We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old favourite ”
Review of Island Lipsi

Island Lipsi
Ranked #66 of 546 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

Always eat here when visiting Rhodes. In the old town in a narrow street which is shaded most of the time. Sit on the street or inside. Good traditional Greek dishes served with a smile. Of particular note is the stifado and the mixed souvlaki. I'm an Essex boy so don't ask me about wine but the lager is good!

As with all tourist spots, you can get fleeced if you're not careful but I always feel we get value for money from this place.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 236brents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

We were actually looking for this restaurant since we have visited it a couple of times about seven years ago. As we remembered it was supposed to be a really nice restaurant with really great greek food. It turned out that we remembered it just right.

The main difference from our last visit is that we now have two kids of five and six years of age.

Island Lipsi may not look like or even seem like a very family friendly restaurant, however there's quite much on the menu that suits the small ones quite well. Perhaps the restaurant could benefit from having a kids section in the menu however just to calm worried parents. Not that it would have helped us, our six year boy had decided to have fried calamares which surprised and impressed several of the staff.

The atmosphere and the people working at this family restaurant are just great. The good is genuine and taste very well - just as we remembered.

If you visit, you got to start with the pita, and the baklava with ice cream is a perfect end of a perfect dinner.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Mattias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

Visited on a complete whim and was very glad we did. First and foremost the staff are engaging, and full of delight. They were good to recommend and even gave us chance to order two different sharing platters split over one. The food was fresh, tasty and very filling. We too had a free desert at end ( nice touch) and yes as previously stated, the home made pitta bread is lovely. You will never taste better!!!
This place is worth the time if you only visit on place in the old town
.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank mrdavies82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

Best food in Rhodes. We keep trying other places but always came back. Great selection of traditional greek food. Always something for anyone for those fussy eaters (we had 2). Highly recommend the Feta with Honey and Exohiko but every meal was great.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We had lunch here with our 2 children at the very start of September when visiting Rhodes Old Town. We all really enjoyed the food and friendly service. My daughterr had the pizza which was massive. The rest of us had the traditional Greek fare. They do sharing platters which looked amazing. At the end of the meal they brought us 2 complimentary desserts of honey & orange cake and ice cream - beautifully presented and delicious - a really nice touch. The restaurant is set amongst the narrow streets of old town. You can sit outside or under the vaulted ceilings of the interior. Prices are very reasonable and the home made pitta is a must.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ews133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Lipsi also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes, Dodecanese
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Island Lipsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing