We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Having chosen "Spirit of the Knights" for our 5 day stay in Rhodes Town, the high expectations we had been given on both Tripadvisor and the hotel's own website were met fully, if not indeed surpassed.
The building itself has been carefully and extremely tastefully renovated by the current owners to provide unique and comfortable accommodation. Our suite (Crusaders) was atmospheric and led onto the airy and beautifully furnished lounge area. The garden is absolutely delightful! It has been designed to be a haven of tranquility in which to enjoy breakfast....or to relax with a drink or two later on in the day. The food served at breakfast is delicious and everything freshly prepared. From pure orange juice, bowls of Greek yogurt and fruit with local honey, cooked dishes including wonderful omelettes, tasty bread and croissants with jam to a variety of teas and excellent coffee........we enjoyed it all!
However, the factor which ultimately makes this place special is the family which has created this hotel from a shell and now takes such a pride in running it. Everything is done professionally but with a truly personal touch and a genuine desire to ensure the comfort of guests.
Rhodes Town is such an interesting, historical city to visit and staying in the 'Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel', you feel part of it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 645 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Spirit of the Knights Hotel in Rhodes Town and can't say enough about what a wonderful experience it was. The building is a beautifully restored crusader structure with Ottoman details. Rooms are decorated with tasteful period art. The garden where you can have breakfast or while away an hour or two is simply spectacular. You can see the old city wall from the garden. Everything was done with taste and care. The breakfast for which you have your choice of anything on the extensive menu is delicious. The hotel is family-run, and the memebers of this wonderful family can't do enough for you. They were helpful at every turn. I give them an A+ both for their hotel restoration and for the hotel operations.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosAngelesExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I really enjoyed this hotel and their staff. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

An extremely beautiful property, lovingly restored, awaits you at the Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel. Its' beauty lies not in what is traditionally considered beautiful, but in the historical preservation of the building and the serenity of the gardens that compliment the interior.

As you are guided through the narrow medieval stoned alley ways that lead to the hotel, by one of the family members who will greet you and your luggage, do not be apprehensive of the "neighboring" atmosphere, before your reach the hotel. The hotel is tucked well away at the end of medieval alleys that, upon arrival to Old Town Rhodes, may surprise the first time visitor by their "homey' appearance with friendly cats, evidence and smells of dog inhabitants and general debris from the surrounding alley occupants. Finding the locations the first time, without help, would be extremely difficult and discouraging based on the look of the surrounding alleys.

However, once you reach the gated entry to the Hotel, the pleasant oasis of the Hotel becomes evident, and all is forgotten. You will be offered a welcome cocktail of your choosing, while your luggage is skirted to your room. While completing your cocktail, one family member may come over and introduce themself to you, while the others observe from a distance. You are then taken to your room to unwind.

You are then left to explore the room and the property on your own, as there is not an introduction around the facilities or the room. This is a shame, as this is a great opportunity to spotlight such a magnificent property, its' history, the loving restoration and decor.

The rooms are gorgeous, the bedding divine, and the technical upgrades delightful. The rooms smell somewhat stale, and the Greek "toilet paper in the bin" thing is required, but it is a 600 years old building!

However, keep in mind that you are in the middle of a neighborhood that continues on with its' daily life, which includes all the typical noise that goes well into the evening and greets you in the morning. The view from our room, was one of a goat munching in the morning around the overgrown field and Vespas that were parked below our window.

As this is not a large commercial hotel, and it is still fairly new, there are a few items still missing from the rooms to help with your stay, such as customized information, items, or suggestions on highlights and things to see and do in Rhodes, or customized maps to guide you back to the hotel (they do provide maps - which they will mark to show you where you are, but a customized map is something you would expect from a hotel of this caliber as a map is a necessary item in Old Town Rhodes and such a nice touch). Do not expect commercial pristine service, such as nightly turndown and immaculate cleaning, hand cloths, restocked water, mini bars, bath mats, slippers, coffee, tea, etc. However, they are very helpful when you ask, providing a personalized level of Concierge service, and very apologetic for the things they cannot provide.

The breakfast is well presented, cooked to order and served in the garden area. This is a great time to chat with other guest and get information and suggestions from them as to what they think are great experiences while in Rhodes.

The hotel offers free use of its' computers, and as it is small and intimate you are able to learn a little about the family that runs the hotel. We were introduced to Felicity, the owner of the hotel, and her children, Kera, Alex and Duncan. As a family endeavor, they are carrying all the roles, from Housekeeping to Concierge to Cook to Bellman. As you exit your stay, they will once again funnel you through the complex alley ways as your taxi awaits you to scurry you to your next location.

If you are looking for a boutique hotel experience, complimentary to its' environment, and are open to a relaxed, informal level of sevice, this is beautiful, unique locale.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HopesandDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

The Spirit of the Knights Hotel provides a most enchanting experience at a most reasonable price. Located in the heart of the magical medieval old town of Rhodes, the hotel has been loving restored by a uniquely inspiring family. All the suites are different, all beautiful. Luxuriously comfortable beds provide a peaceful sleep in rooms fit for royalty. The central courtyard is a wonder complete with gorgeous vegetation, a running water pond, hot tub, lounge chairs and tables for breakfast. (Breakfast is included, cooked and served to order, fantastic!) After you are greeted in the center of Rhodes and led through charming narrow winding streets (your bags will be carried, don't worry) you will enter the garden courtyard where you will be offered a welcoming drink. Paradise was the word that came to mind when I entered.

The charming staff, all family, will help you with all of your needs. Rent a taxi, recommend a restaurant, provide directions or advice, or simply chat. The family is committed to providing you with a peaceful, relaxing and glorious stay. When I finish my yoga routine now, during the final posture when I am to relax and think of a place where I can be at peace, I imagine that I am resting on that luxurious bed in the Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel.

Check out their website for pictures of the hotel and suites. My photo does not do it justice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

The staff and management at this extraordinary hotel far exceeded our expectations! Impeccable service, attention to detail on every level was superior. The location could not be better and details to preserving the architectural intergrity while providing pure luxory and comfort is just fantastic!

Thank you for making our holiday in Rhodes part of another fabulous Greek get away!

Your friends and extended family in California.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinCasillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We booked to stay in the Spirit of the Knights Rodos suite for a week after seeing a review in The Times, but ended up staying a further 2 nights due to the volcanic ash cloud fiasco. The hotel is oozing with history (as is Rhodes town), and has been beautifully renovated to a high standard. We stayed in early season, so were the only guests and were made to feel like Royalty throughout! When the flights were all cancelled, Duncan, Alex and Kira couldn't do enough to help, loaning us their laptop for hours as we tried to find other routes home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_ChrisBracknell_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#1 of 126 in Rhodes Town
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,894 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
638 reviews
40.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Alexandridi, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $109 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spirit of the Knights, an exclusive Eco Friendly Boutique Hotel set in the medieval old town of Rhodes.Tucked away on the highest point of the medieval town on a quiet cobbled street only minutes walk from the Souleiman Mosque, Grand Masters Palace, shops, bars, restaurants and sea the hotel is an ideal place from which to explore the medieval town and island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Of The Knights Boutique Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing