We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CONFUSING HOTEL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mediterranean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mediterranean
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“CONFUSING HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was confused by the reviews for this hotel prior to my visit. It appeared to be a hotel that you either love or hate so I was pleased to be able to visit it during the first week of October 2013 and find out the truth.
My main concern was the reports from people who booked sea view rooms were ,on arrival, given rear or side view rooms. So in order to make sure that this didn't happen to me I faxed the hotel 2 weeks prior to my arrival and received a reply confirming that my wife and I would have the sea viewroom we had ordered and paid for in March 2013. On arrival we were swiftly checked in and shown to our room. Before the porter left I pulled back the drawn curtains to admire the night sea view and was greeted with a view overlooking the back of the hotel. We immediately left the room fuming and returned to the front desk. After a big heated discussion I realised they didn't have sea view room to offer me but assured me that there would be one available the following day. They also said that this was a very unusual occurrence but as we know from Tripadvisor reports this was a lie.
The following morning we were given our sea view room at 9.15am and we were compensated very well I have to admit in terms of a generous bar credit.
After that the week went very well. The room and view were terrific, the food was good for the price, the waiters and bar staff were friendly and its location could not be faulted.
Shame they have to treat you so unprofessionally on arrival and they need to sort this problem out.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, have a seaview room but they are only in the sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SouthNottinghamFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,
We appreciate your time in posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor. We would like to transmit our sincere apologies for the inconvenience concerning the first night in our Hotel Mediterranean.
Unfortunately, we didn’t manage to provide you the room you have booked and paid for, from the first moment but fortunately, the inconvenience was only for few hours.
Thank you for accepting our apologies and for enjoying your stay in Rhodes and in our Hotel Mediterranean.
At this point we would like you to know that we work hard trying to be professionals after 45 years of experience in the hospitality sector and during all these years, we always try to treat all guests with the utmost courtesy, honesty and personal attention. This is also the reason that our guests have honored us with their preference by receiving a Certificate of Excellence for the year 2013 from Tripadvisor, from Zoover and finally from Holiday Check!
We hope you have finally loved your stay with us, and visit Hotel Mediterranean again in the near future, to relax and enjoy the sea, the sun and the rich culture of our beautiful island!
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    323
    123
    58
    40
See reviews for
155
359
53
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

we booked 4 nights in the hotel and the only good thing to say about it, is that the location was graet-close to the city center.all ather things were avarage.
whene you don't buy drinks at dinner or at breakfest than the service changs, and the attitued of the weters is like angry and disapoited.they even take your plat early befor you finish eating.
the room is ok but the cleaning is minimal every day
and also at the beach the sunbads are not of the hotel at all, and you need to pay every day for a sunbad aldo the hotel write that is has a beach of its on.
good internet service-free no charge at the lloby-3 camputers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank efratm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear esteemed guest,

We would like to thank you for bringing your valuable experience to our attention and that you have appreciated our hotel’s privileged location and the free internet service at the lobby.
As far as it concerns your comments about our waiters’ service we will pass your message to to General Management for amelioration and improvement.
In regard with your comment about the charge of sunbeds, we would like to like to let you know that all beaches in Greece are open to public and in our case the charge of sundeds belongs exclusively to the Municipality’s authorities to arrange.
Despite all these, we do hope that you will decide to visit us again in the near future, so that next time we will be able to show you the true spirit of hospitality professionalism, courtesy and personal attention that our hotel is long being characterized .
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel does not deliver the product that you pay for. We arrived at reception to be told that we could not stay in the sea view room that we had booked and paid for for 5 nights . We were ushered into an office and told various different stories all of which turned out to be false. Other Australians in Reception confirmed that they too had been unable to stay at the hotel for the first night and were accommodated elsewhere. We were delayed for 90 minutes and although promised an inferior room for the night this never eventuated. We finally agreed to stay at another hotel for the night and as compensation accepted a days car hire payment.
It will be interesting to see if we actually get to stay in the room we have booked and paid for and if the car hire is paid for. Suggest that you avoid booking this hotel.Stay tuned.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel Reception staff couldn't lie straight in bed! appalling reception Aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyF884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The sea view rooms were clean and the view was good BUT had to fight to get the sea view room we had booked. Was told that the hotel was booked out but they could give me a sea view room the next day after 1pm. Offered us free dinner in the dining room - Ok - but a buffet not what you are looking for when you have travelled from West Australia to Greece. '
The same thing happen to our friends that came two days after us - they were transferred to a sea view room the next day but it is a hassle. So beware if you book this hotel. The back rooms are terrible , very noisy. By looking at the reviews it seems it is there policy to get you a bad room first and then try to compensate. They did eventually give us a discount on the room we had the first night but not without a hassle and of course if you pay up front you do not get any compensation. SO BEWARE WHEN BOOKING THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Check a few day before and make sure you get a sea view room for the start of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for your useful feedback concerning our hotel and for spending time in writing your valuable comments in this important travelling site.
We apologize for the inconvenience caused, and for delaying to offer you the exact type of room requested for one day, especially after having travelled from Western Australia to stay with us.
We do know that sincere apologies cannot make up for the inconvenience caused. We do hope however that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in our property in the near future, and convince you this time that our establishment deserves the world-wide reputation of warm hospitality on the island of Rhodes .
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

front view to the sea(extra cost),nice stuff, very good room with air condition, good half-board meals, located in 15 min walking distance to the old town,5-10 min shopping - excellent hotel.
we stay for 4 days - nothing to need more.

O.g.

Room Tip: if an extra cost do not bother, you must order a room with sea view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oded g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diakoulas A, Manager at Hotel Mediterranean, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,
Thank you very much for your warm and reassuring comment in Tripadvisor about your stay in our Mediterranean Hotel. We were delighted to hear that our hotel met your expectations. Being our aim to fulfill to the best of our abilities, all our guests needs and requests, your positive feedback is the greatest satisfaction and biggest return for all us here at the Mediterranean Hotel.
We hope that you will decide to visit us again in the near future and enjoy our warm hospitality!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Generally good hotel, but do make sure you get a superior sea-view room and check via the phone, a few days before arrival, that the booking is correct. Do not book a cheaper back room; the bathrooms are the most cramped on the planet! Food is very average with some pleasant dishes and breakfast buffet daily variable and with some items appearing later than anticipated - such as hard boiled eggs; strangely they were unable to poach eggs on order! Not good enough. Waiting staff OK and some rather endearing and all staff generally helpful. Rooms clean but some occasional hiccups with missing towels and damp sheets, as is perhaps expected with an average busy seafront 4 star hotel. My big criticism is the ultra expensive guest laundry service, which seem to forget about my clothes and took far too long to return them, despite several reminders. Worth it for the view, otherwise the Best Western Plaza hotel, without a sea-view but with a larger garden and bigger pool, has superior food. Book through a package company and strike a deal; but do B&B as around the corner are some excellent tavernas around the hotel, including Ancient Flame and Louis. Finally, air-conditioning is very good.

Room Tip: Back rooms are not recommended - only the front sea-view rooms and suites. However, if you are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsoon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Well, this hotel is not a one you could dream about but I liked that it is close to the sea, the district where the hotel is situated is quiet, not noisy. Everything you mignt need is in 5-10 min walk - Bus station, old city center and a bar street.
I travelled alone and for the first night they provided me an awful room, so small that i felt there like in a cage and without balcony (I payed for the room with balcony). But I asked them to change it and they replaced it with another one, much better.
I liked the service, all the people were very open and friendly, waiters were attentive and kind.
Food was ok, but I disliked that dinner was served to early (18:00-21:00). When i came one time at 20:45 they said that they were to close and i had to eat in a hurry. Drinks are extracharged. So I'd advice to have dinner in some other places, much cheaper and up to your choice.
Nevertheless I had a wonderful time there, I think I could stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view are perfect, rooms with a rare view (to such called garden) are noisy, '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#21 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#93 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#23 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranean

Property: Hotel Mediterranean
Address: 35, Kos (Cos) Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#32 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterranean 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island's most privileged location, it is set in the heart of Rhodes' most popular sandy beach near the Aquarium, minutes away from Rhodes city, next to the Casino and a small distance from the Medieval City, Castle of the Knights and Ancient Ruins. Perfectly positioned, it is one of the very few hotels of the island that combines the benefit of proximity to Rhodes town, for those who seek to take advantage of the city life or explore the attractions of the Medieval town, with the comforts and all round hospitality provided by a first class hotel on the beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Mediterranean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Rhodes Town
Mediterranean Rhodes Town
Hotel Mediterranean Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing