We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Mama Sofia's

Mama Sofia's
Ranked #18 of 429 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If your looking for a restaurant to visit in the Old Town, you have to go to Mama Sophia, the food is amazing and the staff are so welcoming. Myself and my boyfriend visited this restaurant back in October. Firstly, when we were looking for a restaurant to book, a lot of the other places were very pushy, shoving leaflets in your hand. However, when we arrived at Mama Sophia's we were left to look at the menu on display, only then were we approached by the main guy (cant remember his name, maybe Stavros?) to talk us through the menu. Once he was done he just said if we fancy coming we can just ask for him personally and he will get us in. So we went the following night and were greeted by lovely staff and a welcoming glass of wine on the house. We felt like part of the family. The food was amazing, I would advise anyone to go for the stuffed squid main as it is honestly the best dish I have tasted. There is plenty of choice on the menu and we were given a range of puddings at the end of our meal for free as well. It is not pricey either, especially for the quality and amount of food you get its defiantly good pricing. I would 100% go back if I return to Rhodes again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    312
    102
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Mama Sofia!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The welcoming and sincere smile on Stavros's face was promising a superb dine and wine, which we could not resist anymore after getting exhausted walking around the old town. The traditional Greek ambience of Mama Sofia in the medieval town-centre captured us as well as the smell of finely-cooked seafood dishes which are the best on the island for the epicures. We could not decide which one overweighs: the relish of fine food or the warm hospitality. Once you experience it, you will always feel like you are a member of the family. Thank you Stavros and all the other nice staff. We hope to see you again! Love from Turkey!

Semra&Turcan

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SemraTurcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willebroek, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mama sofia,the best restaurant in town”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

the people at mama sofia are like family ,it is like coming home every time we eat there,al de food is so good it is difficult to choose what to, eat.the simi shrimps are deliciouse,and so is the griek plate.if you like fish,thay have nice fresh fish with olive oil and lemon mama sofia's way.they also have stuffed squid, very good i can say only one thing,if you go to rhodos,you must eat at least one time at mama sofia,i'll bet you want to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreayoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“it´s been just great!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Even though this restaurant is located in a very touristic place and initially we were pretty sceptic about it, we decided to try it and were FLASHED by its delicious, high quality dishes, friendly, warm atmosphere and great service. I would definitely recommend this place to visitors of Rhodos-City

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambola_Bax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very-very good”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we've been to rhodes island end august. we stayed in kolymbia, but we went to rodos-city 3 times. and all our trips to rodos we went ot eat in mama sofia. actually, before we went on holiday, i've read a lot about rhodos and about it's restaurants. i've read messages here, on tripadvisor.com and i noticed to visit this restaurant. and so we did. it wasn't a mistake! the master and his brother have been really hospitable and nice. the waiters were also hospitable and helpful. if you come to this restaurant, you'll get a glass of wonderful housewine. and the dessert as a compliment. the meals are big and tasty, my husband ate cleftico and it was marvellous. so does the goat. it melts in your mouth. i ate seafood. it was very good, too. except the octopus (a bit burnt).
we visited other restaurants in kolymbia. but this one was the best!!! i would like to come back and to eat there again few more times!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelly_jah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Sofia's also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Mama Sofia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing