We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koukos Traditional Greek Restaurant

Koukos Traditional Greek Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 399 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "Here you can smell Greece" In the center of the town, at the bustling pedestrian 'Nikiforos Mandilara', you can find the traditional rooms of KOUKOS. A traditional listed building since 1930 combines perfectly accommodation and restaurant services. KOUKOS has traditional suites fully equipped with fireplace for the winter season, TV, A/C, free internet and room service. Bed in sofa, handmade carpets and decoration in collectives and antiques. Inner place with classic characteristics of ald architecture will travel you in the old Rhodian era. If you wish to feel the magic of old Rhodes, KOUKOS is the ideal place. Leaving the block of rooms you will find the restaurant. Traditional wood oven burns since early morning in order to prepare your breakfast. Hot bread, pies and sweets baked in wood oven hand made by us with selective local products. Kitchen delivers traditional Rhodian recipes for meze and baked food, but also meat and fish in charcoals. Varieties of salad and appetizers. Traditional koulouria (fresh local pasta) all made with care and tradition. KOUKOS bar is where you can taste Greek coffee in ember (Hovoli), Traditional Souma spirit and local wines. The place includes library for relaxation and also conference room with TV and projector. Food and drinks can be served all day.
Sými, Dhodhekanisos, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“More than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We only called in for a drink and ended up trying out several dishes and having dinner! Great food, good prices, nice atmosphere and loads of interesting 'stuff' on the walls. And it's huge and very popular. (Gets busy with a younger crownd at weekends.)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    409
    123
    55
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT FOR ALL DAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Breakfast, lunch, dinner or in between meals!! you can find everything in one place and on top of it everything is delicious!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aysmnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good choice of meze plates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I visited Koukos twice during a four day stay in Rhodos. I tasted a good deal of its menu and I was very satisfied by both the taste and the prices.
I would not recommend the combination deal with the wine and the small meze plates - the latter are not fresh. Their actual menu however is very well cooked and ideal to accompany wine.
I am not expert in greek traditional cuisine, but this place felt offering traditional and home-styled meal in an excellent price.
I would come again - although they really need to improve on their service - they are friendly but tend to forget you when theyre too busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoltiPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was excellent - service needs work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I visited Koukos with my family after the hotel manager suggested it as a place to taste local cuisine. I was very satisfied by the food itself. The taste was excellent, the portions more than enough, and the prices very very affordable comparing to other places weve been in Rhodes. However I am not giving a 5 star here because the service still needs some work - we visited on a Friday night which was really busy for them. The service was very very slow. But the food is so good, the prices also, and the service whilst slow is very friendly, so I would come again and maybe try a less busy time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OnurCesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Obnoxious Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were walking around deciding where to eat and my wife saw this place and wanted to go in. The building is beautiful. As I was wearing shorts and have run into issues before about dress code my wife went to ask if there was one. She waited for 10-15min in the front of the reception area for help and no one came to help her. 4 other families came in and got sat immediately and still no one came to see if she needed help. She finally asked a waiter if shorts were allowed in the 'taverna' and he simply stated ''I don't know'' and walked away. My wife came out and told me and we stupidly decided to just sit down anyway. We sat for another 15min and there was no sign of a waiter anywhere. We also looked at the menu and the prices seemed reasonable until we saw the unbelievably small portion sizes even for tappas. After a few more minutes of no acknowledgement or sign of any wait staff we got up and left. I understand customer service is not necessarily the best outside of the states, but even so this was shocking. It was pretentious and we definitely will not being going back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koukos Traditional Greek Restaurant also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Koukos Traditional Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing