We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh those crab cakes!”
Review of Nireas

Nireas
Ranked #38 of 429 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beautiful alfresco setting. Tucked away in a quiet square off the beaten track. Dine on fresh seafood and fresh vegetables (many of them organic) under a pergola overflowing with jasmine,honeysuckle, Bougainville and a 25 year old grapevine. The Tsikis Family is always happy to meet new guest and welcome back many return customers ( some that have been coming since the opening in 1989)!
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Oh those crab cakes!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Ate here twice during our stay in Rhodes. First time, I had calamari, which had a lovely light batter, not at all greasy & my hubby had crab cakes. Oh my God they were good - heavenly! So the 2nd time we went, we had crab cakes again & squid stuffed with crab meat. A taste explosion.

The staff are attentive and friendly, especially the bubbly Gina, who put up with my hubby's outrageous flirting (he's such a tart sometimes!) with good humour.

Once it gets dark, the setting is special too, under the leafy canopy and fairy-lights. Maybe a bit more expensive than some other places, but seafood always is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalsaJiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    174
    64
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant of our Honeymoon !!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This Restaurant is an overwhelming experience, I don't even know where to start...

The restaurant is in a peaceful spot of the old Rhodes town. Absolutely beautiful place.

The owner, Theodoros, was an outstanding guide of all the exquisite dishes in his restaurant. He will make sure that your meal meets your taste and exceed your expectations!

Wow, everything on the menu was awesome ! Take a random pick and you won't be wrong.

Very fair price, great value !
EXCELLENT quality of food. AWESOME service.

I feel lucky that we found this Mediterranean gem. A very pleasant memory of our honeymoon. Thank you very much Nireas , thank you Theodoros !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drcarloscardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLICOTT CITY
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food...and entertainment too!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We recently had the pleasure of dining here twice during our three nights in Rhodes. It is hard to say what is more charming - the outdoor dining in a garden setting or the owner and host, Theodore! One thing for sure was the food was top notch. A Greek salad, steamed mussels and grilled octopus...all superb. Theodore joined in the entertainment with two guitar players - strumming, singing and even some dancing. Throwing a plate crashing to the ground just added to the atmosphere. The second tme it was crabcakes (but Baltimore's are hard to beat), shrimp, and grilled vegetables with feta. With a wonderful waitstaff, wonderful food and wonderful surroundings it would be hard to go wrong dining at Nireas. Thanks Theodore for making our visits so memorable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiFaSuMaHaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Its a little oasis!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This review was intended to be Short & Sweet!!!
The best restaurant we visited in Rhodes Town. Found by accident whilst wandering though the "old Town" streets. Specialises in sea food. Had grilled mediterranean vegetables with garlic sauce and spicy baked feta for starters - both delicious followed by fresh mussels in white wine broth. superb. Chunky fresh baked bread with extra virgin olive oil.
My wife chose panacotta with fig sauce for dessert which she loved. The meal was accompanied by a carafe of really chilled house white wine (more than acceptable) and a pint of local beer. Total cost 46 euros!
Great value in our opinion.
The owner Theodoros chatted with us and was helpful in choosing our meal. The waitress staff were really nice, attentive & polite.
Would highly recommend this restaurant. Look forward to our next visit!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overprized”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I visited this restaurant after reading the reviews on trip advisor but it wasnt so good overall. The service and the atmosphere were nice, but the food quality was below average (cant say the same about the price). I ordered 6 fish and only the 3 of them were fresh. The last of them was brown on the inside and tasted kind of badly. I wouldnt recommend this place

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Costaskal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nireas also viewed

 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Nireas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing