We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor standard room and expensive”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Ranked #8 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor standard room and expensive”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I holidayed in Rhodes (Atrium Platinum, Ixia) in early June and after visiting Rhodes Town and loving it we decided to book a hotel in the town itself for late August. Researching the internet and using trip advisor we decided on Rodos Park.

Having booked many quality hotels in the past for our holiday needs, we were both disappointed with this hotel. We always book standard rooms which offer the same quality as the more expensive rooms but may be a little smaller and minus a good view. Being advertised a small luxury hotel I was expecting about the same at Rodos Park.

We had room 319; the bedroom was fair but nothing luxurious about it, I would give it a 4 star status. The bathroom was ridiculously small and it`s decor was tired and damaged in places. The bath was old with a lack of shine to the glazing.

One day I had a bath, but the plug wouldn`t come out on completion, it had to stay full until morning. This happened again later in the week. the following morning the plug mysteriously disappeared.

The view from the balcony was good (archaeological site) or bad (back of scruffy looking flats) depending on which way you looked.

There was no wifi in the room and the television was frustratingly slow and unresponsive with only one English channel (BBC world news) There were snacks and a mini bar, but the prices were to prohibitively high to make them useful.

The hotel itself does have a quality feel about it, this includes the pool area, the pool bar area and the roof top cocktail bar.

We couldn`t access the pool bar area for 3 days because it had been set up for a Greek music event, (which as a hotel guest we were not invited unless we paid 36 Euro) Although we wouldn`t have used it much, the snack/food prices were ridiculously high, especially when you can walk 10 minutes down the road to the old town and enjoy a better cheaper selection there.

Breakfast is american style so don`t expect your typical British fare. You can order fried eggs or an omlette, but you will have to wait quite a while for them to arrive, I waited 25 minutes for my fried eggs. The cereal selection is very poor. This small hotel has to cater for all continental tastes and there was plenty of alternatives if you prefer.

All staff were nice, friendly and helpful, as I find most Greek people are.

I really wanted to like this hotel considering the location, but the room and the ridiculous prices let it down for me. We always expect to pay a little more at a good hotel, but the prices were to silly. As the better half said "16 euros for a beefburger and it doesn`t even come with chips"

We will definitely be going back to Rhodes town but I don`t think we will be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don`t pick a standard room the bathroom is to small and of poor standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodosPark, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Rodos Park Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Rodos Park Hotel for your holidays this August in Rhodes Island.

We were pleased to hear that our staff made you feel welcomed and through them you experienced the Greek hospitality.

We feel sorry that our services did not reach your expectations but we want to thank you anyway for spending this time and raising issues about your stay that could be improved.

Your opinion is very important for us because our goal is to satisfy all of our guests and we are going to take your comments into seriously consideration.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to have you us a guest and welcome you again!

Best regards,
Katia St.
Guest Relations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    80
    32
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
227
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked online ( not direct) and were given a small room with minute ensuite ..smelt of smoke .. Had a flashing light all
Night and views of drying washing when we drew back the curtains in the morning. After complaining we were moved to a larger room over looking the pool which was much better. So do not assume you will get a nice room when booking with 3 rd parties.
The hotel was super and close to lovely old town and harbour .. Which was good for us as we were travelling to a smaller island on a catamaran to stay for a week. The hotel staff were very helpful when we returned as they let us leave cases in left luggage before we were collected by the transfer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stay here the early part of August . The hotel is very nice and rooms are spacious. I would have expected our suite to have been
Much bigger as we went for the top spec one. There was no complimentarys in the room. Not even water which I found very surprising. I would not stay here again. Too expensive for what it is

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I were in Rhodes in early August and had chosen this hotel based on the many positive reviews online as well as it's location, which is only a 5 minute walk from the glorious medieval old town.

The hotel is beautiful, with a very understated luxurious feel. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and well decorated and the lobby is also very nice, with beautiful areas to read or rest.

The pool area is simply gorgeous, with a large, extremely clean infinity type pool surrounded by lounge chairs, flowers and trees and a bar and outdoor cafe a few steps away that offers drinks and food, which were of high quality. The pool area is like an oasis in the middle of Rhodes and a perfect place to spend a few hours after walking the new and old towns. The pictures of the pool area on the hotel's web site do not do it justice.

What made this hotel even more special was the unbelievable service from every person who worked at the hotel. From the three lovely ladies that worked behind the front desk during the day to the intelligent, kind man who worked at the front desk in the evening, we could not have been made to feel more welcome. They helped us with a car rental, and discussed with us interesting places and beaches to visit all over the island (we had the car for 4 full days). The waiters and waitresses were also so helpful and nice, whether it was at breakfast or at the outdoor cafe for lunch. We did not try dinner at the hotel so we can not comment on this.

In our bathroom, however, there were no drawers and not nearly enough counter space around the sink for our personal products. As well, we found that although the buffet breakfast was varied, the food offered was not as high quality as it could, or should, have been. We think the hotel should consider improving the quality and selection of the breakfast items.

Aside from these two minor issues, we could not have been happier with our stay at this hotel. Rhodes is such a wonderful island and this hotel made our time in Rhodes very special. We plan on going back to Rhodes with our children and staying here once again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice now and this is my first review of the Rodos Park.
Firstly, the location is perfect. 5 minute walk to the new town for great shopping and eating out, also 5 minute walk to the old town where the castle is located and an energetic night of tastes and more shopping awaits. Also a good location for parking your hire car if you get one.
The hotel itself is very grand but on a smaller scale hence its worthy small luxury hotels of the world membership. The staff are very professional without being stuffy at all, they were quite lovely to interact with. Breakfast was fantastic with a great selection. The pool is lovely to laze around during the hot days, and beautiful at night if you decide to eat outside. The room we had was the Superior Suite which accommodated two adults and two children very comfortably. You'll get a king size bed with ensuite and a double roll out bed if you got kids which was quite comfortable.
Also, do try the spa, it's amazing.

My only two complaints would be the TV program selections and the terrible in room wifi which hardly worked. I still give the hotel a full rating as I didn't bring the family to play on their iPads and watch TV. But it would be nice if they sorted those two issues out for comfort at least when in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We very impressed by the position of the hotel and quality of the rooms, pool, service, food.I would like to thank the staff for having upgraded us to a beautiful Suite on the back, very quiet room.I was so sad to leave this hotel after 3 nights and move to a big resort in Ixia where there is nothing to do: only big hotels,supermarkets, and touristic restaurants!I prefer small luxury hotels like Rodos Park Suite and I will come back!We were lucky to see a French Tv star at the swimming pool, she's very famous but I respect her privacy, so I will not write her name!
Thank you everybody.
Alexandra

Room Tip: choose a room on a back side if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for about a week on a business trip. The front desk staff were extremely helpful. One of my colleagues had her bag lost by the airline and the desk kept calling for her. The breakfast buffet had a lot of variety and was very fresh. The pool was beautiful as well as the rooms. IT was right next to Old Town as well. I would definitely stay here again when in Rhodes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,662 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,641 reviews
0.5 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.1 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
2.5 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
586 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sentido Ixian Grand
Sentido Ixian Grand
#20 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Rodos Park Suites & Spa

Property: Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Address: 12 Fereou Riga, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rodos Park Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the most beautiful spot of the town, surrounded by green parks and next to the medieval city, the renovated 5 star Rodos Park Suites & Spa, offers the true sense of hospitality. All 59 rooms & suites have the signature of personalized service and elegant style. Equal to every challenge its dining options combine the culinary splendor whereas at the wellness spa you can discover the exceptional world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodos Park Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Park Hotel Rhodes Town
Rodos Park Suites And Spa
Rhodes Hotel Rodos Park
Rodos Park Suites & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing