We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediterranean Hotel Rhodes Town, Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mediterranean
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a very good hotel with excellent service and facilities. The dinning room is large, comfortable with nice views of the Aegean sea and the beach.
The hotel offers free breakfast, and free wi-fi in the lobby (wi-fi in the room is extra)
The rooms are small - like most European cities, and the bathrooms even smaller, but all in all this is a great hotel because of it's location. Walking distance to most everything, especially the "Old City" which is a must. So many restaurants within walking distance also - We were here 4 days and ate at a different place every day - Not expensive either. We're told the restaurants are cheaper than Mykanos and Santorini.

Everyone speaks English and they are very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: of course the higher the better - some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsambika G, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,
Thank you very much for your warm and reassuring comment in Tripadvisor about your stay in our Mediterranean Hotel. Being our aim to fulfill to the best of our abilities, all our guests needs and requests, your positive feedback is the greatest satisfaction for all us here at the Mediterranean Hotel. We hope that you will decide to visit us again in the near future and we promise you will enjoy once more your stay with us on our Amazing Island of Rhodes.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were re-booked at this hotel when we found out a timeshare we booked in March was off season and closed. Our first night here the room was very hot, so we opened the door(we were told the ac would net yet be turned on until the heat was turned off in summer). We woke to a room full of mosquitoes and were given only a diffuser to get rid of them.The TV said it had movie channels, but the only ones available were erotic ones which we were not interested in. The room was fine, but a bit outdated. The food at the hotel was just ok, a bit bland and boring.

The good part was that this is an excellent location within walking distance to everywhere in old town and downtown. The view from the ocean front room which we moved to after the first night was sensational, but costed more each night.

The staff was polite, not over-friendly but hospitable.
We loved the town of Rhodes and all of the townspeople.

Room Tip: If you stay here you really should ask for an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear esteemed guest,

We would like to thank you for bringing your valuable experience to our attention and that you appreciated the unique location of our Hotel Mediterranean in the most privileged point of the island, right opposite to a beautiful beach.
As far as it concerns your comment about the mosquitos in the room, we really feel compassion for the inconvenience, but the diffuser is the only way to exterminate them, even though this is the first time an issue like this is reported to us.
The Hotel provides Satellite Channels full of different kind of movies, travel channels, news channels for all tastes. As far as it concerns the pay TV, it refers exclusively to erotic content movies. We try hard to please all our guests having a big variety of channels.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and we promise that you will be treated with the utmost professionalism, courtesy and personal attention which uniquely characterize Mediterranean Hotel.Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I went for a bussiness trip and stayed 2 nights.
Terrible staff and totally unpolite. To get an answer to my questions - simply ones, for example where the brekfast is served- i waited minutes without given me a glance.
Very poor breakfast , the milk which supposed to be cold was in rooom's temparature and that means that it was out of the fridge at least an hour...croissants and cookies were not fresh enought..
Room had old styled furniture from 70s', and was obvious that has not been a renovation since then. The matress was very tought and the pillow too. The bigest disadvantage was that the room was not cleaned properly. The towels were very tough and seemed dirty.. i was feeling dirty even when i was taking a shower cause the bath was dirty too. One night there was cold and i opened the closet to take a blanket. Oh my God..Blankets were so old and so multi used i was afraid that if i opened one a spider will come up.. The walls were dirty too with several stains.The even worst was that the housekeepers when they cleaned the room not only they didn't change us the towels and they just fond them up , they mixed them up !! and as a result we didn't know which was mine and wich was my collegue that we shared the room.
In general nothing was good and i don't suggest it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sous23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear esteemed guest,
We would like to thank you for bringing your comments to our attention. Being our aim to fulfill to the best of our ability all our guests needs, negative feedback, however constructive it may be, is always sad to hear.
With reference to your comments about the renovation and the old styled furniture, we assure you that it will be taken into consideration even though the Hotel has been renovated in 2000 from scratch.
With reference to your comments about the rooms and the insufficient cleaning, we will take it under consideration. Even though the rooms are cleaned daily, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused and we will act upon it.
At this point we would like to inform you that our Mediterranean Hotel has a 45 year experience in the hospitality sector and during all these years, we always try to treat all guests with the utmost professionalism courtesy and personal attention. This is also the reason that our guests have honored us with their preference by receiving a certificate of excellence for the year 2013 from Tripadvisor, Zoover and Holiday Check.
We do hope that you will decide to visit us again in the near future and thus convince you this time that our establishment is deserving of the world wide recognition it enjoys.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I don't think there is anything better in walking distance to the historic old town. The hotel could stand renovation but it is still pretty good. We had a great view of the sea (overlooking the beach), and my personal issue is having a good shower with lots of hot water, and it checks that box. Cleanliness overall was good but it is a little worn. This is a European 4 star hotel and it fit nicely in that category. Desk staff was helpful and there is a restaurant. Breakfast is OK. They have a hot breakfast bar with eggs, both fried and scrambled, but my favourite item was the sausages. Did not do dinner as there are plenty of other great options nearby. Lobby bar has a good selection of standards.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear esteemed guest,
Thank you very much for your warm and reassuring comment in Tripadvisor about your stay in our Mediterranean Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you had a good time on the beautiful island of Rhodes, and that our hotel contributed partly to it. Your positive feedback is the greatest satisfaction and biggest return for all us here at the Mediterranean Hotel. The management of our Hotel is working hard to fulfill all your expectations therefore great projects of refreshments are on the table.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and give us the chance once more to pumper you and offer you our utmost service on our beautiful island of Rhodes.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotels offers a stunning view of the sea in Rhodes, though it definitely needs a renovation! The breakfast was good, with a lot of choices. The room did not have available sockets. The bathroom could use more light. The room was a bit dusty. The was only one small elevator, not enough for all these rooms and floors. Wifi was disconnecting all the time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentina-Trikounaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear esteemed guest,
Thank you for your useful feedback concerning our Hotel Mediterranean and for spending time in sharing your experience in this important travelling site with our future guests.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Sea View from the islands’ most privileged location in the heart of Rhodes.
Further to your comments we would like to inform you that we take seriously under consideration the renovation issue, and even though the Hotel has been renovated in 2000, our interest is keeping our establishment up-to-date, so we never stop getting better and better.
Concerning your complaints about the elevators, we would like to inform you that our Hotel provides two elevators, one next to the reception on the left, and one larger on the right, but it is noteworthy that most clients prefer to use basically the left one.
Concerning the sockets, the room is equipped with 5 sockets, but nevertheless the reception could have provided you with an extra plug extension, in order to cover all of your needs.
We hope that despite the issues occurred, you have finally enjoyed your stay with us, and you’ll decide to visit our Hotel Mediterranean again in the near future, to relax and enjoy the sea, the sun and the rich culture of our beautiful island!
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a large hotel facing the sea, adjacent to the Casino and only 10 minutes walk from the historic World Heritage Old Town. The entrance and public spaces create a sense of calmness and sophistication but the rooms are a little spartan and tired looking in their decor. However, the views from the balconies more than compensate for the slight disappoint about the rooms, which are otherwise very comfortable. In the days of free wi-fi in most hotels it is a little frustrating to have to go down to reception to purchase a wi-fi voucher within a hotel of this potential but, otherwise I had no qualms about considering it for my next trip to Rhodes.

Room Tip: Although front rooms have a spectacular view of the sea, the side rooms can view the sea in the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear esteemed guest,

We appreciate your time in posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor.
We were delighted to hear that your holiday on the beautiful island of Rhodes was deserving of your expectations. Your positive feedback is the greatest satisfaction and biggest return for all of us here at the Mediterranean Hotel.
Concerning your one and only complain about the Internet, we would like to make you aware of the fact that the Hotel offers free use of the internet in the lobbies and in common areas. In the rooms, there is a symbolic charge, just to keep the system fast and friendly for all users and protect it from overloading. Nevertheless, we will take your comment under severe consideration.
We hope that you will decide to visit us again in the near future and enjoy your stay in our Hotels’ most privileged location, on the beach, in the heart of the beautiful city of Rhodes!!!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is located in the centre of Rhodes, so you can easily walk to almost anywhere in the town. This is the only good thing about it. The rooms need renovation as soon as possible. Inside our room there was also a funny smell like bad filtering of air. The breakfast was bad, the bread was baked 2 days ago, the juices were very washy, the fried eggs were very crispy and cold. The service was acceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vang_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the comfort and value of our property and we will keep them in mind as we try to improve our guests' experience. Please accept our apologies for any discontent you may have had with our breakfast options - your feedback has been communicated to our food & beverage team for consideration. Negative comments are not pleasant but are always constructive.
We are thrilled to hear how much you appreciated the location of our Hotel Mediterranean on the beach and on a walking distance from the historic center of Rhodes and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again to our Hotel and to our beautiful island of Rhodes.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
711 reviews
0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
544 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#39 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,533 reviews
3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranean

Address: 35 Kos Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $77 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterranean 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island's most privileged location, it is set in the heart of Rhodes' most popular sandy beach near the Aquarium, minutes away from Rhodes city, next to the Casino and a small distance from the Medieval City, Castle of the Knights and Ancient Ruins. Perfectly positioned, it is one of the very few hotels of the island that combines the benefit of proximity to Rhodes town, for those who seek to take advantage of the city life or explore the attractions of the Medieval town, with the comforts and all round hospitality provided by a first class hotel on the beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediterranean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Rhodes Town
Mediterranean Rhodes Town
Hotel Mediterranean Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing