We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special, special place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A special, special place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Stayed at the Spirit of the Knights for 5 nights in October 2009, and loved every minute of it. We chose to stay in the Pasha Suite which proved to be an excellent choice - clean, beautiful and comfortable with a modern bath room and private steam room.

The hotel itself is a genuine gem, tucked away down a maze of cobbled backstreets within the walls of the City of Rhodes. A converted Crusader villa, the hotel has been restored lovingly and is full of flourishes - from the airy and comfortable lounge/library to the wonderfully quiet and relaxing garden with its trickling water features, jacuzzi and view of the Medieval City Walls.

The staff are perfect - friendly and attentive but never obtrusive. It was a pleasure to get to know them over the course of the stay.

I thoroughly recommend the Spirit of the Knights Hotel to anyone looking to spend a little extra money in order to stay in quiet luxury within the City Walls of Rhodes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrewFishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
105
382
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed for a week in October 2009 and were blown away by this hotel.

Our bags were portered for the short but atmospheric walk through the d'Amboise Gate and the winding alleys of the Rhodes Old Town and we were immediately refreshed with compimentary welcome drinks in the hotel bar. This exemplified the service that we were to receive from the lovely family that own this perfect hotel, which has been sensitively and stylishly restored having originally dated back to medieval times.

The public areas of the hotel are extremely comfortable and tasteful. We spent many happy hours reading in the salon (SO many books to borrow!), lounging in the lush gardens and relaxing in the bar after a lovely evening in a local taverna.

Our room was incredible - The Ottoman Suite. Themed to that period in Rhodes' history, it was clean, comfortable and safe, we felt very much at home.

Rhodes Town itself is fascinating - the layers of history are so manifest you cannot help but explore the winding alleys, the bazaar-like shops and stalls, and the multitude of historical sites of interest. We found there was more than enough to entertain us for a week. The food was gorgeous everywhere, but we particularly liked Mama Sofia's - huge portions and great prices served by really lovely staff. The bar next door was also lovely for an afternoon boot of beer!

Food and drinks in the hotel were fabulous - the breakfasts were huge, fresh and luxurious with a great choice. The bar was well and widely stocked and staff were wonderfully attentive without ever compromising your privacy.

We loved this holiday and can't wait to go back. It has been by far the best value and enjoyable holiday we've had. We can't recommend it highly enough - hope you enjoy it as much as we did :)!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lornasandbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

The taxi dropped us at the entrance to the walled city of Rhodes, and we were met by Alex Marshall, whose mother has lovingly created a hotel in a building dating to the Crusaders. We crossed the bridge into the city and were totally transported into another time. My sister and I spent four nights in Rhodes at the Spirit of the Knights Hotel, and we never wanted to leave! The hotel in on a residential street only a minute's walk from shops and restaurants, so we felt like we lived there. In the mornings, we would wander down to the beautiful garden and be served an amazing Greek breakfast - yoghurt, honey, jams, bread - heaven! Then after a day of exploring the town and the nearby beaches we were always relieved to come back to our room - truly the sign of a great hotel!
The family that runs the hotel is lovely and cares so much that their guests are comfortable. They had great recommendations for restaurants and beaches, and I can only imagine that our trip would not have been quite as transformative if we had stayed elsewhere.
The only question is, how soon can I go back?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

A hotel like no other, an oasis of luxury in the heart of the old city. Magnificent rooms, in perfect harmony with the atmosphere of the old city.
Service of the highest standards, courteous and friendly, yet quite discreet.
A most memorable experience !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBellefeuille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This B&B is a hidden gem! I thought it was better in person than it looked on-line. It is a renovated castle in the Old Town and is located on a cute, winding stone street. The family who owns it and runs it are so kind and welcoming. They met us at the gate to help with our luggage because few cars are permitted into the old city. Although it is a small inn, it has every ammenity including a/c, a full bar, breakfast (included), a beautiful outdoor sitting area with flowers and fountains, a library with sitting room, etc etc. I thought this hotel was so lovely and charming. I definately recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caschef58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

There is so much to see and do in Rhodes, but this particular boutique hotel is what made the trip for us. This family-run establishment felt like home after a few hours, and Alex, Kiera, Ducan and even their mom felt like friends. The gardens are tranquil, the room - Crusader Suite - was really two rooms, a hammam spa and a luxurious bath. It felt like our house. Beautifully and painstakingly restored in collaboration with both UNESCO and Greek archeological societies, there is truly nothing like this hotel anywhere else on the island. It was among the best hotel experiences I have ever had, and we will be returning in the future, to be sure! Simple but amazing breakfast in the garden, free wireless, great service, impeccable and luxurious common spaces...it really did feel like home. And the value, even with the US Dollar, was incredible. Would give ten stars if I could.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargareteSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

A lovely family run hotel with very comfortable rooms situated down narrow alleys within the old town. Comfortable beds and great showers with fluffy towels. Very nice continental style breakfast served in a truly beautiful grecian style garden by friendly family members.
This hotel is really lovely however could be even better with a few minor adjustments. For example, bath mats (bathroom floors lethal when wet) and information regarding the renovation and history of the building. Moped noise a little disturbing early morning but not a great problem.
A little expensive in terms of value but worth a visit for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjsdjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
25.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#3 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Property: Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Alexandridi, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spirit of the Knights, an exclusive Eco Friendly Boutique Hotel set in the medieval old town of Rhodes.Tucked away on the highest point of the medieval town on a quiet cobbled street only minutes walk from the Souleiman Mosque, Grand Masters Palace, shops, bars, restaurants and sea the hotel is an ideal place from which to explore the medieval town and island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Of The Knights Boutique Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing