We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice taverna.”
Review of Taverna Kostas

Taverna Kostas
Ranked #39 of 429 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very nice taverna.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A nice place a little off the beaten track. Nice atmosphere, charming decor. I arrived when there were few diners, and the service was a little slow, so during peak dining times it might be quite slow. The food, however, was quite good. I started with dolmades and bread drizzled in olive oil and had Mussels saganaki for a main - both were quite good and the house wine complimented them well. All in all, a very good dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Weredingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    141
    45
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointing”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have to say I can't understand why this restaurant gets such good reviews. We went here on recommendation and it was by far the worst eating experience we had in Rhodes Town. The service was slow and unfriendly - they were very busy but so were all of the restaurants. The food was really awful. I ordered fish which arrived in a soggy batter - not stated on menu and clearly not freshly prepared and probably from the freezer, this hadn't even been cooked properly. Everything was served with oven chips. We ordered a side of vegetables which arrived a good ten minutes before our mains. They were luke warm when they arrived and cold by the time we could eat them with our meals. With so many excellent Greek restaurants in Rhodes please do not waste your time with this one!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Delicious!!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Genuine Greek cuisine cooked to perfection. Wonderful atmosphere and superb service by those who really wish to ensure your pleasure.
We returned two more times during our stay in Rhodos and overall this had to be the best Greek restaurant we went to during our entire time in Greece.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ItchyfeetTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Recommended by the owner of the Hotel Attiki. Food was very good, very attentive waiter, Not touristy, which was a relief from the majority of restaurants in the old town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a very warm restaurant that I want to return”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went there in early November and I think we were the only customers that night. There was the owner alone. He served us Greek salad for free. The white dry wine went well with the seafood. We had squid, octopus and swordfish. It was very delicious. We talked a bit with the owner when we left and we shook hand many times. It is really good to enjoy this restaurant at this off season. I very much enjoyed the quiet environment and the nice conversation with the owner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank china_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kostas also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Taverna Kostas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing