We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Agla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Agla Hotel
Ranked #37 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
SE England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

One of the prime reasons we chose the Agla Hotel was because of the glowing reports we read on here. Our expectations were high, but sadly they were quckly dashed. We paid extra for a room with a sea view on the 4th floor and were told it was a "superior" room, but the expense really was not worth it. Yes, we could see the sea, but it had to be viewed across some rather ragged buildings between which was a mere glimpse of the beach.
The room was an acceptable size, but the shower room was small and the shower itself very small. We only had lukewarm water for the first week, but eventually the problem was resolved and was fine for the second week. Storage space for clothes etc. was limited. We had to request extra coat hangers as there were only 6 in the wardrobe - we were given just another 4! Our tee shirts and tops had to be piled on a chair as there was no drawer storage space except for the shallow dressing table and side tables drawers. The only electric socket was placed close to the door opening on to the balcony which was most impractical. We had to move the dressing table stool to enable us to plug the kettle in. We found a kettle and 2 cups in the wardrobe, but we had to buy our own coffee and sugar and wash the cups ourselves! On the plus side the rooms were cleaned every day (except Mondays!) and the beds and towels changed daily.

The meals (breakfast & evening dinner) were adequate and of reasonable quality, but sadly limited, unimaginative and lacking in variety. The menu definitely needs to be expanded to give guests more options. The restaurant itself is not particularly appealing and reminded us of a school canteen.

The pool area is pleasant but quite small and at the time we were there soon became shaded.

Without a doubt the staff are the shining lights of this hotel. They are friendly, extremely helpful and informative. Sophia, in the restaurant, is an absolute gem. The staff make up for all that the hotel lacks in other ways.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCleery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I am sorry that you found the hotel disappointing and note all your comments. I sat in the restaurant this week and did not get any negative comments except that the desserts were limited. We are slowly upgrading our wardrobe space and we know the problem, you should have insisted on more hangers, as towards the end of the season they tend to disappear.
All in all I do not think the negative aspects you mentioned spoiled your holiday and I thank you for taking the time to bring your thoughts to our attention

Pamela
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    191
    70
    19
    18
See reviews for
92
248
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Agla is in a brilliant location. A stones throw from the windy beach and local facilities. The Old Town and New town are less than 15 minutes walk away.
We were on Bed and Breakfast, the daily breakfast buffet was the best we've had in a long time. The quality and variety of food available was second to none.
The rooms were very clean and towels changed daily.
The staff are very friendly and efficient, it would not be fair to single out any individuals.
The swimming pool is a reasonable size with ample sunbeds available.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Rhodes Town.

Room Tip: A high floor room on the front of the hotel has a wonderful view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
A wonderful review, thank you so much, you covered everything and there is not much more I can add .
Pamela
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is in a good location with easy access to the town, but as many others have commented, it is the friendly staff that make the holiday here. Breakfast is reasonable quality but there are better options elsewhere for other meals than the buffet meals on offer. There does not seem to be any point in paying for more than the standard room as none has much of a view. The bar is friendly and efficient, but not cheap. There is a good pool and when we were there in September it was in full sunlight all morning. Everywhere is clean and fresh. The bathrooms are small in all the rooms we saw. If you want a quiet room ask for it at the back of the building

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back. There is an excellent shuttle bus service to and from the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dem0Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for y our concise and excellent review with valid tips. We are so glad to know you enjoyed your and thank you for raking the time to write a reveiw. Its much appreciated.
Pamela
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned after two weeks at the Agla - been to Rhodes Town for many years and this is definitly the very best Hotel in my view. A family run Hotel where the staff make you feel like a member of the family. Excellent facilities in a perfect location, close to all amenities including the Old Town which is ten minutes walk away. Cannot fault at all - will definitly return very soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we were so happy that you were so content with your stay. I see you have already booked again and we will be so pleased to see you again..
Pamela
Agla Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for the windy beach and is just a stone throw from bars, tavernas and night life. Facilities in the hotel are good with a nice bar and terrace area. The standard room is functional.Only one electrical point which makes it difficult if you are using your own hairdryer etc as it is not near a mirror. The hairdryer in the bathroom is typical greek hotel hairdryer with not much power. Fresh towels are provided as and when you need them. Ironing facilities are provided in the basement as the hotel forbids you to use an iron in your room. Many hotels do this now. The staff in the hotel are magnificant. I don't want to single any one out as they are all hard working and can't do enough to please. Now for the down side to All Inclusive package. Not many guests are on All Inclusive package at this hotel. Buffet breakfast, set lunch and buffet dinner - all very good. However lunch is served to you and consists of salad and a choice of several main dishes plus a dessert which is ice cream or fruit. After our second day we were told All inclusive guests can't sit at the front terrace area where other guests could have lunch. We had to sit at the pool area overlooking the pool and guests who were sunbathing. Why - we have paid in advance. And it was not the case that the hotel was busy with other guests having lunch. We should not be treated as anything other than paying guests. This was disgraceful treatment and so much so we stopped going for lunch. Drinks at the bar finish at 22.00. Quite poor especially when any entertainment goes on until 23.30.There are no in between snacks on offer. If you want anything you can buy from the hotel supermarket which is very reasonable and staff there very pleasant. Free wi-fi in the lobby area - not the case . If you spend 5 euro you get 30 minutes free wi fi. When I enquired at reception about this I was told that I had to purchase something at the bar. When I pointed out we were All Inclusive and had paid up front the receptionist was quite dismissive. This was really insulting as the suggestion was that we had not paid for anything. Perhaps I should have provided my receipt for hotel cost for our stay. I did not want to pursue this matter further at the time as we were on holidaay to relax but this issue really does need to be addressed. Outside the hotel most bars and restaurants provide unlimited free wi fi and that's where we went. Having stayed in other 3 /4 star All Inclusive hotels in the vicinity the Agla significantly struggles to even come close to any of it's competitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186534Sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Gueats from Scotland,
Thank you for your very thorough review and you have certainly made me think particularly about the wi fi in the reception area. First of all you should not have been told that you can only sit near the pool for lunch, our advice to the staff is to try and split the people between the two areas only when we have more than 25 people on all inclusive. I apologise for this.
Regarding the time the drinks for all inclusive finish this is the normal time in all hotels not totally all inclusive and we do give the tour companies a comprehensive list of what is included and all times in our all inclusive light programme.
We do charge for wi fi and again if you check most of the hotels in Rhodes you will find this is quite normal, in fact at some large all inclusive hotels actually charge 100 euros per week. I am actually going to London for the World Travel Market in November and in spite of paying 180 pounds per night for bed only I stll have to pay for wi fi.
I want to thank you once again for giving us a good review in spite of the hiccups and just to let you know that you have paid in advance but it will probably be 2 months before we are paid by the tour operator and this is quite normal.
I do hope you enjoyed your holiday and maybe you will visit us again but not on all inclusive basis! If you do I would love to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are very happy that we had an opportunity to stay at hotel Agla.
What a fantastic staff they have. Hotel is on a perfect location 10 mins by foot from everywhere.
New town, old town, beaches, restaurant`s, night life...Very clean and nice rooms, lovely pool, excellent food especially dinner with continental and traditional Greek specialties.
We give you 5/5 and we will recommend hotel Agla, for sure, to everyone here in Belgrade, Serbia.
Dear Ms. Sirpa, thank you again because you helped us to realize our holiday. Regards to all staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koljabgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Front Office Manager at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate it.
It was nice to meet you and we wish you all the best.
Hopefully you are able to visit us again!
Lots of regards from Sirpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Agla hotel for two last weeks of August. Great staff, ready to help with insightful tips for the beaches and places to visit. Little library with good selection of books you can take and leave as you wish. Food very varied and delicious, including all traditional dishes and superb baklavas! Restaurant staff more than friendly, especially Sofia, who made us feel like we were at home. Location very good, close to the old town and secluded from the strong wind, but still pleasantly fresh even at very hot days. Pool very cute and relaxing. Rooms clean and comfortable. warm recommendations for this hotel! We are considering paying another visit next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guests from Serbia,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Agla Hotel. Sophia in the restaruant is indeed a great asset and has been with us for many years however we do value all our staff.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review and we hope someday to see you back in the Hotel Agla
Pamea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
#36 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#35 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#22 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantis City Hotel
Atlantis City Hotel
#40 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agla Hotel

Property: Agla Hotel
Address: 35 Amerikis, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Agla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Agla is situated 50 meters from the beach in a quiet area near the centre of Rhodes Town, only 5 minutes from the Old Town and the shopping centre of the New Town. Therefore it is in the ideal position to combine a beach holiday with shopping and sightseeing. Combining the advantages of a modern city hotel with a friendly family atmosphere, the hotel Agla is the ideal choice, summer and winter, for holidaymakers and businessmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agla Hotel Rhodes Town
Agla Resort Rhodes Town
Agla Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing