We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for kleftiko”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Socratous Garden

Socratous Garden
Ranked #25 of 414 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go for kleftiko”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely shady spot that does the ubiquitous Greek specialities just that little bit better than most. The kleftiko (basically a Greek version of shepherd's pie!) is delicious. Watch out for the cats begging for scraps!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bec1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    194
    36
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coulsdon, Surrey
Level Contributor
214 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“An oasis from the heat and the crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely cool, leafy garden - a great place for a refreshing drink (didn't rate the food so much). Just off busy Socratous Street on the right as you go up it, quite near the top.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taxidiotissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Water Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stumbled across this little oasis by accident whilst browsing the Old Town. It is down a little alley way and opens out into an extremely peaceful restaurant surrounded by fountains, water and fruit trees. We enjoyed an extremely pleasant iced coffee surrounded by the most fantastic and enormous pomegranate trees- fantastic. An extremely chilled end to a perfect day in wonderful Rhodes Old Town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a wonderfull oasis hidden in the middle of the old town, such a nice place to sit and relax, my husband and i went in for a drink every morning of our holiday, the waiters all took time to chat while it was still quiet and were always so pleasant, on our last day there they all said goodbye and presented us with a bottle of there "Socratous Garden Olive Oil" and told us to enjoy it on our salads when we came home, which i thought was a lovely gesture, roll on next year !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Haven of Peace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We called in here for a coffee, but decided to stay for lunch where the food was excellent, the Service was Good, & the surroudings were suprisingly very peaceful in the midst of the hustle & bustle of Old Rhodes Town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socratous Garden also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Socratous Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing