We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience of history.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Meticulously restored Spirit of the Knights is a special place. Admittedly this is the most we've ever spent for a night of accommodation and wondered whether it would be worth the price ... but as others have said ... it was.

We stayed in the Ottoman Suite, simply a wonderful room with an upper level and as a result something like 14-foot ceilings. The attention to detail, from the restoration of the woodcarvings in the ceiling to the stained glass windows to the art adorning the walls was perfect.

Built on the foundations of the Byzantine and Roman City by the Crusaders, Spirit of the Knights is approximately 600 to 700 years old. The 'Monument Status' building oozes with history. Be sure to ask to see the photographs of the building before restoration began, in order to appreciate the transformation.

Breakfast was extensive and of superb quality, with lots of choice creating variety for multiple day stays. The yoghurt with fresh fruit and honey, or nuts and honey was unbelievably good. The garden/courtyard was very pleasant and relaxing with trees and ponds of soothing/flowing water. The Jacuzzi provided nice relief from the heat.

Spirit of the Knights is well located, in a quiet corner of old Rhodes Town, yet just a short walk from a number of tavernas. One nearby we enjoyed, in part because it was not as high pressured as others but as well the service and food were excellent, was Ta Kioynia. Old Rhodes Town is itself a magical place with narrow alleyways, historic ruins and cobblestone walkways. Yes a bit touristy in places (back to the pressure to eat at many restaurants) but a real experience.

Sure it's more expensive then some other choices, but staying at Spirit of the Knights one can experience the history of the city through the building, the library, and the art. Be sure to ask to see any unoccupied rooms. Each is unique and interesting to view.

If you want a special experience in a special historical town stay a night (or more) at Spirit of the Knights. We are very glad we did.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NSMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 650 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

In one word: captivating.
In more words... we loved the Spirit of the Knights! So far we only had a chance to do day trips to Rhodes, but finally we had an opportunity to stay 2 nights in Rhodes. After a little research I was recommended to stay in the old town and explore the island from there. The advise could not have been better. We booked this hotel and were so happy to walk into their beautiful courtyard after a just short walk from Rhodes harbor as we came by ferry.
The house is beautiful, so artistically renovated, there is always something new to discover, even every little corner is ready to be published in a glossy magazine. The room is comfortable (the bed is definitely the best ever!), the bathroom is luxurious, the single room with a tv was very welcome for our girl while waiting for us to get ready. The decorations, again, so much in style.
The family is very welcoming, even though we stayed so short we feel like we made some friends, at the very least, we met some people we like to see again!
And not only judging as a guest on a holiday, but also judging as parters in the business, it is so good to see that each person of this family fits in in its right place. They all have their own place in the business but they complement each where necessary. They all work very professionally, never losing a stitch, and at the same time they remain very friendly hosts always there for a little chat or for some good advise. We, as a family with a young girl, felt all very welcome and when a new chance appears we would love to return! Thank you Alex, Keira, Felicity and Duncan (and the one we only met for a second so we don't know the name)!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VillaRhapsody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Excellent decor and comfort only surpassed by the very friendly service from Alex, Keira, Duncan and Felicity. Fabulous attention to detail with lots of special extras made our four night stay unforgettable. Strongly recommend for anytime of the year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We were very disappointed after our stay at this hotel, as we felt that our 3 young children were not welcome at all there. They tend to play and chatter, as young & happy kids do, which was perceived as disturbing the tranquility of the place. Hotel staff even turned off the jetstream in the hot tub to make them leave. Obviously if we would have known we would never have booked this hotel, but there is no warning at their website (unlike many other hotels who clearly indicate "adults only" if this is the case). While the hotel promotes that it is "family run", this should not be confused with "child friendly". As a result, we felt awkward during our stay and frankly relieved when we were able to leave after 2 nights. That is a miserable feeling after paying a premium price for a family room in the low season, with many attractive other options available in Rhodos Town. In summary, I would definetely not recommend this hotel to families with young children. However, seniors and retirees may have a different experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Marinopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiritoftheknights, Owner at Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

I am the owner of the Spirit of the Knights and have designed and set out the ethos that we provide for all our guests.

I was aware that you were most likely going to post a review on Trip Advisor but never imagined the ratings to be so vengeful.

Children are very welcome here, this being evident from the numerous family reviews on Trip Advisor. There have been many families staying here with children of all ages who have been aware of other guests in the hotel and have enjoyed their holidays here without any issues.
You booked online stating 2 adults and 2 children but when you arrived there were actually five of you. We didn’t pass comment or charge extra (like many hotels would normally do) and provided extra bedding. Fortunately we had space within our legal limit of guests.

On the breakfast of your first morning you allowed your children to run about between the tables of other guests, noisily calling to each other. In the afternoon the screams and shouts from the Jacuzzi were beyond reasonable and we discreetly asked if you could make things a little quieter. This request was ignored and upon being ignored a second time we switched off the jets and left on the bubbles in order to minimise the loudness so that our other guests could also enjoy the environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This is a lovely hotel, in the heart of the old town. With parts of the building dating back to the time of the Knights Templar, and the access via twisty streets, it is hugely atmospheric. The owners have done a fantastic job in creating a stunning boutique hotel.

It is only a short walk from all the main sights in Rhodes Old Town, and there are restaurants and bars nearby. I stayed here with my other half and really enjoyed it - great breakfasts, polite staff, and a fantastic shower.

Only two things for future reference - (i) we stayed in the Knights Chamber, and I found the glow of the small orange safety light (indicating the exit in case of fire) fairly bright - took me a while to drop off a couple of times; and (ii) the hotel ask for you to be dropped at a particular gate so they can escourt you in (arriving this way after dark was pretty spectacular) - it might be worth having a copy of the name of the particular gate written down in Greek to show to a taxi driver. Ours took some persuading to drop us at the appropriate place.

In general, lovely hotel, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilgrimgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I had read the reviews, I had received the polite emails after booking, I even received a phone call the morning of arrival to make sure we were OK and knew what we were doing, but was still nervous that it had been over hyped.

It hasn't been.

From the moment we met Duncan with our significant luggage at 9pm with 3 other guests, I knew I wouldn't regret booking this hotel.

Nothing is too much effort, our room (Crusader Suite) boasted the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast was freshly prepared, a wide range was available, and in a week I don't think I had the same thing twice.

Felicity, Alex, Keira and Duncan made us feel like one of the family, and they obviously have this affect on the locals too, because everywhere we went to eat or to drink, if we mentioned the hotel, we became a member of their family too!

We celebrated my husbands 50th birthday whilst there, and they all made the day very special for him.

Lastly there are not many hotels who will meet you with your luggage on your last day, after you have been out all day, sort out the taxi so it is there, and make sure that you are not charged too much by the taxi as well.

We will be going back to this wonderful place as soon as we can, do not change a thing you have got it right, it is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LStar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We went to this hotel because of the reviews and were still suprised at how good it was. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the room stunning and immaculate, the garden ravishing, the position ideal. The sensitive reconstruction of this ancient building into a gem of a hotel has been a labour of love and it shows. On arrival we were met with great courtesy and helped with luggage even though it was 4.00am; we had asked for advice on care hire and not only did Alex sort it all out but took us to the car rental place on our departure and wouldn't leave until he was sure we knew where we were going and were happy with everything.

I would recommend this hotel with reservation to anyone as a fantastic base from which to explore an amazing area - if you can tear yourself away from the jacuzzi in the garden!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fredfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 127 in Rhodes Town
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#1 of 127 in Rhodes Town
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 127 in Rhodes Town
645 reviews
25.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Alexandridi, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $107 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spirit of the Knights, an exclusive Eco Friendly Boutique Hotel set in the medieval old town of Rhodes.Tucked away on the highest point of the medieval town on a quiet cobbled street only minutes walk from the Souleiman Mosque, Grand Masters Palace, shops, bars, restaurants and sea the hotel is an ideal place from which to explore the medieval town and island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Of The Knights Boutique Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing