We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce Lunch near the Palace”
Review of Fainos Restaurant

Fainos Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 443 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our company is established since 1992, our goal is the satisfaction of our customers with our local cuisine and impeccable hospitality and behavior of our staff offer their comfortable stay in a fantastic medieval environment. A place located in the middle of the oldest and largest medieval town of Europe. this was the incentive to create, in this space, a restaurant which respects the history and the tradition of the people, we have tried and hope we have achieved, to bind yesterday’s cuisine with today's gastronomical demands in an attempt to offer you the purity of the old and the quality and variety of the new. “fainos” (phainos) = from the Greek word “phos” (light) like in the same way phos in phenomenon, photography, phosphorus etc. It’s actual meaning is close to “enlightened”. The Greek people use the word fainos (phainos) to describe a brilliant, out of the blue, sudden idea.
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NIce Lunch near the Palace”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a nice place to stop for lunch near the palace.
We had pitta & dips and they were of a good quality.
Friendly staff and beers that came in glasses up to 2 litre.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tzmrbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    120
    36
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Beer and Staff”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

After marching around the Old City for some hours on a hot day I was overjoyed to sit down in a pleasant setting have a very large cold beer and have a chat to the friendly staff. We shared our meals which were of I very high stand and took in the atmosphere of the area. Make sure you ask for a "Medium" beer recommended by the Old Aussie

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great food, great service.
The athmosphere is great.
Just perfect!
Would recommend it for everyone. Have eaten here for three days in a row. Best restaurant in Old Town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gymgrossisten125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very very good food and personell. We have eaten here two times and we have been leaving with a big smile every time. Easily 5 stars. We will come back many times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos Town, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just stoped for a drink.Certainly overpriced for drinks.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Most places in rhodes old town have "kamakia" trying to "invite" you in.This was one too.We needed a refreshment so we stopped for a drink.We did not have a meal.Really overpriced for drinks.We have been to far better places with far better prices in Rhodes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conhatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stauros p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Fainos Restaurant, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Probably u confound the restaurants .In my restaurants i am not using "kamakia",they do the other restaurants of my area,and my pricelist drinks&food are logikal&affortable&cheapest (about drink list in my area). Best regards Pagkas Stauros
Owner "FAINOS RESTAURANTS"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fainos Restaurant also viewed

Rhodes, Dodecanese
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Fainos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing