We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really worth a visit!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace of Grand Master of Knights

Palace of Grand Master of Knights
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.26*
and up
Rhodes by Night Segway Tour
Ranked #2 of 102 things to do in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not really worth a visit!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a vast palace with very little content and certainly almost no description of what anything is. There is little furniture and what there is is not described or dated. The mosaic floors all have a small detail attached - but none of them were from Rhodes and we had absolutely no idea how they ended up in the palace. There is a small museum that can be visited We bumped into some other British people whilst we were there and they made exactly the same comments. If you really stuck for something to do in Rhodes, or the weather is ghastly - this palace might seem a good idea - otherwise I wouldn't waste your money!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank felicityjg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,926
    1,068
    347
    66
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely to walk around.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

A very interesting palace with some super mosaics and beautiful rooms. We were lucky in that a group with a guide was going around at the same time as we were so we had a free guided tour!
It is worth a visit even without a guide as it is clear what everything is. The only thing is that it costs 6 euros each with no OAP discount.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The2Hoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Incredible spaces , much reduced exhibitions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The 4 rating is for seeing the incredible rooms of the 13 th century palace which is huge and massive scale of rooms, the restoration under the Italians in 1937. But we were disappointed that the exhibition areas were closed for 4 days. Apparently austerity cuts is forcing museums to cut hrs and investment in their exhibits, so we missed seeing more of the offerings. The staff were not friendly. Nevertheless, going inside the Palace really provides real insight and background for walking around this incredible world heritage site to see just how the Knights lived and what they could build in 13 th and 14 th century.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAP245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“loved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We loved visiting here - it was a self guided tour, but most things were labelled if you took the time to read. The mosaics on the floors were stunning. It doesn't take that long to walk though, but it is definitely worth a look.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnieforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
283 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Impressive! But...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Interesting and impressive to see what the Knights accomplished. It is worth a visit, but is typical of Greek tourist sights: there was overall a lack of information about what you were seeing. Perhaps that's because you can hire a private tour guide, which is not our style. The museum was good, and we had to see a video before we could enter the museum, and that helped, but the individual items on display were almost completely lacking in identification or description. The guide book we bought was of little help.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAMWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace of Grand Master of Knights also viewed

 

Been to Palace of Grand Master of Knights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing