We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average (plus a bit)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rustico Taverna

Rustico Taverna
Ranked #88 of 399 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Price range: $5 - $54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Picture yourself enjoying a traditional Greek meal, with a small vilage atmosphere, with lush greennery overhead, walls covered with rustc farrmer's toolsand handmade pottery throughou.. This is Rustico!The taverna is situated on the corner of Hippodamou and Sokratous street a junction as the streets were created on the hippodamio system (a city were the streets are in blocks). The area is elevated and there were no archeological findings when excavations were performed thus assuming that a small forest existed which is a characteristic of elevated areas of that time.In the first christianic and Byzantine period after continuous destructions of the ancient town by the Persian, Goths and the Arabs and the town’s forced shrinkage into the Byzantine city the forest park which was destroyed by the fires was now open fields which was left as such for defense purposes since the distance was not far from the existing Byzantine defense wall
saddleworth
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“average (plus a bit)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We ate here on two occasions,once on arrival in Rhodes (around 11.30 pm),and once at a more regular time.
Both times the food was fine,and averagedly priced;the menu is standard Old Town tourist fare,but maybe a little better than normal.
The surroundings are pleasant,but again,nothing out of the ordinary.
The welcome was the standard effusive;a really nice feeling when on holiday.The first visit saw this accompanied by exemplary service throughout,the second visit had fine service until the end of the main course at which point we were forgotten (although the restaurant wasn't particularly busy).Disappointing.
A good option if you are at this end of the Old Town (and can't get in Mama Sofias),but probably not worth a special visit;still,better than a lot of places further down Socratus St.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhallyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    148
    50
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice place in the old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very pleased with the restaurant. Very nice location, a wide choice of meals, also they serve some Greek regional specialities that you will not find in other restaurants in Rhodes. The place was quite packed. The prices are reasonable, in line with other restaurants in the old town. It worth to pay a visit, the staff is friendly, the food is good, the location and the atmosphere is good as well. We had a beer each before we had our meal and when when we've asked for the bill we've been given another beer each on the house which was a bonus. Recommended place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great veggie moussaka!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a pretty little restaurant in the old town. They have a "reward" scheme so you can earn points towards a bottle of wine if you eat there a few times. The veggie selection wasn't great, so we did only eat there once but the moussaka was delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JillS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my girlfriend went there for dinner. We were not disappointed when we both ordered the (unknown for us) greek dishes "puggi" and "vlachos plate". They were both delicious (puggi especially we both agreed) and the house wine we drank with it was also good. Great experience even though we usually try not to eat at resturants who has to many pictures, dishes and languages on there menu. We also try to avoid the restaurants with "kind men inviting us to the table" but this one was great really. Best food so long

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helge189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Today I just ate at this place with my wife. We decided to go there spontaneously and from their advertisement I was at first a bit worried that we got caught in a tourist trap. But I was very positively surprised. They offer a lot of interesting Greek specialties and the quality of food is excellent. Had a aubergine salad and a Puggi dish, both supremely tasty. My wife ate a small salad and a sardines dish, not something exquisite, but she was also very satisfied. Got offered limoncello and grapes. Together with beverages we paid 48EUR, which I consider a very good price for the quality offered. Service was fast and friendly. The location is nice, but doesnt offer spectacular views. We definitely consider going back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank matmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustico Taverna also viewed

 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Rustico Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing