We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food”
Review of Fainos Restaurant

Fainos Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 422 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our company is established since 1992, our goal is the satisfaction of our customers with our local cuisine and impeccable hospitality and behavior of our staff offer their comfortable stay in a fantastic medieval environment. A place located in the middle of the oldest and largest medieval town of Europe. this was the incentive to create, in this space, a restaurant which respects the history and the tradition of the people, we have tried and hope we have achieved, to bind yesterday’s cuisine with today's gastronomical demands in an attempt to offer you the purity of the old and the quality and variety of the new. “fainos” (phainos) = from the Greek word “phos” (light) like in the same way phos in phenomenon, photography, phosphorus etc. It’s actual meaning is close to “enlightened”. The Greek people use the word fainos (phainos) to describe a brilliant, out of the blue, sudden idea.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It doesn't take long before you have the food you ordered. The waiters are polite and serviceminded. Easy to talk with, and smile all the time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norway-213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    105
    30
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid if you like food”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just had our evening meal at this restaurant.. Well if you can call it that. It's more like a cafe.
The most positive comment I can make fairly is the service isn't to bad.
The food is terrible.
I ordered a Giro Chicken, which I've had many times elsewhere. What a poor excuse for giro chicken. Basically it was dry grilled chicken, frozen chips, poor quality garlic mayo accompanied by half a slice of tomato and a small slice of dried out cucumber.
My partner chose lasagne which looked nice when it arrived.
Luke warm, sheets and sheets of pasta with no sauce.
I struggle to relate to the earlier glowing reviews as this is purely a tourist trap at the entrance of the old town.
I'd recommend you avoid this eatery,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank carolr3_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stauros p, Owner at Fainos Restaurant, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Carolr 3_14,
first of all thank you for your review.Beeing the owner of Fainos restaurants,i allways try to make the best plates i can for my customers.That's why i inspect all the plates before given to the customers and when they come back so that if somebody doesn't get contented and i have given back a half full plate i allways ask what happened.That means that you didn't complained and it's a pity because i could at least have the chance to please you.Hawever i can accept that you may didn't like owr plates(althow i insist that you should at least let me know),but i can not accept when you say that we look more like a cafe.I quess you have visited other restaurants and when you decided to have your evening meal at owr business,that means that we are a restaurant.That makes me wonder why would you say something like that(suspicious?).However i'm really sorry that you didn't get contented and i invite you to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoonrewoerd
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice place to rest and eat.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice staff. The woman is very sweet. The street is quite busy with people, so there is a
Lot to see.
You should
Come and try the stifado!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daaf1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnis Bay Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good taverna”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had my hungry head on the last night of holiday with my wife and 2 friends,what a find, a very knowledgeable waited and excellent food, glad we did not walk on by this one for sure, if you are in Old Rhodes town check this place out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daveclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best place in the old town”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Michelle cooks very good.All hard working people that make your holidays special on Rhodos.Every day a smile and give you the feeling your more than welkom.Visit the place many times for drinks and food.The best place in the old town!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esther-beagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fainos Restaurant also viewed

Rhodes, Dodecanese
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Fainos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing