We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Island Lipsi

Island Lipsi
Ranked #34 of 443 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Raufoss
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came here twice during our stay. Ordered the Mixed Grill for two people both times, and was very satisfied with the meal. You get alot of food on the plates and you won't leave this place hungry.

Friendly staff as well and nice prices!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amund S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    222
    56
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade oregano pitta bread”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very pleasant family run restaurant in Rhodes old town. Very cool place to enjoy lunch, the main indoor restaurant is air-conditioned and the outside area is covered.

The food was full of flavour and not drowned in oils or sauces. The pitta bread was excellent and went beautifully with the homemade tzatziki.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robbo1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“traditional Greek fare”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A well established family owned business,which we have visited each time (at least once) ,that we have stayed in Rhodes and paid a visit to the old quarter of Rhodes town. Always had good service,they are always busy,and sensibly priced ,compared with the junk food which is served ,overpriced and by many non Greek staff in the Square of Rhodes town.
Many older travellers will be aware of the general rule to avoid large squares and eat where the locals eat. Island Lipsi certainly fits the bill,even down to the old tradition of providing something free ( usually a desert) after your meal. Have a try you will enjoy.

usually a desert )

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyvee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“80's food, over rated & overpriced. Tourist Trap!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have no idea why there are so many good reviews on this place - We had a TERRIBLE experience which started of pretty good with a staff that seemed energetic and kind. Soon we found out it is all a fake act, with the owner "pushing" over priced dishes - 28 EUR for a 400 gr fish, claiming it is 800 gr or more, then yelling at us for trying to claim it is much lower.
We waited 40 min for our starters which were terrible, the fish was dry and small and they even tried to sneak us an extra 12 EUR to the bill. did I say Terrible? i mean it.
Stay Away!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eitan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Greek food!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Situated on Agisadrou street, Island Lipsi is a family run restaurant that does not disappoint. We ordered the gyros plate with chips and salad; we also ordered a large plate of tzatsiki and olives to complement our meal. The pita bread was light and crisp, grilled not fried. Great hospitality and free wifi too. Would definitely come back here. Niki you are an excellent hostess. Opa! Oh and by the way, the restaurant is in a seven hundred year old building in Rhodes

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Lipsi also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Island Lipsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing