, the armchairs' tapestry was old dirty and smelly. This place had obviously once seen better days.The room, hoewever, was spacious and the showerhead was amazingly powerful for a great shower.

Unfortuntely, my room was only cleaned on the 1st day of my stay there. On the following days, despite taking to the floor housekeeper, my room was forgotten. On the last day, while checking out, when I brought this to the attention of the receptionist, instead of apologizing, I got scolded and I was told that this was all my fault and I should have told them earlier and now it was all too late. Astonished by their attack I just handed in the keys and left.

Breakfast was good, the staff in the breakfastroom and the bar tender were extremely polite. The pool was a joke (of course you are right opposite the beach so why swim in the pool) the bulgarian waitress in the bar was rude and obnoxious, two of the many receptionists were rude and unhelpful. When all of the Greek hotels (even 3*)are turning to free wifi, the mediterranean still charges internet access.

The location of the hotel is its definite advantage. Nevertheless, for the prices quoted ( and it's not cheep!) I would opt for the Best Western or the Rhodos Park Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ectoras_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We made our booking via booking.com, a room with sea view. On the date of our arrival, I made a phonecall to the hotel to verify the reservation. They told me that everything was OK. Only 4 hours later, when we arrived and during our checking in, they informed us that unfortunately, there was no room with sea view available, without explaining why and without bothering to apologise... Instead, they offered us a room with sea view at the same price to a cooperating hotel 3 km away (!!!) or we could stay at the hotel in a standard room with a magnificient view of ..... a wall 1m away... Not even a room with a partial sea view... I am still wondering how everything was OK just 4 hours before our checking in, when I called them... Although greek myself, I am totally fed up and embarassed with greek touristic culture... We get what we deserve...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClarabelCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I want to thank people for their reviews very helpful & truthful about this hotel
We had a view of BOTH sides of RHODES Island Both sides were great for shells and stones. Just so beautiful ! The hotel was just right for me . Good value ,wonderful helpful
staff and location = great vacation All I wanted and more!!!!!! Important to know that many services(bus) DO NOT OPEN TILL THE FIRST OF APRIL. So it was very quiet when we were there end of March

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earthheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
712 reviews
0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
544 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#39 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,533 reviews
3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranean

Address: 35 Kos Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $76 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterranean 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island's most privileged location, it is set in the heart of Rhodes' most popular sandy beach near the Aquarium, minutes away from Rhodes city, next to the Casino and a small distance from the Medieval City, Castle of the Knights and Ancient Ruins. Perfectly positioned, it is one of the very few hotels of the island that combines the benefit of proximity to Rhodes town, for those who seek to take advantage of the city life or explore the attractions of the Medieval town, with the comforts and all round hospitality provided by a first class hotel on the beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mediterranean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Rhodes Town
Mediterranean Rhodes Town
Hotel Mediterranean Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing