We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“proper greek food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Socratous Garden

Socratous Garden
Ranked #26 of 399 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“proper greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stumbled upon this hidden gem as it was the only place not to be hassling us to come inside. That speaks for itself. We've been here twice it's that good. The staff are friendly and the food is amongst the best we've ever eaten. Bottled water only cost one euro and food is reasonably priced; for the quality I would definitely pay those kinds of prices all day long. The atmosphere is lovely, so pretty and secluded; a little haven in the busy old town. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LnR_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    191
    36
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We spent a glorious hour here in the lovely secluded gardens in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the old city. . Only had a drink but the staff were attentive and funny. Seems like a great place.

Helpful?
Thank aileenhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely place to spend a few hours relaxing with a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We went to this place a few times and could not have enjoyed it more. It was one of the very few places in Rhodes town were you are not practically pushed into a seat before you have even decided if you want to eat there. Despite being in the heart to the Rhodes old town it is secluded, we walked straight past it the first time without even noticing it.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, recognizing us on our second visit, they even gave us a complimentary dessert on our third visit even though we had only came in for an afternoon drink. The setting in a shaded garden makes it a great place to escape the day time heat and the prices are very reasonable compared to the various restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great secluded pretty location for a quiet chat off the busy streets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Staff we friendly, service was great, great for a quiet secluded place to be way from the busy streets of Rhodes town

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank anita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The setting is like being in a Greek Movie”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

But the wine available by the glass was poor and several items I asked for on the menu including such standbys as Kouflida (lamb in pastry) or the mixed plate with meatballs were unavailable. What I finally did have, Stifado, lamb stewed with onions and tomatoes, was good but the service was less than warm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vinnyandbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socratous Garden also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Socratous Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing