We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional Greek taverna”
Review of Taverna Kostas

Taverna Kostas
Ranked #29 of 443 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional Greek taverna”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had read about this little gem on tripadvisor so were determined to find it. We had to ask in a little shop but once you know the street name its easy, just keep going up the little road even when you think you must have passed it and suddenly there it is.
Its a lovely family run establishment, very traditional and the staff are so pleasant. The lovely man who runs it took our order and greeted us like old friends even though it was our first time there.
The food was perfectly cooked and we all enjoyed our choices, the Greek salad was one of the nicest I have had and the Moussaka was wonderful. All in all a lovely relaxing family meal. We will definately return to Rhodes hopefully next year and come here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkiFamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    150
    45
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best traditional taverna in Rhodes”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We come to Rhodes every year , and every year we impatiently wait for dinner in Kostas taverna . Nobody insist You should come inside ( as in other tavernas) , food is prepared and served by grandpa Kostas himself and its simply is excellent ...His tzatziki , SAGANAKI , Imam are best in town ....Keep strong , Kostas - next year we will come for dinner again :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vilija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very traditional”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Very authentic type traditional taverna.

Atmospheric & very cheap.

Worth a look, but not going to set world on fire.

Very nice people who run it

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner at affordable prices”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We had the sovlaki feta and the dolmades as starters. They were very good. Then mussels and chicken skewers as the main course. Delicious. I'm regretting not trying the Greek yoghurt with honey for dessert. The service was good and probably what can be described as Greek in the meaning relaxed. The atmosphere is nice with no matching cutlery and weird little details like a rubber ducky in a cabinet. The owner - and cook - is a nice old man with a grandfather vibe that mixed up languages and just wants to please everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randriksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Limited choice and hard to find”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

In the dark this taverna would be very difficult to find, as we wondered where it was in the day light. The cafe owners on the same street assisted us and told us to continue walking. When where we least expected it, there it was. We had a look inside, looked a little dark and dingy in the dark. The menu wasn't appealing and my husband didn't like the look of anything on offer. We decided to avoid this Taverna too..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chopalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kostas also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Taverna Kostas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing