We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it´s been just great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Sofia's

Mama Sofia's
Ranked #20 of 399 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“it´s been just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Even though this restaurant is located in a very touristic place and initially we were pretty sceptic about it, we decided to try it and were FLASHED by its delicious, high quality dishes, friendly, warm atmosphere and great service. I would definitely recommend this place to visitors of Rhodos-City

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambola_Bax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    293
    96
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“very-very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

we've been to rhodes island end august. we stayed in kolymbia, but we went to rodos-city 3 times. and all our trips to rodos we went ot eat in mama sofia. actually, before we went on holiday, i've read a lot about rhodos and about it's restaurants. i've read messages here, on tripadvisor.com and i noticed to visit this restaurant. and so we did. it wasn't a mistake! the master and his brother have been really hospitable and nice. the waiters were also hospitable and helpful. if you come to this restaurant, you'll get a glass of wonderful housewine. and the dessert as a compliment. the meals are big and tasty, my husband ate cleftico and it was marvellous. so does the goat. it melts in your mouth. i ate seafood. it was very good, too. except the octopus (a bit burnt).
we visited other restaurants in kolymbia. but this one was the best!!! i would like to come back and to eat there again few more times!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shelly_jah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Greek hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We couldn't have chosen better for our first meal in Rhodes! A great recommendation by our hotel. The meal was superb and the hospitality second to none. We had to return again and again and we were treated so warmly like old friends and very generously to the best of Greek cuisine! A sure-fire recommendation!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crawphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Greek cuisine in comfortable out door seating.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

At the end of a Lindos then Rhodes City tour, we were dropped off by our tour guide to walk down to the restaurant he had recommended, Mama Sofia's. As luck would have it, the owner's sister and her husband were walking by, and our guide (who knew them) asked them to direct us to the restaurant. We found Mama Sofia's to have pleasant outdoor seating under canvas canopies at tables with linens. We were given complimentary glasses of wine, received our delicious greek meals in timely fashion, which we enjoyed as we did the warm afternoon and people-watching the passing tourists and locals. It is a pleasant place to take a meal, the food is delcious, the price quite moderate, and the staff friendly. And probably helps to walk up to the restaurant with the owner's sister!l

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ixchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stavros is the Grand Master of hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Walking around in Rhodes old town and coming out of the grand master castle, walking towards the next sight, we were persuaded to sit down at a front row, street side, table. After all it was lunch time and we had a great view of the ancient bel tower and mosque. Our drinks arrived within seconds and Stavros came by to tell us about the history of the restaurant. Too many tasty choices and, for our party of 3, we picked some things to share. We also asked Stavros' advise on wine and finally got some decent wine on Rhodes, after several days making do with plonk at the all-inclusive hotel of the beach. Stavros and his team took good care of and we left as old friends - hope we make it back there one day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Sofia's also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Mama Sofia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing