We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint with great service”
Review of Domus Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domus Studios
Ranked #20 of 54 Rhodes Town B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint with great service”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at the Domus studios in the old town of Rhodes.17th and 18th may 2014
Best check your map for location of the Domus studios as the locals that we asked for directions directed us to the Domus hotel,the studios are a 5 minute walk away.
On arriving we were met by the manager he was very welcoming and straight away offered us a drink and pointed out places of interest to visit in the old town,the room was clean and very comfortable with an old world feel,and all the required amenities should you have needed them.
Apolonion Street could have been used as a film set,it was pretty.
Will certainly be staying there again in the very near future.

Room Tip: Ask for the room downstairs on the right as you come in the main door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stergos F, Owner at Domus Studios, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
Thank you very much for your review of the Domus Studios. I value client feedback and am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here. I look forward to welcoming you whenever you decide to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Located very close to the clock tower in the old town, about 20 euro taxi ride from the airport. Many shops and restaurants located close buy, however, none are open in the winter time so expect a 15-20 minute walk into town for shopping and dining during the off season. The owner was very friendly and helpful and when contacted in advance made sure we got into our room quickly and easily. The room was clean and comfortable with an old world charm and well stocked with all the required amenities. Quiet and comfortable for relaxing and sleeping at an affordable price. We will certainly be staying here on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_From_Stavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stergos F, Owner at Domus Studios, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
I would like to thank you for your review of the Domus Studios. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Domus from 11th September till 21st and had a great time. The room was perfect and Stergos was extremely welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the budget room which was small but perfectly formed. The stone wall and way that the old blends with the new really worked and it was a perfect space to go back to for a relax after a day in the sun or for a siesta. We told Stergos that we were planning on driving round the island and he was very helpful with tips and advice. The studios are located down a side street right next to the clock tower. There is a lively area with bars a stones throw from the studios and a lovely place to sit and people watch or enjoy the lovely view of the clock tower. When in the room there was no disturbances or sound from outside even though you are right in the old town you feel that you can always nip back to relax. I would highly reccomend Domus Studio to anyone visiting Rhodes. We had a great time round the old town and at the beach (Elli beach is main one but if you exit the old town via the art gallery and head to the harbour to the right there is a section of the walls that you can get up high and under that there is a gorgeous little beech which we ended up going to every day for a swim and a read whilst watching the cruise ships and soaking up the sun) in a word..... Fantastic!!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We are experienced travellers who do not make a point of complaining but our arrival at Domus Studios finally(taxi drivers don't know of it nor did we get a map from the owner to say exactly which gate to be dropped at) was quite unfriendly. We'd arrived Saturday evening after lugging our cases all over the Old Town trying to find the place,& were not even offered a drink of water. Our room, while innovatively designed, is very impractical with little space for luggage. Worst of all the kitchen & bathroom were not at all clean. The freezer was completely iced up so door wouldn't close & fridge was dirty. It contained no water let alone some milk.The toilet & bathroom were not clean & there was mould in the shower. There were black hairs all over our pillows & the previous occupants' dirty linen was dumped in the wardrobe! When we complained to manager,we were treated as though we had no right to do so! I had all the pictures on my phone to prove it! Cleaning eventually was done to acceptable level ( except freezer) by the second day of our visit, but meagrely & reluctant apology given.
We were totally disgusted by his attitude & suggest he go visit Tamam restaurant in Rhodes where the family who run this business are extremely friendly, professional & generous!! We would never recommend this place to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Domus Studios for 3 nights during our 2 week stay in Rhodes. If you want the full Old Town experience, then there really isn't a better place to stay. It's located right near the clock tower and just off one the main streets (Sofokleous). Its walking distance to the new town and all the main attractions in the Old Town (1 min from Grand Masters Palace).

Stergos is a wonderful host and will direct you to all the best eateries in the town. He was more than generous with his time.

The rooms are cosy but very well maintained with modern fittings. For the price per night, location, Domus Studios offer fantastic value.

Tip: tell your cab driver that its near the clock tower. It's a 20 second walk from there down a small side street.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight_of_Icarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our stay started with a taxi driver who had never heard of Domus Studio nor did any of the people that she stopped to ask. After taking an extended tour of the old city, we finally found someone who had heard of Domus Studio and eventually found our way. Stergos is a very informative host and directed us to some excellent restaurants, however, Domus Studio only has a few rooms and Stergos was not there in the morning when we left nor in the evening when we returned from diner. A small example of the kind of problems this could cause occurred the first night when we went to bed and could not find a blanket. Although the room was in general clean - there were some spots that were missed. Another problem was that our 'large' room turned out to be quite small. We discovered that our large room consisted of a cramped downstairs with our bed and an upstairs that we never used both because it was inconvenient and warm. The room was attractively decorated although we had problems with the bathroom door, which we could not close. The location is great. Stergos is quite knowledgeable -- but the problems of having an absent manager and the cramped size of our 'large' room would lead to choose another hotel the next time I'm in Rhodes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We arrived at Rhodes Airport and caught a taxi to the Old Town, apparently taxis are allowed to enter the Old Town for the people that have luggage, although we did not know this at the time so the taxi dropped us just outside the Old Town. We then tried to navigate our way to Domus via a map, 2 kind people came up to us and asked us if we needed help because we looked lost, after this help we had no problems finding the accommodation. The location is fantastic being so centrally located to everything! Rhodes is a beautiful old town and we are glad we choose it!

The room we had was double level, a massive bed on the ground floor and a single/sofa bed on the 2nd level. The bathroom was very clean and modern. The kitchenette was just enough to make simple meals which suited us fine. Free wifi and bottled water was also provided. Stergos was a very helpful giving us information on where to eat and what to see and do, he also organised a taxi back to the airport and this time it picked us up inside the Old Town.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay in Rhodes!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#36 of 126 in Rhodes Town
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#43 of 126 in Rhodes Town
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#28 of 126 in Rhodes Town
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Studios

Property: Domus Studios
Address: 11 Apollonion, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Domus Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domus Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Studios Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing