We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, quality food”
Review of Rustico Taverna

Rustico Taverna
Ranked #62 of 434 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Price range: $6 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Picture yourself enjoying a traditional Greek meal, with a small vilage atmosphere, with lush greennery overhead, walls covered with rustc farrmer's toolsand handmade pottery throughou.. This is Rustico!The taverna is situated on the corner of Hippodamou and Sokratous street a junction as the streets were created on the hippodamio system (a city were the streets are in blocks). The area is elevated and there were no archeological findings when excavations were performed thus assuming that a small forest existed which is a characteristic of elevated areas of that time.In the first christianic and Byzantine period after continuous destructions of the ancient town by the Persian, Goths and the Arabs and the town’s forced shrinkage into the Byzantine city the forest park which was destroyed by the fires was now open fields which was left as such for defense purposes since the distance was not far from the existing Byzantine defense wall
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great ambience, quality food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a delightful spot with fresh, authentic Greek dishes. The waiters are charming and professional and they appear to enjoy the interaction with the diners. We tried three other restaurants in Rhodes Town and this was by far the best. We ate here four times and were never disappointed.A lovely place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    164
    52
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited Rustico when visiting Rhodes Old Town. Whilst wandering through the narrow streets, we were handed a map by one of the waiters. We used the map as our guide and also used it to locate the restaurant at lunch time.

We both enjoyed a Moussaka with Mythos beer followed by Greek Coffee. Excellent value in a nice taverna setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jayandmarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service and food is freaking awsome!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

You dont want to miss this gem of a restaurant if you go to Rhodos old town... They know how to welcome you, they know how to treat you well and they know how to say goodbye in style... if you then add GREAT traditional Greek food to that - then you got yourself a great restaurant. Good prices and lots of delicious food. We went there 3 evenings in a row having dinner... first out Mezedes including mousaka, dolmades, gyros etc - Awsome! Second dinner we tried Farmers Pork and Puggi - Puggi = Great, Pork = Fantastic! Third dinner we tried Hilopites - Again, Fantastic. Do arrive hungry, the portions are generous and the food is so good that you really don´t want to leave any behind... Oh, almost forgot, the Tzatziki... omn omn omn!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome and Great Food”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A lovely restaurant with charming and helpful staff - great atmosphere, great food, good prices as well as a state of the art ladies loo!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnieB023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, the staff were very friendly! Delicious traditional Greek food. It was so good we went twice :) I would definitely recommend Rustico Taverna! Our waiter Alberto made our night special!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fionana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustico Taverna also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes, Dodecanese
 

Been to Rustico Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing