We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hugely disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna Kostas

Taverna Kostas
Ranked #39 of 410 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have to say I can't understand why this restaurant gets such good reviews. We went here on recommendation and it was by far the worst eating experience we had in Rhodes Town. The service was slow and unfriendly - they were very busy but so were all of the restaurants. The food was really awful. I ordered fish which arrived in a soggy batter - not stated on menu and clearly not freshly prepared and probably from the freezer, this hadn't even been cooked properly. Everything was served with oven chips. We ordered a side of vegetables which arrived a good ten minutes before our mains. They were luke warm when they arrived and cold by the time we could eat them with our meals. With so many excellent Greek restaurants in Rhodes please do not waste your time with this one!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    138
    44
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Genuine Greek cuisine cooked to perfection. Wonderful atmosphere and superb service by those who really wish to ensure your pleasure.
We returned two more times during our stay in Rhodos and overall this had to be the best Greek restaurant we went to during our entire time in Greece.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ItchyfeetTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Recommended by the owner of the Hotel Attiki. Food was very good, very attentive waiter, Not touristy, which was a relief from the majority of restaurants in the old town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a very warm restaurant that I want to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went there in early November and I think we were the only customers that night. There was the owner alone. He served us Greek salad for free. The white dry wine went well with the seafood. We had squid, octopus and swordfish. It was very delicious. We talked a bit with the owner when we left and we shook hand many times. It is really good to enjoy this restaurant at this off season. I very much enjoyed the quiet environment and the nice conversation with the owner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank china_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This taverna has traditional Greek fare without the tourist type menu. The service and food are exactly what you expect from a Greek family restaurant. We had dinner there 3 times during our stay in Olde Town and highly recommend not passing this by!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcfarlandmarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kostas also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Taverna Kostas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing